We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Luzern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KCOfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We found Switzerland to be expensive generally but this hotel in Lucerne was great value for money. Although our first impression when opening the door was that it was the Swiss version of Japanese compact Hotels, the only real fault we had was that they didn't provide a bath mat. As in most hotels there is water that leaks from the shower recess when in use. The bath mat plays an important and useful role. Stepping down from the shower recess onto a wet and slippery floor is dangerous. The cost of a bath mat even in a price conscious hotel (and perhaps thicker than 'bed sheet thin' towels provided) should not be a concern. The staff were all friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean, modern and tidy. We had a Swiss pass so the Hotel was only a very short four stops on the bus from the railway station in the rain that endured during most of our stay in Lucerne; but regardless only a steady 10 minute pleasant walk so the hotel location was (in our opinion) very good. WiFi good. We marked this hotel down simply because of the bath mat (& thin towels).

Room Tip: All rooms are most likely the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleandFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your honest comment about your stay with us. Its always really helpful to receive feedback of our guests, as we strive to keep up and improve our services and quality standards. We certainly understand your point regarding the bath mats, and we will look into the matter. We thank you for staying with us, and hope you will travel back to lucerne once again. best regards, Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Booked this hotel at the last minute and found okay. Located at a 10-15 min walk form station, the hotel has minimum facilities in the room (probably because it is a budget hotel). The rooms are clean. The shower's and toilet's door were more like temporary ones without the locks. The water gets on the floor in the room from the shower area as the door is just like a partition and there is no bath mat. It appears like no one can use the shower or toilet if there is some guest in your room or your friends are chilling together in your room for some time. No other facilities included in the room except towel and soap. The charging points are operated though the main lights of the room. So if you think you can sleep peacefully putting your camera or mobile or computer on charging during the night, you are wrong. These points switch off the moment you switch off the lights to sleep. So u either keep your devices charged anyhow or sleep with lights on. With the facilities they offer, the rooms seem to be over-priced.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jveenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guests, thank you very much for your feedback. We are really sorry that we obviously could not meet your expectations. All the ibis budget hotels are having the similar, modern but compact design. The rooms are specially designed for travelers who don’t want to spend much money on luxury hotels, which would certainly offer more spacious rooms, but rather are looking for a clean and safe place to spend a night. However, we wish you all the best for your further travels, thanks again- best regards, Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean minimal decoration,however located quite near city center.Relative to other hotels it is priced ok.but you get what you pay for.a little outside center but pretty close for few minutes walk.
If you are not looking for luxury it is a nice hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidp_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Ibis Budget Luzern. As you already mentioning it in the title, we are a low budget hotel, and offer modern but compact rooms, which provide a basic standard equipment. The Ibis budget standard rooms are specially designed for travelers who don’t want to spend much money on spacious rooms with lots of luxury items, but rather to spend a night in a safe and clean room. We still hope you enjoyed your stay and you will once come back to lucerne ! Best regards, Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel was just ok. The staff were friendly enough, and It was not far from the train station which is why I chose it. Our room had mold below the shower door, probably because there is a hole in the shower door where a doorknob would generally go. Same thing for the door for the toilet, which basically made the door pointless. That was my biggest issue with this hotel- there is no privacy if there is more than one person in the hotel room. I definitely would not want to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kaalbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Ibis Budget Luzern. As you already mentioning it in the title, we are a low budget hotel, and offer modern but compact rooms, which provide a basic standard equipment. The Ibis budget standard rooms are specially designed for travelers who don’t want to spend much money on spacious rooms with lots of luxury items, but rather to spend a night in a safe and clean room. We still hope you enjoyed your stay and you will once come back to lucerne ! Best regards, Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Harinder L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

ibis hotel is located close to the train station. It's around 10-15mins walk from the train station, basically at the back side of train station.
City centre and main attractions are at the front of train station. We walked from the hotel and everything was easily accessible.
The hotel room was ok, very small in size (probably because it is a budget hotel), hardly had enough room to open both our suitcases at the same time. Water used to leak from the shower and there was no bath mat either. When we asked for one, we were told that it's a budget hotel and hence no bath mat. We left late and asked for our room to be cleaned, we were told it only happens once in the morning and so our room wasn't cleaned. We did however get new set of towels.
All in all it's an average hotel which is centrally located.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write us your feelings about your stay with us. Indeed we are low budget hotel and we try to keep our services on a low base even in high season. Its also true that each room is equipped with two mid sized bath towels. Within the ibis budget standard, and therefore in all the ibis budget hotels, we dont have bath mats available to put on the floor, and also are limited in terms of special wishes regarding cleaning the rooms. We still hope you could ejoy the time in lucerne and hope we can welcome you once again here with us, Many thanks, Manager & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
598 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#31 of 66 in Lucerne
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#35 of 66 in Lucerne
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 66 in Lucerne
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pension Rosli
Hotel Pension Rosli
#57 of 66 in Lucerne
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $86 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing