We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel nice price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ibis budget Luzern City
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 5, 2012

very good position in downtown - rooms are small but fully equipped and very comfortable for family for a short stay - nice staff and good breakfast even if not included (reasonable price) - free internet wifi for a total of 24 H which is enough

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hello Guests, Thank you so much for your nice comments, regarding your stay with us! I am very happy that you enjoyed your journey to lucerne, and hope you will come back some day in the future! Best Regards, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,581)
There are newer reviews for ibis budget Luzern City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in October with two of my friends. Although the rooms are quite small and stuffy but you get for wat you pay. Its a really good hotel for price sensitive people, not very far from from the main train station. If you arrive before 12 noon, there is no way you will be allowed to check in, however ,you can keep your luggage in the store room. The staff is friendly too. The only thing we dint like were the toilet in the room, it had no lock and a peephole, strange but yes it is there. Also, the shower cabin has a glass door so if you are not staying without partner, you may get into embarrassing situation. The rest was all good, i recommend this place to those who want to save some money while travelling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Hello Guest, Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our place. We are glad that you enjoyed your journey and our city. Whenever we have the possibility and clean rooms available, we are glad to do the check-in even at 10 o'clock if guests arrive early. But unfortunately during our peak seasons, we are fully booked most nights and therefore have no clean rooms available early in the morning, as we need time to clean and maintain properly all rooms. Thats why during high season, sometimes we are not able to check-in the guests before the official time of Checkin. We thank you for your understanding and wish you all the best ! Regards, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for a night and thank goodness it was just a night in October. So the good thing is that it is close-ish to the train station and it is probalby the cheapest place you will find in Lucerne. There is no smoking in the hotel, something that we saw was strickly enforced. It is also very clean, and pretty quiet. The rooms are TINY and which would be ok...the reason why I am giving this the 3 stars is because of the bathroom situation. There was a bathroom and shower in our room. There is a "toilet room" but the door to this "room" does not have a door knob, and it does not have a full door. There is a sink and next to the sink, the shower, which does have a full door, but no door knob as well. You step out of the shower, into the main part of the room. I traveled with my husband, so this wasn't a HUGE deal, but a little more privacy would have been nice. I think if you are traveling with someone other than a spouse or immediate family member the whole bathroom/shower privacy thing might be an issue. The room we had had a full or queen size bed and then a bunkbed that was on top of the head of the full or queen sized bed. Honestly, if there were three people in the room, at least 2 of them would have to be on the beds so the third one could walk around the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us. It is true that the standard Etap-room design is not suitable for long stays or travelers who expect more spacious and luxury rooms. It is therefore especially designed for those who want to travel on a low budget and spend more time with sightseeing and not in the hotel room. We still hope you enjoyed your journey in lucerne and you will come back one day in the future, kind regards, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were looking for a hotel that has triple rooms and has secured parking. This hotel fits both of those requirements. I booked this place based on reviews and online pictures, but didn’t get a true sense on how small the room was till we got there. It was extremely small for three people (two adults and one child), we had to walk sideways or climb over luggage to get from point A to point B. The location was quite convenient to get to all the tourist attractions in Luzern and to the train station, the breakfast was actually fairly good for the price (after you had adjusted to how much things cost in Switzerland), bath towel was paper thin, taking shower was like taking a shower in a motor home… This is the smallest hotel that I have ever stayed at, and wouldn’t book this place again if I visit Luzern in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest, we thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. Obviously you booked the wrong hotel for your needs and purposes. We regret it really much that you did not felt well at our place. To keep our room prices low, and to offer fair rates to all our guests - also during high season - our rooms are specially designed for this purpose: Clean and compact rooms with not many extras. If you still decide to come back to lucerne, for a triple room which is more spacious and offers more luxury, I would recommend you the Hotel Ibis Styles in the city center. Best Regards, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms was clean but quite average.

Not very fond of the idea of the transparency of the bathroom door and the toilet door that can't be unlocked. And apparently we need to give 20 euros deposit to use the hairdryer.

Good value for a hotel in Switzerland and if you just need a place to sleep in after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShianShian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest, thank your for leaving your comments regarding your stay with us. The design of the Etap rooms is specially for those travelers which dont want to spend much money on a luxury, spacious room with many extras. Regarding the hairdryer, we borrow them at the Front office to all our guests for free, but only request a "deposit" of CHF 20.- which is handed out to the guest if he gives the hairdryer back. We still hope you had a great journey here in switzerland. Best Regards, B.Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a very reasonably-priced hotel by Swiss standards it must be said, but I wouldn't recommend it unless you are (a) thin and (b) like to let it all hang out! The loo is tiny doesn't have a handle on the door, just a hole in the door. This would be ok if it was just finger-sized, but unfortunately the hole is about 3" in diameter so if you like your privacy it was horrible. Likewise the door to the shower - you could see right through it! Bearing in mind (no pun intended) the room is only just big enough for the bed, there really is no way you can perform your ablutions discreetly. Also we discovered our euro adaptors would not fit, necessitating buying a Swiss adaptor from reception for about £5 although to be fair we needed it for most of the other hotels we visited during our stay. This hotel is not for me or my better half, I'd stay elsewhere if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linden-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest. We would like to thank you for your comments reagrding your stay with us, a couple of days ago. We really do regret, that you did not like our rooms. All Etap hotel rooms are speically designed for travelers, which dont want to spend much money on luxury and spacious rooms with many extras, but rather as much to spend a night in a safe and clean enviroment. Unfortunately, we could not meet your expectations. We still hope you will come back to lucerne one day in your future ! Best regards, B.Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Not a bad place, but nothing spectacular. Room was very small, with a bunk bed for the third person above the double. One tiny closet for the toilet, another shower stall, neither of which afford any privacy. The free wi-fi is nice, and the staff was very helpful. Parking garage was 12 euros per night. City center is a brisk 12-15 minute walk away. Reasonable hotel for the price.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank brimel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara C, Manager at ibis budget Luzern City, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hello Guests, Thank you very much for your comments regarding your overnight stay with us. All Etap Hotels have this special "looks" and are designed for those travelers, which dont want to spend much money for luxury rooms with many extras, but rather as much to spend a godd nights sleep in a clean and safe enviroment. We really hope you enyojed your stay in Lucerne ! Kind regards, B. Caluori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
575 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 67 in Lucerne
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#46 of 67 in Lucerne
163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Luzern City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Luzern City

Address: Kellerstrasse 6, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Etap Hotel Luzern City)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ibis budget Luzern City 1*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ibis budget Luzern City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing