We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small cosy room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis budget Luzern City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice small cosy room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night here. Location was bit far if you have big luggages to drag, around 10-15 mins walk from station.

Room and bathroom were clean. We were fine with the bathroom design as I had stayed before previously in Zurich Ibis budget. V Comfy bed. A good value for money accom. Wifi was good and staff was helpful. Would not hesitate to stay in another Ibis budget again. :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weizhen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you very much for your comments. We are always happy to receive honest feedback of our guests, as we strive to keep up and improve our services and quality standards. We thank you for staying with us, and hope you will travel back to Lucerne once again. best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    647
    485
    113
    58
See reviews for
432
669
62
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest Park, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I didn't want to pay a ton for a hotel room and since we stayed at an Ibis in Zurich for the first time and was quite impressed, I figured we'd find one here to be comparable. I didn't realize this was a Budget one. It's a step down but given the prices here for hotels are higher, it's a good value. The room was clean and big enough for my adult daughter and I. The shower and toilet are a little funky but if you really want the privacy, the other party can just go downstairs. Parking is pretty cheap and you are within walking distance to the city. Perhaps the only thing I would ask for is a bathmat and a hair dryer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2TravelnEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for taking the time to write us your experiences about your stay with us. Yes, we are a ibis budget, which is the low-budget brand within the ibis-family. As you also have seen, the design of rooms and bathrooms is little bit more compact but modern and really new. Ibis budget hotels offer affordableand but nonetheless clean and safe rooms to spend a night wile touring and sightseeing th city and its surrounding. We always give away hairdryer to our guests for free use, and also provide more bath tovels if needed. We thank you very much for beeing our guests, and hope we will have the chance to welcome you once again at our place. Best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Budget price. The staff are really helpful in direction. Room is ok, clean and comfortable. Shower is a bit small and no bath mat. If you just need place to sleep, this is the place. Location 5-10 minutes from Luzern station.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sweettweety2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear guest, we would like to thank you very much for your honest and nice feedback regarding your stay at our place. We are glad to see you were happy with our services and hope we may welcome you once again in the future. Many thanks and all the best for you, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

There are positive and negative aspects about staying in this hotel..

Positives

1) The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable!!

2) Great location!! It is close to the train station and approx. 10 minute walk to the bridge..

3) Check in was quick.. No problem with that!!

4) The price is great given the fact that Luzern is an expensive city!!

Everything is great with the price except for the real lack of proper bathroom..

1) There are no door knobs on the WC door!!

2) The washing basin is outside the bathroom!! Hates the idea of having wet floors in the room!! Wouldn't mind that if the rooms are big but not when the rooms is so tiny!!

3) The showering room glass door is semi-transparent, I wouldn't mind that!! However, there are no curtains to cover it!!

Overall, I would not come back to this hotel!! The bathroom is not within acceptable limits!! I would rate this hotel 4 or even 5 stars if the bathroom is at least proper!!

Room Tip: Only come here if you do not have money to get better hotels!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you very much for your feedback. We are really sorry that we obviously could not meet your expectations with our bathroom system. All the ibis budget hotels are having the similar, modern but compact design. The rooms are specially designed for travelers who don’t want to spend much money on luxury hotels, which would certainly offer more spacious rooms, but rather are looking for a clean and safe place to spend a night. Probably the ibis hotels, with a separated bathroom - concept would suit your needs better. However, we are even more glad that we could satisfy your expactations in all the other points you mentioned we wish you all the best for your further travels, thanks again- best regards,Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Beersheba, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

With a baby stroller we were less than 10 minutes from the train station and downtown. It was so easy to get from place to place and the hotel staff helped to answer any and all questions we had.
Parking was only 8 CHF for a 24 hour period - we felt lucky to have booked a hotel with parking as an option!
The room was really comfortable and clean - yes a bit small - but nothing was lacking and the room was in very good taste.
Our toddler was so excited to sleep on a bunk bed on top of Mommy and Daddy and we all just had a really great stay!

Room Tip: We knew we'd be near the train station, and we could hear the trains passing by - but it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MollieBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to write us your feedback. It makes us really happy that we could meet your expectations, and that you had a pleasant stay at our place. We are looking forward to welcome you once again and wish you all the best ! Best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Luzern being as expesive as it is, we found this hotel to be well priced and located within walking distance of the main town srea and train station.

The rooms were small, but that was to be expected as it is a budget Ibis. The rooms were neat and tidy. After reading a few reviews we opted for the 3 person room (same price as 2 person room) as it had the extra bunk across the top you could use to put things, and the rooms were also 1 square mtre bigger!

Would stay here again if we went back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Belinda, thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our place. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you once again ! Thank you and best regards, Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#34 of 69 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#28 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Property: ibis budget Luzern City
Address: Kellerstrasse 4/6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing