We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis budget Luzern City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Astoria(Lucerne)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,621)
Filter reviews
1,621 results
Traveler rating
192
707
517
131
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
707
517
131
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationclean budget hotelrooms are smallplace to sleepseparate toiletbudget stayfree wifiluzern cityshort stayhot waterpriced hotelmin walkyogurtcomfortable stayold townchapel bridgesupermarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 1,621 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed with my family (wife and daughter) for 4 nights. We were aware the room, including bathroom, would be relatively small. We did manage to store our 3 pieces of luggage fairly comfortably though. However for the price it is an excellent deal. Plus when in Switzerland who plans to spend their time indoors anyway? That too in late April.

The front desk staff are always busy since at any given time there are half a dozen people trying to check in or check out. However they do try their best to help all the guests.

We did not have breakfast in the hotel. However there is a Denner supermarket right opposite that provides for all the food, and other items, one would need. Plus the hotel allows one to use their facilities; microwave for example.

The hotel is also very conveniently located right opposite the Brunigstrasse tram station; route 3 takes around 4-5 minutes to the Luzern railway station.

It has already been pointed out that the bathroom has frosted glass door and both the WC and bathroom have holes (instead of knobs) in their doors for opening/ closing. Also the doors cannot be bolted. If privacy is an issue then the problem can be easily sorted out if the occupants not using the bathroom are open to spending those 10-15 minutes in the reception/ lounge area. One does need to turn on the shower a bit carefully though - otherwise there is a good chance the water will overflow into the bedroom floor and there are no floor mats to absorb it. However the staff leave the room spotlessly clean by the time one is back in the evening.

One also needs to bring along their own toiletries (except soap), adaptor and laptop/ tablet. As has been repeatedly mentioned by others, it is a *budget* hotel that provides an excellent value for money for its guests visiting central Switzerland.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Gajanan_W_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Hello Dear Guests, it is a really pleasure for us to read that you and your family had a great stay in lucerne and with us. Therefore we really thank you for your honest and detailed feedback. We are glad that you chose the right place to stay for your needs and hope you will visit us again once in the future! Best regards, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location, near the center and train Station. Great Parking, but not free. You can visit the whole city on foot. The only weird thing is that we book the triple room, and the bathroom.. there isn't any! Has a little prive room with a toilet, but the shower its in the middle of the room, just with a frosted glass door. We had to leave the room for my mom to take a shower. Not a shred of privacy while showering. Okay for a romantic double room, but a bit weird for a triple room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JuliaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Julia, thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay in lucerne. We like to hear that you enjoyed exploring our city. All the ibis budget hotels have a modern and compact design, and offer clean and secured rooms for up to three people for a reasonable price even in high season. On our website and on other booking sites we provide pictures, where the guests can see what the rooms are alike. I understand, that in your case, probably it would have been better to book instead a double and a additional single room. Nonetheless we really hope to welcome you once again in the future, and thank you for beeing our guest! best regards, B. Caluori & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a great find - fairly basic but clean and tidy, which is all you really want! No kettle in the room but that wasn't the end of the earth.

Centrally located and at a great price - which in a country that is soooo expensive, is a real boon!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank SoulFerretts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Guest, we would like to thank you so much for your comments regarding your visit in lucerne. We like to hear that you enjoyed staying here, even if we offer no cooking & coffee making facilities in theroom itselfs, but therefore we offer hot water & Microwave for free use in the lobby area. Thanks a lot and all the best ! Best regards. B.Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Even taking into account the inflated prices of the city, this was poor value. While you can accept a room being sparse and basic in a budget hotel, there were too many details overlooked which should be standard. The shower door did not reach the floor, leading to constant flooding of the room. The "bed" was a slab of chipboard with a thin mattress on top. Even doorknobs were left off. In all it would be better to spend a little more to get a room that meets at least minimal standards.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank ScottW346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay in our house. We are really sorry to read that we obviously could not meet your expectations in terms of comfort. The modern and compact design of all the Ibis budget hotel rooms, are for sure not made for everybody. Therefore I highly recommend you to try our sister- hotels "Ibis Kriens" or "Ibis Styles - Luzern" nearby, which offer bigger rooms and a higher standard. However, we still hope yu could enjoy the city of lucerne and will visit our region once again! Thank you very much and all the best, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is close to Lucerne main train station, about 10 mins walk. When I first reached Lucerne by train I could see the "ibis budget" sign.
The room was beyond expectation. Having seen the reviews and pictures of the hotel room I thought our three bed-room would be small and have one single bed on top of the double bed so that one person would need to climb to the single bed. However our room was very spacious, the double bed and single bed were not on top or bottom of each other. The bathroom was also big and the door was not transparent. The bathroom door can be locked from inside and have handle.
I do not know how our room was so much better than the review, but we were very grateful that it was so much better. The wifi was fast, and clean towels + bed sheets were provided. Overall we enjoyed our stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Recommended for budget-conscious travellers
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olgaserena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guests, we thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our house. We are always grateful for honest and critical feedback of our guests and always try to improve our services. Hope you will come back to lucerne one day and wish you all the best. Best regards, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews