We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buzz and food!”
Review of Shamrock Irish Pub

Shamrock Irish Pub
Ranked #62 of 403 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Shamrock Irish Pub offers great food, great beer and a great atmosphere in the heart of Luzern Altstadt.
Kirribilli, Australia
Level Contributor
465 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Buzz and food!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is my favourite watering hole in Luzern - its very comforting to see regulars and people that know you behind the bar, feels like coming home. Am also happy to report and update that you no longer have to flee at mealtimes and instead can dine on salads & burgers & other pub food. Like the place itself, the food is definitely on the comfort side and goes magnificently with a pint of magners! It is quiet at lunchtimes which is a bonus for a busy office worker to pop in for a quick burger or enjoy the meal of the day. Evenings are when its happening here and its nice to go with colleagues and nosh into a plate of nachos.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    48
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Your Irish Pup in Lucerne”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

As far as I know, we have two Irish Pubs in Lucerne, this one and Pickwick Pub. Shamrock goes more into the indie direction. With always the same chatty bartenders, the sunday evening pub quiz run by a regular customer and the atmosphere as a whole.
For drinking there is all you need and for food, the burgers, the stew and the meat pies. All of em are very tasty and I was never unsatisfied.
You also get some deepfried snacks.
There is no dart or foosball.

Since the stuff and a lot of the customers (tourists, language students, etc.) aren't nativ german speakers, I start every conversation in english which adds to my and maybe your entertainment :P

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
224 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Real people, real food”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

After watching some carnival fun, we walked around some and found the Shamrock. After a week of traveling and looking for some simple, fresh, home style food, this place hit the mark. The burger is good and spiced up some, but the fish and chips is the real deal. I only wish we were here longer so I could try their stew and shepherd pie. Guinness from tap! Great service too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank All-reviews-for-free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“real!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great Pub. Small busy and Irish. Good place if you are feeling homesick and need to meet a fellow Irish. If you feel the need to sing karaoke or take part in a pub quiz, this too can be accommodated!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dubheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Pub in the middle of Old Town Lucerne”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great fish and chips and they also serve a great Cheeseburger. Nice to have some English cuisine to offset all of the great Swiss food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rhackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrock Irish Pub also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Shamrock Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing