We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget and neat hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a small functional budget hotel. I was amazed that the AC was very good and quiet.. The shower is very small but the combination of the lights and color made it look bigger.The water pressure and temperature were good as well. The decor really made the small room feel more spacious. There are under wall lights which illuminated the small room. It was a nice touch that I am not expecting for an economy hotel.

I wish there is a phone to communicate with the others if you are traveling with a group. Also, you need to put a deposit for a hair dryer which is a bit of an inconvenience.

Front desk is pretty efficient and friendly. There is a bus that stop right next to the hotel that takes you to train station and there is a grocery store as well. The breakfast is decent for its price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie-Oreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear traveler, many thanks for taking the time to write your comments and experiences you had, while staying at our place. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and you chose the right hotel for your purposes. All the ibis budget hotels avoid having a phone in the rooms, as most travelers nowadays keep their own cell-phone with them, while traveling, but yes, we understand your opinion regarding this issue. It would ceratinly be helpful to communicate with other rooms, especially if you travel with some friends or family. Nonetheless, we hope you will visit us again at our place and wish you all the best! Thank you, B.Caluori & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Downundertravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we arrived as part of a tour of switzerland with most hotels from Ibis budget all prepaid but we arrived a little later here due to poor weather and it seemed that this wasn't prepaid and the room had been let with nothing left. The guy on reception seemed intent on having an arguement and even threatened to call the police, some re-education on customer relations required. There was no available diabled parking anyway and this will be the last trip I ever book through Accor chain

Room Tip: avoid the Accor group
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Mr. Specer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry that you didn’t feel comfortable with our service.
With ibis budget, all reservations are guaranteed until 6pm. For a late arrival we ask our clients to guarantee their booking with a credit card. The according information is available on your booking confirmation. Anyway, in case of late arrival caused by unforeseen conditions like weather, clients are always welcome to call the hotel to find a solution to guarantee the room for a late arrival. We are sorry that we intended to call the police but as you started to use offensive and abusive language when you learned that no room is left for you we had no other options. The management clearly distances itself from having the reception staff threatened based on a canceled reservation. Most of all as guaranteeing the room is left to the choice of the customer in relation to avoid unforeseen no-show cost.
We hope this information helps you and would be happy to welcome you again soon in one of our Accor hotels. Best Regards, B.Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jef_Reynders
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is probably the most expensive Ibis budget hotel in the world but it is a cheap one in Switzerland.

The location is not that good. This hotel located in the backside of the central train station so you have to walk 10~15 min. from the main gate of the train station to reach the hotel. And as the city's main attractions are also located at the front side of the central station, you have to walk 20~30 min. to see the city. Other than that, this hotel is OK. Kind staffs, clean room & quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: Right next to the hotel, there's a small supermarket but seems like it closes very early so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natoyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear guest, thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. Even though you were not so happy with the distance to the mainstation and old town, we are glad to hear, that you nonetheless liked our hotel and the services we offer to all our guests. If you will come back to lucerne one day, our newly opened Hotel Ibis Styles is located directly in the heart of the old town, this might be a good choice for you where you will be in the middle of it all. However we like to thank you very much and wish you all th Best ! Best regards, B.Caluori & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Of my 26 nights abroad, this hotel was my least favorite. It was expensive. It was a long walk from the train station. The rooms were very clean and new, but tiny! The shower was next to the bed. The bath towels were the size of my kitchen towels at home. There was no phone to communicate with our children who were put in a room five floors away from us! The free internet did not work and the staff did not seemed to care about any of our concerns.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlamingoAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay. During your journey through our country, you maybe have realized that prices are in general higher than in some other countrys in europe. In the city of lucerne, we are among the hotels with the lowest prices, even in high season. Our rooms are all modern but compact, and we dont offer luxury items which after are reflected in higher room rates. I am sorry that it was unfortunately not possible to have your family in two rooms side by side. We usually try to make this possible, but sometimes its just not possible for us, due to high occupancy. Probably, for your expactations our Hotel Ibis in Kriens, or even Hotel Ibis Styles in Lucerne, would be more suitable. However, we wish you all the best for your future travels, best regards, B.Caluori & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

the room is clean and well air-conditioned.
a bit far from luzern main station and sightseeing spots. Around 15 mins walking distance to main station. But you can get there by bus no.4 and the bus station is just near the hotel.
Can't keep the luggage after check-out.
Bathroom and toilet is separated.
Value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hello dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our place. We hope you enjoyed the visit in lucerene, and you will come back one day . As we have no capacity to store the guests luggage in a safe and locked room, we therefore inform the guests about the provided services at the trainstation. There are plenty of suitcase lockers, in different sizes available, and also a convenient service to drop off your luggage and let it deliver directly to the airport. We wish you all the best and thank you ! B.Caluori & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
592 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#31 of 67 in Lucerne
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#33 of 67 in Lucerne
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
489 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#45 of 67 in Lucerne
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $87 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing