We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Schweizerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Schweizerhof
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
mersyeside
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“really fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

What a lovely hotel. Immaculate & pretty rooms. Staff friendly & helpful. Really good breakfast, and i had excellent food in the restaurant, the half board evening meal is really good for 35 francs.
Prices in the bar cheaper than in town. Great location for everything. Great sauna & small gym/relaxation area. Will definitely go back. Well done to the staff for such great service & high standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithholsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    41
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
27
34
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room was very nice. We had the room in the corner which means that we had a huge balcony. Very nice views at the balcony. The room was specious and the bathroom as well. We very able to dry all of our golf equipment in the bathroom after a very wet round. You get discount if you buy the green fee at the hotel lobby.

The breakfast was very tasty and and quite similar as in many Swiss hotels. We slept very well in silence, although the whole Engelberg was very quiet. Our stay was between seasons, so maybe that was the reason for very quiet town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosqito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Staff are friendly & helpful, very sincere and patient to introduce the city with useful information, good location nearby train station, 1-2mins walk straight to the hotel.

Suggested to make request in advance for higher floor with mountains view, it was so surprising that the hotel would give me a hearty reply to confirm a room reserved for me with my specific request! We're so delighted when get into the room 404, my room is at the corner on 4th floor at the front which was very spacious, clean & tidy with 3 balconies and mountains view, fantastic & superb!!

Standard buffet breakfast, not much selection on food, but the satisfaction of my room was enough to cover the value for money!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magng_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in september 2013. The room and bathroom was very clean and both was newly renovated. From the room there is a very nice view to the mountains. The breakfast is good with a large selection. The hotel is centraly located in Engelberg, but in a quiet location. I slept well at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Schweizerhof with a Road Scholar trip and really enjoyed it. The food was good; they offered a washer and dryer at 5 fr per load; the hotel was spotless. The staff was very helpful, especially Adriano who doubled as our hiking guide! We recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

10-20 meters away from the railways stations, Restuarants all around, Cable ride to titlis few 100 meters away, laundry facilities are a great plus, especially since we were travelling with our baby who is a messy eater. Hotel staff are very freindly and helpful. Breakfast is good. Did opt for dinner (30CHF) since there were restaurants all around.

Room Tip: Family rooms facing the mountains are spacious and offer a great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boon_jacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reut, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were a family of four (with two teeanagers), the hotel is very nicely decorated with good atmosphere.
The family room is spacious, breakfast was very nice and tasty and the staff, especially the breakfast staff, were nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RavelReut_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue-Terminus
Bellevue-Terminus
#9 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schweizerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schweizerhof

Property: Hotel Schweizerhof
Address: Dorfstrasse 42 | 6390 Engelberg, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schweizerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Schweizerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schweizerhof Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing