We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1970's Building in the heart of historic Luzern next door to the start of the northbound motorway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucerne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Utoring An der Reuss
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“1970's Building in the heart of historic Luzern next door to the start of the northbound motorway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

We had this apartment booked for us by our local rep from Swiss Travel as we were last minute travellers and out of time to research Luzern. This apartment is well located to the centre of the city and 15 min walk to the main train station , and also on 3 or 4 bus routes from the station. It is therefore in a good location to also walk around the historic centre of Luzern and also catch daily explorer trips out to Mt Titlis, Mt Pilatis and Mt Rigi areas. Having an apartment with cooking facilities was ideal for us as it reduced meal costs dramatically and allowed us some home-cooking after weeks of eating out every night ( and a fridge to store a cold beer or two).
However, there are a few negatives that we found with the apartment. They are :
1. Was expecting Swiss styled architecture / a centuries old building. Didnt expect a 1970's style 6 storey concrete block. The apartment is showing some age in its fixtures, so "modern" is not a term I would use.
2. Too close to transport - the start of the Northbound motorway was only 50metres away - this meant constant vehicle noise (cars and busses mainly). The only option for reducing this noise was to close the balcony doors.
3. Lack of ventilation - no a/c and only a very small (and virtually dust clogged) vent above the entrace door. With the balcony doors open this was OK. Here we enter Catch22 territory as with the doors open you get traffic noise. You cannot leave the balcony doors open whilst sleeping due to security issues and noise, so by morning the apartment is a big stuffy sweatbox
4. Even though there is a kitchen, it doesnt have a microwave, we had to ask for toaster and kettle to be sent to the room, and a tv would cost 6francs a day if we wanted one in the room. Even though dishwashing liquid is provided, a sponge/wipe is not - but you are expected to keep the kitchen clean - go figure that one out Sherlock!!
5. 90% of the view was a 6 storey car park

I would recommend this to a friend on the proviso that I have informed them on the negative bits - its such a good location and being able to cook your own meals is also a big advantage. As long as you can cope with the traffic noise and/or stuffiness.

We only met the man running the show once - when we enquired about a toaster,kettle and dishcloth. We arrived late and got the key from the key-safe and left early before office hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bruce_Sheila_Jimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2010

We stayed in Utoring An der reuss for a week in the beginning of June 2010. On the whole we really enjoyed our stay here. The apartment hotel is a nice building (modern), very clean interiors and is very spacious. It comes with a well equipped kitchenette which has all basic utensils (including spoons, forks and knives). The rooms are fairly large and ventilation is good. The location is very good (5 mins walking or 2 minutes by bus to the station). The bus service to and from this place is excellent, with a bus coming in every couple of minutes. The photos on the web do not give the correct picture, and this apartment is otherwise pretty similar to a good 3 star hotel. There are no fans, or TVs (can be rented at a minimal cost). However, even in summers it gets pretty cool at night so you can open the windows a wee bit. It is not very noisy, but you can hear an occasional car whizz past. There is a large Migros and Coop (grocery stores) very close to the Hotel, but they shut down by 5 pm. You can pick up stuff from the basement of the train station where Coop is open much longer.
Only negatives: The beds are two single beds, so a small gap between the two. Also, on Sundays, there is no one in the apartment to address your concerns.
However, the Sunday we were there, Mr. Ruede (the manager of the place) came in especially to help us out for our small problem. He is extremely helpful and nice.
I would definitely stay there if we were to go again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Shaheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Very close to the bus stop and the Rail station (Main) - 3 stops approximately, which if you wish can be walked also. Place has all the facilities possible and you feel as if you are at your place only. The only thing is you need to book it for a week. We were recommended the place by our friends, who visited last year
Lot Indians use this place
Super Markets are close by and a parking place is just across the road

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank SBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

We had booked two apartments with 4 beds each for a one week stay. It cost us about 750 CHF for each apartment for the one week stay. Both apartments were well furnished with basic amenities (though kitchen utensils were lacking in one of them), and we got a microwave for one of the apartments. It is a clean place, and good for families with kids as you can do basic cooking in case of special dietary needs. No TV though which was fine with us. Location if very good, just 2 mins walk from Kasrenenplatz which has a bus-stop, and next to the Spreuerbrucke, the medieval bridge on the Reuss river.

As mentioned by another reviewer, noise could be an issue in warmer months when you have to leave a window open.

Only problem we had was due to a long weekend there was no one at the reception for 3 of our 7 days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vansid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

This apart hotel is particularly useful for all those people who wants to make Luzern as base station, while visiting different cities of Switzerland. This apart hotel is around 1 km away from Railway station (that is also the bus stand and Boat stand). It has all the ameneties like fully equipped kitchen, bedroom, Dining area, bathroom etc. The local bus with frequency of every 5-7 min will take you to railway station or you can walk along the river.
Down points: noisy place sometimes
Manager asks for your credit card copy, even though you have made full payment for your stay in advance. That is little embrassing.

  • Liked — Location and inhouse facilities
  • Disliked — asking for Credit Card copy, when you have already paid fully in advance
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank drdeepakgoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, KY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

We have stayed here about once a year for the past ten years. We like the location. It's an easy walk to the Old Town. From the Bahnhof you can get within 1/2 block on a bus. The front desk is manned most of the time and when you arrive after hours they make arrangements for that. We stay in the 1 BR units and they are just perfect for two people. All in all, we have always loved this place until the last three years. There is a major road that runs along one side of it with lots of car traffic at all hours. I don't know what has changed over the years to account for the extra traffic, but it is a real nuisance. On the other side, you have the bus route. We've stayed on both the front and back and both sides are noisy. With the doors closed, it's not too bad, but we go in September and it's still too warm to close the doors. Also in the winter they have the heat on (which you can't control) and it gets so stuffy that you need to open the doors for a bit. Beside the fact that you just can't get a good night's sleep, it's even hard to carry on a conversation in the room. We will not be staying here any more. If anyone can recommend an alterative apartment in Luzern, we would be most grateful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TullyToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.3 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utoring An der Reuss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utoring An der Reuss

Property: Utoring An der Reuss
Address: Guetschstrasse 2, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The holiday residence an der Reuss is situated next to the motorway exit "Luzern-Zentrum", just 3 minutes walk from the picturesque old town and is easy to reach by car or public transport. Bakery and Grocery store are just a few steps away.There is a reception and two lifts in the residence. Underground parking is available at extra cost.The apartments are all comfortably furnished and spacious. Well-equipped kitchen with a large refrigerator, Bath/Shower/WC, hair dryer, radio, wireless internet access and balcony.Some apartments, called “Luzerner Suites”, offer separate ISDN connections so you can reach anywhere in the world from one of the most beautiful towns in central Switzerland.Highlights:Room service with breakfast served in apartmentOwn underground parkingWireless Internet access/ISDN in “Luzerner Suites”Only a few minutes walk to city centre, restaurants and “Gütschbahn”Just 100 m to bus station ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Utoring An Der Reuss Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing