We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis budget Luzern City
Nearby Hotels
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$312
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$364
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$519
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$266
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$276
$223
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,622)
Filter reviews
1,622 results
Traveler rating
192
707
518
131
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
707
518
131
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationclean budget hotelrooms are smallplace to sleepseparate toiletbudget stayfree wifiluzern cityshort stayhot waterpriced hotelmin walkyogurtcomfortable stayold townchapel bridgesupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 1,622 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Basic, good value hotel in costly Lucerne. Short-ish walk to central and the train station. Good wifi connection. Breakfast was reasonable. I would stay again. Friendly, young staff, quiet place. Didn't have ice though, really my only complaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kg1701d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write us your comments regarding your stay, we always are happy to receive honest feedback of our guests. As we dont have any restaurant or bar at our place, we dont have any ice available, but I understand that it would be useful sometimes, and we will take this idea into account. We wish you all the best for your future travels and hope to welcome you once again here in lucerne. Best regards, Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

In looking for hotels, we found hotels in Lucerne very expensive and settled on the Ibis Budget hotel. IBIS hotels are usually located near the train station. In this case it was a 15 minute walk (the walk to the bus station would be 10 minutes). With luggage it is doable but not easy. Without luggage, it is easy and good exercise.
Rooms are simple but clean and fresh. Our room had beds that could accommodate three people. The extra cost for a buffet breakfast was worth the cost and a way to quickly set out to see the sights
The main area of Lucerne is by the train station, both the ferry port and major tourist sites.
Good value

Room Tip: We were unable to book on the Ibis web site but managed to get a room on Booking.com
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear John, we would like to thank you very much for the comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your journey and hope we will have the chance to welcome you once again ! Best regards, Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend. We arrived late at night and checked in easily - I was expecting some sort of automated reception due to the time but a receptionist was there to check us in. They were friendly and checked us in quickly. The room is basic but clean and comfortable which for the price is all I would expect. There are no frills but it was great for one night. There is a TV and wifi available (free). We had a double bed with a bunk on top which was handy for just storing our big bags. The is limited space for hanging clothes but that didn't matter to us. The shower was small but fine. The toilet which was separate to the shower was tiny but again it didn't matter to us.

Location is good - just a few minutes walk from Lucerne train station. Receptionist was helpful in the morning when we enquirer about some tourist trips. He spoke great English too.

This Hotel is good value - the price is great compared to other hotels (unless you want a hotel with shared bathroom). Staff helpful and perfect for a quick stop. I'd happily use again if I was passing through Lucerne.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sarah, many thanks for your honest feedback about your stay with us. We are really happy that you had such a great time here in lucerne, and that we could meet your expectations!
We would be glad to welcome you once again here at lucerne and wish you all the best for your future travels. Thank you ver ymuch and best regards, Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and me stayed here 1 night while visiting Lucerne. During our stay they were doing construction right in front of the hotel with heavy equipment so I would inquire about this if you are planning to visit during September 2013. Consequently, we requested a room away from the street.

The rooms are very basic but ours was clean and the bed comfortable. The rooms are also fairly small but that isn't uncommon for European properties.

Our room faced a courtyard and at night there seemed to be some sort of bar or restaurant in one corner so there was a fair amount of noise. They also don't have air conditioning so you have to open the window to get any fresh air. Fortunately, they do provide a fan which helped to drown out any noise.

The staff was very nice and friendly.One of them recommended the Montana Hotel and restaurant for our last night dinner and it was fantastic while overlooking Lake Lucerne.
We also had to depart early and would miss breakfast so another staff member provided a couple of apples for us upon my request. This, to me, is what elevated this property from a 2-star to 3-star rating, in my view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Hello Ron, we would lik eto thank you for taking the time to write us your feedback about your stay with us. We are always really happy, to hear that our guests chose the right hotel for their purposes. Yes there was some construction work going on, in our street, but unfortunately we have not been informed about that before. The construction, though was finished the day after. Still we hope you had a great time here in our city, and we wish you all the best for your future travels. Best regards - Manager & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews