We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis budget Luzern City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A nice little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Going to Switzerland often requires people to have a good financial backing, especially for hotels since truthfully hotels in Swiss are not cheap by any rate. Imagine our surprise for find a less than Euro 90 hotel in the heart of Lucerne :). Sure it lacks the charm or the local touch since all Ibis and Etap hotel seems to share the same designer wherever they are.

As a hotel, I have to say that the Etap Lucerne is much better than its sister in Zurich. The room is slightly bigger in terms of size and the service level offered by the staff is also higher. Staff here is much more helpful and willing to go beyond just answering your needs. Internet is also good, with connection available for 3 days, instead of the one in Zurich where we have to change password every single day since the connection is only 24 hours long.

Location wise, it is about 20 minutes away from the Luzern HB or the main train station by foot. It is a leisure walk anyway, but if you feel too lazy to walk, just catch the number 4 bus and you can stop near the hotel from the train station.

The room is a triple room, so people bringing a child (or two) should be okay, since you don't have to share one bed with everybody. Might be a bit tight, but for sleeping purpose only, it is still quite comfortable, unless if you plan to lounge in your room all day. Shower room is again separated with the closet and it has transparent wall, so I would not recommend this for non-couple visitors :)

Another thing, the room has an air conditioner, which make it more comfortable than the one in Zurich.

Reading other reviews about the cramped room, me and my wife personally think that it is not a major problem. Sure, it is not a suite at the Ritz Carlton, but for the price that you pay, I think it is tolerable and the bed is quite comfortable indeed, which is the main point of renting the room. So if you have a tight budget and plan to spend most of your time touring the city, this is just a perfect little hotel to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiverpoolFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay in our house. We are glad that you chose the right hotel for your purpose. Indeed, we are not a 5* hotel and our prices and Products are adapted to low budget travelers, who want to spend time with sightseeing and not in the hotelroom. We thank you and hope you will come back one day ! Best Regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    648
    485
    113
    58
See reviews for
432
669
62
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good position in downtown - rooms are small but fully equipped and very comfortable for family for a short stay - nice staff and good breakfast even if not included (reasonable price) - free internet wifi for a total of 24 H which is enough

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Guests, Thank you so much for your nice comments, regarding your stay with us! I am very happy that you enjoyed your journey to lucerne, and hope you will come back some day in the future! Best Regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October with two of my friends. Although the rooms are quite small and stuffy but you get for wat you pay. Its a really good hotel for price sensitive people, not very far from from the main train station. If you arrive before 12 noon, there is no way you will be allowed to check in, however ,you can keep your luggage in the store room. The staff is friendly too. The only thing we dint like were the toilet in the room, it had no lock and a peephole, strange but yes it is there. Also, the shower cabin has a glass door so if you are not staying without partner, you may get into embarrassing situation. The rest was all good, i recommend this place to those who want to save some money while travelling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Guest, Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our place. We are glad that you enjoyed your journey and our city. Whenever we have the possibility and clean rooms available, we are glad to do the check-in even at 10 o'clock if guests arrive early. But unfortunately during our peak seasons, we are fully booked most nights and therefore have no clean rooms available early in the morning, as we need time to clean and maintain properly all rooms. Thats why during high season, sometimes we are not able to check-in the guests before the official time of Checkin. We thank you for your understanding and wish you all the best ! Regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for a night and thank goodness it was just a night in October. So the good thing is that it is close-ish to the train station and it is probalby the cheapest place you will find in Lucerne. There is no smoking in the hotel, something that we saw was strickly enforced. It is also very clean, and pretty quiet. The rooms are TINY and which would be ok...the reason why I am giving this the 3 stars is because of the bathroom situation. There was a bathroom and shower in our room. There is a "toilet room" but the door to this "room" does not have a door knob, and it does not have a full door. There is a sink and next to the sink, the shower, which does have a full door, but no door knob as well. You step out of the shower, into the main part of the room. I traveled with my husband, so this wasn't a HUGE deal, but a little more privacy would have been nice. I think if you are traveling with someone other than a spouse or immediate family member the whole bathroom/shower privacy thing might be an issue. The room we had had a full or queen size bed and then a bunkbed that was on top of the head of the full or queen sized bed. Honestly, if there were three people in the room, at least 2 of them would have to be on the beds so the third one could walk around the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us. It is true that the standard Etap-room design is not suitable for long stays or travelers who expect more spacious and luxury rooms. It is therefore especially designed for those who want to travel on a low budget and spend more time with sightseeing and not in the hotel room. We still hope you enjoyed your journey in lucerne and you will come back one day in the future, kind regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that has triple rooms and has secured parking. This hotel fits both of those requirements. I booked this place based on reviews and online pictures, but didn’t get a true sense on how small the room was till we got there. It was extremely small for three people (two adults and one child), we had to walk sideways or climb over luggage to get from point A to point B. The location was quite convenient to get to all the tourist attractions in Luzern and to the train station, the breakfast was actually fairly good for the price (after you had adjusted to how much things cost in Switzerland), bath towel was paper thin, taking shower was like taking a shower in a motor home… This is the smallest hotel that I have ever stayed at, and wouldn’t book this place again if I visit Luzern in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest, we thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. Obviously you booked the wrong hotel for your needs and purposes. We regret it really much that you did not felt well at our place. To keep our room prices low, and to offer fair rates to all our guests - also during high season - our rooms are specially designed for this purpose: Clean and compact rooms with not many extras. If you still decide to come back to lucerne, for a triple room which is more spacious and offers more luxury, I would recommend you the Hotel Ibis Styles in the city center. Best Regards, B. Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms was clean but quite average.

Not very fond of the idea of the transparency of the bathroom door and the toilet door that can't be unlocked. And apparently we need to give 20 euros deposit to use the hairdryer.

Good value for a hotel in Switzerland and if you just need a place to sleep in after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShianShian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest, thank your for leaving your comments regarding your stay with us. The design of the Etap rooms is specially for those travelers which dont want to spend much money on a luxury, spacious room with many extras. Regarding the hairdryer, we borrow them at the Front office to all our guests for free, but only request a "deposit" of CHF 20.- which is handed out to the guest if he gives the hairdryer back. We still hope you had a great journey here in switzerland. Best Regards, B.Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very reasonably-priced hotel by Swiss standards it must be said, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you are (a) thin and (b) like to let it all hang out! The loo is tiny doesn't have a handle on the door, just a hole in the door. This would be ok if it was just finger-sized, but unfortunately the hole is about 3" in diameter so if you like your privacy it was horrible. Likewise the door to the shower - you could see right through it! Bearing in mind (no pun intended) the room is only just big enough for the bed, there really is no way you can perform your ablutions discreetly. Also we discovered our euro adaptors would not fit, necessitating buying a Swiss adaptor from reception for about £5 although to be fair we needed it for most of the other hotels we visited during our stay. This hotel is not for me or my better half, I'd stay elsewhere if possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linden-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest. We would like to thank you for your comments reagrding your stay with us, a couple of days ago. We really do regret, that you did not like our rooms. All Etap hotel rooms are speically designed for travelers, which dont want to spend much money on luxury and spacious rooms with many extras, but rather as much to spend a night in a safe and clean enviroment. Unfortunately, we could not meet your expectations. We still hope you will come back to lucerne one day in your future ! Best regards, B.Caluori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#32 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#34 of 69 in Lucerne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Property: ibis budget Luzern City
Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing