We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for family and couples”
Review of Lion Lodge Lucerne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lion Lodge Lucerne
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is not a very good hostel and couples or family should look for other options.Staffs are not very supportive and rooms are very congested and not very clean. If you are on family trip or honey moon trip or you want to have a enjoy a quality holiday then certainly this is not the place for you.You can have a better option to choose from

Room Tip: No Lifts so choose lower floor
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dharam168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Dharam.We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Please note you have chosen a HOSTEL on a cheap rate, with a minimum equipment. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Lion Lodge Lucerne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 127 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a backpacker hostel. For location it is good but do not expect much else. It is ok if you are just sleeping there. Check in is not until 4pm and if you arrive early they will not allow you in a second earlier.

The room we stayed in was private with bathroom. It is a tight fit. Good for backpackers but don't expect much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillymaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Hi Lillymare
Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Dont stay here. A place where you cant choose the things by your way and you need to pay expensensively for that isnt a good place to stay.
Try to not negociate the things with the owner he barely speaks english, is too much confuse, and hard to work and talk.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felipe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Felipe. We give our best efforts, that the guest can feel at home with us. Now there are sometimes situations, where people rules or preferences, from which reason ever, do not accept. So in your case, it was not possible, to help you to understand , that the
washing program you paid for it, is not two hours available. We must leave you with the frustration in a review as the worst hostel, and the comment about our staff.
A tip for all readers. You must once visit the worst hostel. You will be amazed how positively surprised you get. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

First off it is very expensive to stay and travel around Switzerland, so to find decent accommodations for an affordable price is a challenge. My boyfriend and I spent two nights at the lion lodge last spring while backpacking Europe. The lodge is quite a distance from the train station, as we were travelling by train, however very close to the lion monument (definately worth seeing). It is also located up the hill so you need to travel up and down whenever you venture out, this was fine for us as we walked the majority of our trip however for those not wanting something close to everything you would want to find something closer to the lake. The lodge is a basic hostel type accommodation where you receive sheets separately and must return them upon check out. It is great if you are looking to meet people as there are often many other travellers hanging around the common spaces however what turned me off was the constant smell of curry from the indian cuisine restaurant downstairs. I would suggest paying the extra for something closer to the lake or near the train.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Lion Lodge is good value. Especially in an expensive country. It is a 15minute walk to the center of town and the train station. There is only one shower per floor, so get up early or sleep in late if you want a shower. I'm an early riser so I had no issues with the shower. Wifi is mainly only available in the common room, which wasnt an issue with me, but could be for others. The stairs and hallways are a bit loud and could wake you if you are a light sleeper. The decks on each floor are nice. You can go out and have dinner, have a smoke, or have a couple drinks out there and just relax. I would stay here again and would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the alley
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott_H403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013
Google Translation

Grüezi
Es freut uns zu hören, dass es Dir bei uns gefallen hat. Herzlichen Dank, für die Mühe die Du Dir genommen hast, um eine Bewertung zu schreiben. Es würde uns freuen, Dich bei Deinem nächsten Aufenthalt in Luzern, wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Beste Grüsse, „das Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Please choose this hostel , if you would like spend one or two night here.One advantage that the center is near.If arrive you by car , you have to book a "parking area"
The kitchen isn't very clean.You can use the wifi only the common areas. There is one shower every floor, so you may have to wait for good shower.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potttike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. We are working very hard keeping the hostel clean so it is disappointing you thought otherwise. Maybe you just reached the kitchen after another guest left it in a mess.Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

terrible hostel. i've stayed 6 nights in a 4dorm. it was a nightmare from start to end. my mat had bed bugs! one night their alarm went on all night. this place has nobody on duty at night, so there was nothing to be done. on the friday night, a group of drunken swiss made a mess all night. screaming in the halls, slamming doors, behaving unrespectful of all other people sleeping (well, trying to). customer behaviour it's not the fault of the hostel, but i noticed the group already at check in cause they were clearly intoxicated and dangerous bunch. and they checked them in just the same! again, there's no hostel staff on site at night. located on a very noisy main road, with heavy traffic day and night. this is a terrible place. manager is a very rude person ever. would not accept my complaints for bed bugs, alarm noise and mess. worst place ever!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take their poor rating und complaints against as such, in respect, that you have been our guest. What we don't understand, keept staying for 6 nights on this disgusting place!!!
We have been informed neither by you or other guests, that there are bed bugs in our hostel.
Our expert controls gave no indications for it.
Finally a poetry along the way: where elephants fight, the grass has the shadow.
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.1 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#38 of 67 in Lucerne
1,579 reviews
2.5 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Sonnenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#35 of 67 in Lucerne
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion Lodge Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Lodge Lucerne

Address: Zuerichstrasse 57, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range: $36 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Lodge is right in the centre of Lucerne within walking distance from the train station and main attractions like the nearby Lion Monument. The historic part of town, the famous Chapel Bridge, supermarkets and restaurants are just minutes away.You have a choice between two bed rooms, 4 bed dormitories and a 6 bed dorm with common bathrooms and showers.The hostel also has a self catering kitchen, cozy verandas, a large common area with books and games.We offer economic prices for a comfortable stay. Just perfect for ++CITY HOPPERS++ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Lion Lodge Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Lodge Lucerne Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing