We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst ever”

SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana
Ranked #15 of 402 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $36 - $56
Cuisines: European, Diner, Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
NAPLES
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The worst ever”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Rude service, old property, terrible food, over priced. This is not a restaurant for people in the know it's for tourist that know nothing. You will be very disappointed, we had a group of 6 guests waiter gave menu with prices to lady rather than man. Really embarrassing and slow arrogant service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripTip101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Restaurant Manager, Marketing at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA Team apologies, that we could not achieve your expectations. The Restaurant Manager, forwarded your negative points to his staff, so they can improve the service feature.

Our guest normally appreciates our kitchen, restaurant ambient with 15 points GaultMillau and marvelous view over Lucern.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    97
    45
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Fantastic food, very friendly and helpful staff combined with the spectacular lake view make the Scala restaurant my personal favorite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_Lex6442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We all are happy to read, that you had a great time in our SCALA Restaurant. The HOTEL MONTANA Team is looking forward to welcoming you again in our House.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More could be done”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice looking establishment, the employees were professionals but the food was on the average side if not for my love of curries. Just too expensive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Iain,

We thank you for your feedback. Maybe we will get your taste next time, we would be glad to welcoming you again in our SCALA Restaurant with great view over Lucern.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“"Room with a view"”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The terrace was totally booked so we "settled" for a window table in the main dining room. View is wonderful and the food superb.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank memphismickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mickey,

The HOTEL MONTANA Team thanks you for your nice words. We always try our best, to make our clients happy.

We would be very pleased, to welcoming you soon in our house.

Best regards
HOTEL MONTANA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Excellent ...!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

we have been fortunate enough to have visited some incredible restaurants in our time. i can say, without a shadow of a doubt, that Scala is amongst the very best out there. dinner is a grand affair, without being over the top. it's also dressy, without being fussy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARTELL1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing & Sales Manager at SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Martell

Thank you very much for this fantastic review. I will forward it to the kitchen crew. I am sure that they will be very happy about your compliment.

Best regards from the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA

Patrick Erni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to SCALA RESTAURANT - Art Deco Hotel Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing