We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!”
Review of Mr. Pickwick Pub

Mr. Pickwick Pub
Ranked #44 of 406 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the, "place where people meet" and the, "oldest pub in town". Two great reasons to visit us! We offer great quality pub food, English & Irish beers on tap and much more! Our staff strive to offer an authentic pub atmosphere to ensure our guests feels at home.The pub (above the pub is the Hotel Pickwick) is located on the banks of the river Reuss overlooking the famous wooden chapel bridge and Mt. Pilatus. The pub really is a room with a view!Hope to see you soon.
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Became our fav hangout in just 1 day! Bartenders Andrew and Hannah were great, down to earth people. Sitting at the bar is key, you have to go to the bar to order anything anyway and they will keep your glasses full while getting to know you and sharing about their experiences being British living in Switzerland. Not the cheapest, but a great place to feel at home even when you're not.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike-and-Kat07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    145
    56
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Another crowded bar”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

It's just another crowded bar along the river in Luzern. Nothing special, perhaps one or two UK beers (Boddingtons, Guiness?)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Electroburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH AFRICA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“If down to honesty ............. this restaurant is excellent!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

After a long day of walking we went to eat at Pickwick's. EVERYTHING in Lucerne is expensive ... we paid approx Euro10 for a plate of onion rings!! The food was nice but my sister left her handbag with lots of Euros in it, in the restaurant.
We went to the restaurant the next morning and the handbag was handed in by the staff. A HUGE thank you to the staff for being so honest - it is so appreciated to know there are still people who care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint John, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very expensive pub food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped in here for an alternative to german food and were very disappointed. First, it was very expensive for pub food...chicken fingers or a burger with fries for 22 euros! Especially since you order at the counter. Second, it wasn't very good. The burger looked good, but didn't taste that way. The chicken fingers were very overcooked and almost hard to eat.

The only plus is the location (center of Lucerne and on the waterfront by the bridge) and the atmosphere (we were there with a lively crowd watching a soccer game). I'd go back for a beer or two, but not for a meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoFLFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
658 reviews
360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Best burger I have had in a long time”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It was pouring rain in Lucerne and we were nearby the river. Not wanting to eat another schnitzel, we wanted some pub grub. This was the place. Portions are very large (be warned as we over-ordered), there is a variety of beer on tap (and you can get special drinks like a snakebite, lager and lime, etc.). It is an 'English Pub' - so you order at the bar and it is very casual. You can watch sports on their TV, play the slots if you choose and relax into the tables as you wait out the rain. The prices are high, but this is Switzerland where prices are higher. I ordered their basic burger and it was delicious. My husband the club sandwich and he enjoyed that as well. The menu is basic, so if you want burgers and pub grub - this is a good alternative.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Pickwick Pub also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mr. Pickwick Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing