We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, good food,”
Review of Restaurant Lapin

Restaurant Lapin
Ranked #54 of 418 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $48
Cuisines: Swiss, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Lapin is a family run hotel-restaurant situated in the centre of Lucerne and is one of the city's leading restaurants. It has a cosy, rustic appearance and serves modern European cuisine specialising in regional dishes. The menu offers fish, meat and seafood dishes as well as traditional Swiss Käsespätzli (small dumplings with melted cheese) with chives and pumpkin potato strudel with parsley cream sauce. In addition to the standard menu, the restaurant offers a special every day and extensive 3 to 4 course weekly menus. The speciality of the house are the Ratsherrenspieße (a type of food served en brochette) with various types of meat and vegetables and are served flambéed at your table. Wine lovers can enjoy a selection of international wines to go with their meal. The Lapin also provides a traditional Lucerne setting.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Very good service. Cosy and nice environment. Detailed decoration. Good food. Portions can be a bit bigger

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Maharibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Grüezi
thank you for your review and comment. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your meal in our Restaurant and especially the decoration. At this very moment the restaurant is in corespondence with the lucerne Carneval. We do take you comment on the portion and will look into that. Hopefully you can make it back again.
With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 193 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

A good restaurant in Lucerne. The old wooden interior provides a warm and comfortable atmosphere, and the service was attentive. The lentil soup was very good, the rabbit with polenta was tasty and the Lucerner Fritschipastete was well done. Lapin also offers a small but very nice salad bar. It was nothing over the top, but al in all it was a very enjoyable meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank IBSTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Grüezi

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you have enjoyed the atmosphere and our tasty food.

We hope you can visit us on another occasion and send you our best Regards from Lucerne.

Ferdinand A. Zehnder and Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Ate here during a visit in December -we were unimpressed. While the staff was kind we definitely struggled in communicating not knowing German -and our server not knowing english. As it was, our order was mixed up and the food we got was not very good. We did not feel it was worth the price and would not go back.

Thank KTrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Grüezi
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this feedback with us.
We are very sorry for your experience with our service. Your input is very important for us so we can always improve every single step of our service.
Hopefully you change your mind and we can welcome you again in our restaurant Lapin.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder & Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The restaurant is well situated a few steps away from the shoreline of lake Lucerne. Super helpful if you want to walk a bit after a good meal :) We had dinner at that lovely place, next to the great food, the service was excellent. We'll appreciated also the presence of the restaurant owner checking if everything is OK and having a bit of a chat.
Concerning the food I had the impression that the prices where reasonable for what you get, which is very good. So if you are hungry for good plain/home-style cooking this is the place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your nice review. We are happy you had enjoyed your visit and meal in our Restaurant Lapin. I enjoy talking to our custumers whenever there is time. We hope you had a good experience of Lucerne and who knows, maybe we can welcome you back here.

With best Regards and have a good festive season

Ferdinand Zehnder & Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed this week in Lucerne ,Switzerland and had several meals in the Lapin restaurant housed within the De-La-Paix Hotel.The very best meal I had was the restaurants signature dish,I forget the name of it,but it is basically veal in a brown sauce encased in a puff pastry shell with mushrooms and market vegetables.Absolutely delicious and enjoyed with Epesse Swiss white wine!
I have had very many meals in this restaurant over the years that I have visited Lucerne,and have to complement the owner in maintaining such very high standards serving wonderfully delicious dishes! Long may it continue! I cant wait to return in the New Year for more delightful meals!I highly recommend this delightful restaurant!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Baswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Restaurant Lapin, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Hello Barrie
Thank you very much for your lovely review of our Restaurant Lapin. With great pleasure I read your comments about our Restaurant. We are so lucky to have so nice and professional staff. They work so hard and always in good humor. I am also happy you had enjoyed one of our signature dishes "The Fritschipastete" . A traditional typically Lucerne dish, prepared after a very old recipe, only with tender veal meat cubes, sausage veal meat on a nice brown sauce with enough cognac inside, filled in a crispy puff pastry and served with colourful vegetable.
We hope to be able to serve you again soon here in our Lapin Restaurant.
Have a good festive season and best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the Lapin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lapin also viewed

 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant Lapin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing