We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of GourmIndia

GourmIndia
Ranked #9 of 395 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located close to the famous Gutsch castle and Utoring apartments, Restaurant GourmIndia Luzern provides an authentic Indian experience. Using a blend of traditional Indian spices, our chefs from India create true Village style Indian cuisine. Our hearty portions and friendly service mean everyone eats like a King. We specialize in classic regional dishes such as Goan prawn curry and Tandoori chicken served on a sizzling platter. These are accompanied by aromatic basmati rice or freshly prepared Naan bread baked in a traditional Indian tandoor (clay oven). Sip on a refreshing mango lassi to cool down while enjoying the blend of Indian spices The Kings menu is highly recommended for those who wish to try a variety of our favourite dishes and enjoy it to your heart's content. Book in advance for Kings menu and enjoy a complimentary hot masala Chai. We look forward in giving you a taste of Authentic Indian food.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at Radission Blue in June 2012 and ordered food from Gourmindia for two days. Food was excellent and they delivered it really fast. Though i never visited their restaurant but they are really nice people and u will realize that only by talking to them on the phone. Best Indian food i had in Switzerland.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tour1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    101
    12
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luzern, Luzern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was my second dining experience at Gourmindia and it was just as good as the first. The service is friendly and timely. Everything we ordered was delicious. I especially liked the mango cream dessert, though it was slightly overpriced in my opinion. I think the ambiance could use some improvement, but if you want a delicious plate of food for a decent price served by a friendly staff -- put this place on your list!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennfengels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirribilli, Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Friday night treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Somewhat ethnic food deprived in Luzern, we have had hopes raised and then dashed so many times, but finally we found an indian restaurant we are happy to call our local! Now veterans of 3 visits, we love the mixed tandoori platter (full of interesting bits, all differently spiced, best range I've seen anywhere) and the chicken makhani is also a favourite. True test for us are the quality of breads, and here they are great, as well as the rice. One tip though - despite the huge quantity of food provided by the Kings Feast, we do prefer to go our own way with the a la carte. Im surprised by some of the comments regarding the staff, as we only have been treated with courtesy, respect and good humour by all, especially Patricia and Singh, even when the place is going crazy with the groups being accomodated. Sick of tourist ripoffs and half hearted Italian in Luzern, we are happy to have something to lure us out to start the weekend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Ok Food , arrogant staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

looking for indian food options in luzern ,we happen to somehow locate & reach this hotel, the lady who took our order probably mistook a part of breads order & got us an additional one,
when we tried telling her that , she was like I very well remember sir that you ordered for this , No use arguing with a fool , so we left it there & hence the leftover also had that roti left behind.

The food was strictly ok , not worth the long drive we had to take to reach here , probably won't suggest any of my knowns to try this place , Kaanchi has been a winner for us in all terms.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank pbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourmindia, Manager at GourmIndia, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Batra Ji

Greetings from GourmIndia Luzern !!!
We wish you and your family a very "Happy Diwali"
Thank you a lot for bringing your complain to our notice. We have taken a measurable step to improve our service & standards, and would really appreciate you to visit us again when you come to Switzerland.
We look forward to see you soon.

Thanks & regards

Gurjinder Singh
Restaurant GourmIndia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better to avoid, not sure how it's ranked 3”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nothing great about this restaurant. Being Indians, we had high expectations about this restaurant when we saw the ranking for this restaurant - 3 of 172 in Luzern. But honestly, it's one of the worst I have experienced in Europe. We went there without a reservation and the lady didn't know whether to give us a table or not. She checked with someone else before telling us that we could dine there - as if they were doing us a favour !! After finishing the meal, we requested that the excess food be packed. One of the guys in the hotel said that it wasn't a problem. Then another guy came around and told us that they normally don't pack but he'll do it for us - again, as if they were doing us a favour. When we opened the packed food next morning, we realised that only half of what was left over had been packed. A total rip off. No spoons or forks to eat the packed food either. And the prices were too high. Overall, a not so great experience. I'd never return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ciphernzilch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gourmindia, Manager at GourmIndia, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Sir

Greetings from GourmIndia Luzern !!! We really appreciate and thank you for your feedback.
We would definitely take a step to avoid this kind of situation in the future.

We would also like to share few points from restaurant perspective,

1. We always would like our guests to feel comfortable while being here, and try to give them the best place especially when we have group reservation in the restaurant.
2. We really like to see our guest enjoying their entire meal at our restaurant, However we are also happy to provide take away boxes at free of cost which is generally not a trend in Switzerland, same goes with knife and fork for takeaway, provided to our guests on request only.
3. We have taken much care while designing our Menu and its pricing which might be very expensive compared to what we get in India, but it is very reasonable & competitive in Switzerland.

We again apologize for the inconvenience caused to you, However, we are disappointed on ourselves that we did not fulfill your requirements as per your expectations. and We would be really thankful to you for providing us one more opportunity during your next visit to Switzerland.

Thanks & regards
Gurjinder Singh

GourmIndia Luzern
Baselstrasse 31
6003 Luzern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GourmIndia also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to GourmIndia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing