We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Italien with a View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Ernesto

Da Ernesto
Ranked #246 of 391 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $10 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Italianita. La Vita è bella!Wir leben die Herzlichkeit, die Warme und die offene Art des Italieners. We overlook Lucerne`s river Reuss, chapel bridge and Mt. Pilatus!
Level Contributor
297 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Italien with a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had family here from the states, so a little sightseeing tour of Lucerne is a must. Worked up an appetite so of to my favorite Ristorante. We had no reservation (recommended) but were seated with condition that we would be finished in 2 hrs. Ordering is difficult since the menu is quite varied and all is good. I ordered the Veal Scallopini Limone, a great dish. The kids (teens) had Pizza, which is a good size. To top it of I could not resist the homemade Tiramisu for dessert. The service is also quite efficient for the size of establishment and usual large mount of guests. The waiter even went next door to the Brauhaus to get me a large beer, since they only sell small bottles. Not a given but highly appreciated. Try it, I'm positive you'll like it and your name does not have to be Micky.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    88
    62
    32
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Average food, not worth the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Italian option on the waterfront on the river. I'll start with the service. This restaurant was desperately understaffed in terms of waitstaff. There were about 3 waitstaff on duty for the entire place, that I could see, and one waitress looking after the entire outdoor section which was massive. I have to give the girl waiting our table a special mention. For a young woman who was clearly run off her feet she maintained her composure very well and still remained patient and unfrazzled despite her workload. Very well done. The food did take a long time to come out and what came out was very plain. But having been in Rome on this trip it's hard to find Italian cuisine to compare to its native country. It wasn't bad food, it was just average. We ordered gelato for dessert and it only came out a bit melted (as ice cream tends to do when ordered at restaurants) that was nice. Then we had to wait forever for the bill, this time we did feel ignored by the waitress since we had already asked her for the bill, she knew we were paying with card and she'd gone to get the card machine and settled the bill (of another party) on another table, she then looked over at us when she'd finished with them, we signalled to her, she wandered around and sort of stopped at the table opposite us. Then I saw her walk off with the card machine, put it away and go and do something else. It was very frustrating having to wait when all you want to do Is pay for your average but way too overpriced meal. It cost nearly 100CHF for a pizza and a pasta dish (very simple ones!) 4 drinks and we were charged for the water we had, and our dessert. It was ridiculous. Dine here by all means but be prepared to wait if it's busy and be prepared to pay an inflated price for very mediocre food. 

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ness-of-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
271 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“rude attitude. tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

First of all, we both live in Luzern. It was a lovely day and decided to have lunch by the river. We've never eaten here before and there were plenty of seats along the riverside. Now we know why. It was mainly attracting tourists. Locals know better places but we thought to try a new place.

Pasta was edible but boring. Prices are high esp for lunch where you can get some good combined 2 or 3 courses for that price.

Service was the opposite of guest-friendly. They cram as many people in as possible and try to turn over tables fast too. Waiter rudely asked us to move our purses off an open chair next to us as every chair should have a person sitting in it. (There were about 30 chairs free for new guests around us at that time).


Don't let the riverside setting coerce you to dine at a sub-par place. Go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
755 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,402 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and GREAT view.....can't understand the negative reviews...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had lunch here and I honestly can't understand the negative reviews. Maybe we just got extremely lucky.

Typically we try to avoid the restaurants in the super touristy front line spots of major attractions. But our young daughter is a picky eater and anyone with young kids knows sometimes when kids want to eat....you eat then and there.. LOL.

The view is really amazing as you are right directly across from the Covered Bridge and Water Tower. And you can see some beautiful swans swimming near the shore.

I didn't read any reviews before coming here but glad I didn't and came here because our Pizza was fabulous! I got the Capricciosa and it was really great. Tomato sauce perfect, cheese wonderful and crust cooked to perfection. It sounds like things have either drastically changed since the negative reviews hit or they changed the guy that cooks these things.

Also, our waitress was very friendly. The menu was also in English which is appreciated (as some of these places don't have their menu translated).

Get a table right by the water. The pizzas are expensive as someone else mentioned. About 24 CHF each. They do have a kids size pizza (even though I didn't see it advertised). They are 10 CHF and it's cute as they design the pizza for kids with eatable bunny ears. Our daughter enjoyed that.

The brushetta we ordered was also very good. I can't speak for anything other than pizza and my wife got a side salad of Caprese which she said was very good.

Definitely I'd recommend this place for those that are hungry for some good pizza with an amazing view. We were surprised and not expecting much but the pizza surprised us.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Ohio
Level Contributor
350 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Pizza by the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We dined here and enjoyed the pizza outdoors along the river. Prompt service with quick delivery of our pizzas. We had 3 each type different: prosciutto £19.90, margherita £17.50, and Siciliana £24.90. These are thin crush and easily shareable which we did.
The only knock is the price of each pizza

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank closch7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Ernesto also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Da Ernesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing