We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value hotel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Location is great. Room is small. So small they had to omit the bathroom doorknob. There is only one power socket in our room. We had to unplug the tv in order to get a second socket. Their outside parking costs less than its indoor space. Your space is not guaranteed even thought you've paid for your outside space.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay. The modern and surely compact design of all the ibis budget hotel rooms, belongs to our strategy, and allows us to stay on a low lewel with the room rates. Probably you did not see the second power socket which is installed in the entrance area of each room. However we still hope you will come back to us again ! Best regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    674
    492
    121
    64
See reviews for
450
687
65
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my fiancee. Given the high accommodation prices in Lucerne, Hotel Ibis was a steal. Located very close to both the train station & city. Room was clean & tidy with double-deckered beds. Water from tap was good enough for drinking.

The only blot we had was on the second night, where we heard two repetitions of loud, hard knocking on our hotel door at about 4 am. Woke us up from our sleep. Decided not to open the door as there's no safety lock nor peephole to see who's on the other side. Not sure whether it was drunkards or just mischievous folks.

Aside from this minor incident, we had a safe & pleasant stay in Ibis.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Incredible_Hock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments about your stay in lucerne at our place. We are sorry for this trouble you faced durig your second night. I assume this were other guests, coming back from a party, who accidently chose the wrong room. Sorry for that! We still hope you will come back to lucerne one day, and we have the chance to welcome you again as our guests ! Best regads, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed with my family (wife and daughter) for 4 nights. We were aware the room, including bathroom, would be relatively small. We did manage to store our 3 pieces of luggage fairly comfortably though. However for the price it is an excellent deal. Plus when in Switzerland who plans to spend their time indoors anyway? That too in late April.

The front desk staff are always busy since at any given time there are half a dozen people trying to check in or check out. However they do try their best to help all the guests.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel. However there is a Denner supermarket right opposite that provides for all the food, and other items, one would need. Plus the hotel allows one to use their facilities; microwave for example.

The hotel is also very conveniently located right opposite the Brunigstrasse tram station; route 3 takes around 4-5 minutes to the Luzern railway station.

It has already been pointed out that the bathroom has frosted glass door and both the WC and bathroom have holes (instead of knobs) in their doors for opening/ closing. Also the doors cannot be bolted. If privacy is an issue then the problem can be easily sorted out if the occupants not using the bathroom are open to spending those 10-15 minutes in the reception/ lounge area. One does need to turn on the shower a bit carefully though - otherwise there is a good chance the water will overflow into the bedroom floor and there are no floor mats to absorb it. However the staff leave the room spotlessly clean by the time one is back in the evening.

One also needs to bring along their own toiletries (except soap), adaptor and laptop/ tablet. As has been repeatedly mentioned by others, it is a *budget* hotel that provides an excellent value for money for its guests visiting central Switzerland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gajanan_W_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello Dear Guests, it is a really pleasure for us to read that you and your family had a great stay in lucerne and with us. Therefore we really thank you for your honest and detailed feedback. We are glad that you chose the right place to stay for your needs and hope you will visit us again once in the future! Best regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location, near the center and train Station. Great Parking, but not free. You can visit the whole city on foot. The only weird thing is that we book the triple room, and the bathroom.. there isn't any! Has a little prive room with a toilet, but the shower its in the middle of the room, just with a frosted glass door. We had to leave the room for my mom to take a shower. Not a shred of privacy while showering. Okay for a romantic double room, but a bit weird for a triple room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JuliaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Julia, thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay in lucerne. We like to hear that you enjoyed exploring our city. All the ibis budget hotels have a modern and compact design, and offer clean and secured rooms for up to three people for a reasonable price even in high season. On our website and on other booking sites we provide pictures, where the guests can see what the rooms are alike. I understand, that in your case, probably it would have been better to book instead a double and a additional single room. Nonetheless we really hope to welcome you once again in the future, and thank you for beeing our guest! best regards, B. Caluori & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a great find - fairly basic but clean and tidy, which is all you really want! No kettle in the room but that wasn't the end of the earth.

Centrally located and at a great price - which in a country that is soooo expensive, is a real boon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SoulFerretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you so much for your comments regarding your visit in lucerne. We like to hear that you enjoyed staying here, even if we offer no cooking & coffee making facilities in theroom itselfs, but therefore we offer hot water & Microwave for free use in the lobby area. Thanks a lot and all the best ! Best regards. B.Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Even taking into account the inflated prices of the city, this was poor value. While you can accept a room being sparse and basic in a budget hotel, there were too many details overlooked which should be standard. The shower door did not reach the floor, leading to constant flooding of the room. The "bed" was a slab of chipboard with a thin mattress on top. Even doorknobs were left off. In all it would be better to spend a little more to get a room that meets at least minimal standards.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ScottW346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our house. We are really sorry to read that we obviously could not meet your expectations in terms of comfort. The modern and compact design of all the Ibis budget hotel rooms, are for sure not made for everybody. Therefore I highly recommend you to try our sister- hotels "Ibis Kriens" or "Ibis Styles - Luzern" nearby, which offer bigger rooms and a higher standard. However, we still hope yu could enjoy the city of lucerne and will visit our region once again! Thank you very much and all the best, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is close to Lucerne main train station, about 10 mins walk. When I first reached Lucerne by train I could see the "ibis budget" sign.
The room was beyond expectation. Having seen the reviews and pictures of the hotel room I thought our three bed-room would be small and have one single bed on top of the double bed so that one person would need to climb to the single bed. However our room was very spacious, the double bed and single bed were not on top or bottom of each other. The bathroom was also big and the door was not transparent. The bathroom door can be locked from inside and have handle.
I do not know how our room was so much better than the review, but we were very grateful that it was so much better. The wifi was fast, and clean towels + bed sheets were provided. Overall we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Recommended for budget-conscious travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgaserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guests, we thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our house. We are always grateful for honest and critical feedback of our guests and always try to improve our services. Hope you will come back to lucerne one day and wish you all the best. Best regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 68 in Lucerne
339 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#30 of 68 in Lucerne
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
120 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Property: ibis budget Luzern City
Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing