We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lion Lodge Lucerne
Nearby Hotels
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$224
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$169
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$267
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$385
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$438
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$337
$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$613
$412
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$327
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
4
25
42
31
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
25
42
31
29
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 131 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The whole hostel was a chaos, bad smell in all floors, the bathroom had the shower BROKEN! The staff is pathetic, completely unhelpful and the girl in reception even made our trip worst because of the wrong information she gave us. Run away of this hostel, you will not regret, even for the price. I will never come back to this [--]

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_Sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. We take their poor rating und complaints against as such, in respect, that you have been our guest. We work hard to keep our HOSTEL in a clean and tidy condition and make your stay as pleasant as possible. Sorry that you have made such a bad experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great location but lacked decent facilities. One bathroom (toilet/shower) per level for approx 40 people. Was not fun trying to get a shower in. Kitchen is very small and again same problem as of course Switerland is expensive so cooking makes things cheaper. Would stay again in off season only because it's right in heart of CBD.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy;-)).
We hope you come see us next time you are in Lucerne.
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've only ever stayed in two hostels in my life, and this was the second one so I don't have a lot to compare my experience to, but here I go (I'm terrible at summarising so this is going to be a long one!)

The hostel was very easy to find as its on one of the main streets in Lucerne, and if you can find the Lion monument you can find the hostel with no problem. The old exterior of the building looked quite nice. Its easy walking distance from the lake, but theres a bus service also.

We arrived quite early in the morning so the check in was closed until 4pm, but that was okay. There was a sign up on the door saying to use the orange lockers to keep our stuff in until check in was open. The lockers were easy to find and big enough to fit a small-medium size suitcase inside, and just required a 2CHF coin to lock which could be retrieved later.

We were excited to explore the very beautiful Lucerne so we left and returned at check in time. There was a little bit of a queue but nothing to complain about. We were required to give one of our passports or give a deposit of 20CHF for the key which we'd get back at check out. I'm not a fan of giving my passport to others so we chose the deposit option, and actually gave €20 instead but they had no problem with this.

The room was basic, but thats what you expect with a hostel. We stayed in a private room with 2 single beds and no bathroom. Total furnishings of the room were two wood frame single beds, a table, chair and mirror. We had a window opening up to a quiet street to the back of the hostel. The room was clean and suited our needs just fine. I didn't think that the bedding looked unclean like some others have mentioned.

There was free wifi but the signal was very weak upstairs. You had to come down to ground floor to get decent speeds.

The hostel has a couple of balconies with tables and chairs which are covered, so suitable to sit out rain or shine. Theres a toilet halfway up to the 1st floor which doesn't lock. The door does stay closed though so you still get privacy, but that might bother a lot of people. Theres also no lift as far as I could tell but that didn't bother me.

We stayed on the 1st floor. I was using the ladies bathroom. This was fine except that the light was activated by motion sensor, and while in the toilet stall it couldn't detect my movement, so the light went out which was kind of annoying at night. Theres only one sink in the bathroom and the shower privacy is provided by a curtain and faces the sink. It might be nice if the bathroom had more than one sink as I had to go in and out a few times in the evening checking until it was free. Overall the bathrooms seemed very clean.

On the ground floor theres a small computer room which also contains a couch, some board games and books. To use the computer you need to pay at reception and they'll come and log you in with their password. It could be better to have a coin operated computer so that it could be used when reception is closed.

Opposite this is a good sized common room with couches and tables. Theres a door here that connects to the Indian restaurant next door. I found this a bit weird as they open this door at night but its mostly blocked by some large refrigeration unit. I don't know if this is meant to be an advertisement or if its a way of ordering takeaway or what. We did eat in there one night though as our feet were sore from walking and we didn't feel like restaurant hunting. Oddly they were serving only one dish, but it was very tasty.

Reception was willing to be flexible with us during check out as we were leaving very early in the morning and needed to get our key deposit back. We did this the night before as reception stayed open late, so we could just lock the room from the inside as we weren't going anywhere.

Overall it was a comfortable stay and good value for an expensive country like Switzerland. I would recommend staying here if you are on a tight budget, but otherwise its pretty average.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bekjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We really appreciate you taking so much time to write such detailed review; -))).
Thank you for coming to stay at the Lion Lodge. Very happy to hear you thought the hostel was cozy. We hope you come see us next time you are in Lucerne.
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

very comfortable room and big toilet. free wifi. it's located near the lion monument which is quite a distance from the town area by foot.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reenieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for choosing the Lion Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the time you took to fill out a review. Hope to see you next time you are in Lucerne ;-))
Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed in dorm room for 4 which was quite comfortable.The bad part was the wait for the bathroom,surcharge added to the room bill if payment was made using credit card and lack of lift in the hotel.So if you have lots of baggage to carry,be ready to climb couple of floors with the luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bachu1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lion L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Lion Lodge Lucerne, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thanks for staying at the Lion Lodge. Sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations. Thanks for the tip and we will try to be more engaging. Thanks for coming to stay with us. Kind Regards, „the Lion Lodge Team“

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews