We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It was late in the evening that my group reached to this hotel, and being an indian i realized it was quite a nice weather for me, just a little cold, anyways ,,,, the hotel is generally very clean, light adjustments from every place especially bed sides is appreciable,,, decent furniture, iPod/ iPhone docks were super exciting,,, we had nice sleep for two nights,,,,,, but families watch out,,, they don't have latches in the washrooms,,, wonder if it is the new European trend or what,, the same door that slides between the toilet and the washroom,,,,,, was pretty strange for us (giggle)
over all a nice quaint experiience,,, :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GauravAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Sir
so nice to hear that you had an exiting trip to switzerland and to our Hotel Bellevue-Terminus.
When we rebuilt the hotel in summer 2011, we tried to get the latest technical solutions for things like light adjustments or Multimedia Device. The look of a room can be so different, depending the furniture an materials you us - we tried our best.
We hope to see you again, best regards Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Bellevue Terminus. It is the best value of any hotel we had on our whole trip. When booking our hotel we didn't make any special requests, but upon arrival received an upgraded room with a beautiful view! When we arrived the staff was friendly and helpful (and spoke English very well, which is always helpful).

The upgraded rooms are fantastic! There are iPod/iPhone docks, lighting controls that allow you to turn off lights from your bed and around the room (and dim them if you only want some light). The new furniture is comfortable and modern, too.

It's an easy walk anywhere in town from the hotel...especially the train station! It's right across the street.

Our only complaint would be that it was a bit warm in the room in the evening if you didn't keep the window and patio door open. However, when we opened it, it was easy to hear the noise from the street that went on until late at night. I'm not a light sleeper, but my fiance is, so that was a touch adjustment for him.

The staff truly went above and beyond for us when we left. First off, I paid for our stay in Euros and Francs; they were incredibly accommodating with multiple payment methods and did not act put out or annoyed at all. On top of that, they offer a breakfast buffet each morning (great spread), unfortunately we were schedule to leave at the crack of dawn our last day in Engelberg and wouldn't get to eat. When I checked out the night before our departure, the staff offered to have a take away (to-go) breakfast ready for us to take in the morning for no extra charge! When we picked it up at 5:30am before departing it was a pleasant surprise. They had packed each of us a sandwich, yogurt, fruit and water.

We couldn't have been happier with our stay here and encourage you to check it out! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: See if you can be put in one of the upgraded rooms...they're lovely! Request a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_team_twosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear guests...
Thank you very much for your kind letter/ assessment. Nowadays it is quite important to get feedbacks on tripadvisor or other portals.
The Hotel Bellevue-Terminus is made for guest like you are, who like design and appreciate service. This is our way of hospitality and we look forward to welcome you again.

All the best, sincerely Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at the hotel 3 times already this year as I make a stop of a day for skiing between business meetings in Geneva area and Basel. Free wifi allows me to keep track on work, the place is very nice and people are most helpful.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Myself1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Sir

Thank you very munch for your compliments. We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus - in summer maybe for a golf stop over.

See you soon, Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

There were several problems with the Bellevue for us.

First (we did not look careful enough): be aware that there is a DISTINCT difference between the NEW Standard room and a standard room. We booked last minute and did not look careful enough... Unfortunately the decent rooms where all booked out when we identified our mistake upon arrival....

We had booked the half board and we got the worst food ever!!!!!!!

First course: Chicken on seasonal salad: We got chicken that was not cooked, it was completley rare, they must have used some premade frozen produce and not given it enought time to thaw.... After we had sent it back, we received our original plates back with half the amount of chicken. They had simply removed the few bigger pieces and left a few tiny stripes on top of the salad but at least those tinly remains of the original portion had been now been fried.....

Second course: Entrecote on polenta with seasonal veg. I was not asked how I would like my beef and received it bleu - I then asked for it between medium and well done....It then came back overcooked, additionally the polenta and vegetables had gone cold.

We were then offered coffee as compensation, however this was still added to the bill in the end (different staff and obviously they did not talk to each other.....) However, were had been promised that the next day they would try to cook the food a bit more.... Thank you for going the extra mile, luckily we were checking out the next day...

One last remark: the hotel has a deal with another local hotel to provide access to a wellness area.
I used this service to get access to a pool with my young daughter. The transport provided worked fine and my daughter loved it. Of course my toddler does not mind shower rooms that have black mold on them and old and tired 20 year old used facilities. Maybe the bellevue could try to find another partner instead....

I believe that one of the new rooms and food reservations outside the hotel could provide a quite ok experience, the hotel is central and the ski bus leaves just oposite the entrance.... Anyway we had enought and will not come back....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Do you know Grimm brothers, could be one of their stories...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I visited this hotel when i visited Switzerland. This is a small little town in the Alps. The scenery is breath taking and you can also go up in a cable car to Mount Tittlist which is 10000ft above sea level.The town has a atmosphere of its own and in the Summer the houses are beautifully decorated with their colourful flower boxes.There is also a monastary which you can visit and they produce cheese there which you can taste and buy and also see how it is made.
The hotel is actually a very good place to stay as it is just across from the train station.To get to Engelberg you have to travel with two trains. The last train is a real steam train as it is very steap to get to Engelberg so a steam train works the best.The scenery travelling to Engelberg is just amazing.The hotel is clean and i found the people very friendly and helpful and best of all the price is very reasonable.The rooms are standard rooms ,nothing fancy but very comfortable and clean..For me who likes to travel and go places and explore beyond my base it was really good and a welcome place in the evening to come home to to sleep.
At night the town is lit up my many lights and it looks like fairyland.
Definately a place i will go back to and highly recommended to anyone visiting Switzerland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanette53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The exterior outside of the hotel might appear a bit old - and the entrance doors a bit shabby - but the interior rooms are newly renovated and great. Like other reviewers have said, there is a beautiful view of the Swiss Alps. It is centrally located in terms of Engelberg (close to everything in the small town) but half an hour driving from Lucerne. We stayed in a room called "The New Standard" type.


Love the light dimming/brightness controls on the lights + Free wifi in the rooms and hotel, which is great. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable - the bathroom is basically open-area; sink and bed have no door in between them. One sliding door is used for both the toilet and the shower area - which means both technically can't be used at the same time (although if you have 2 people, why does it matter?)

Downsides: you can see other people's rooms in full if you walk out on to the balcony and lean over (why would you do that though I don't know, but you may want to close your curtains).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the Alps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Dorion
Thank you for your feedback.
You're absolutely right, our front is really not very appealing. On our renovations- and investment list is the facade at second last place. Before we want to renew anything else and then shine with a new exterior.
For me, the light settings in the room are also an important detail, since light has a decisive influence on mood. Nice that we agree here. For an open bath area, we decided of style reasons - we wanted the bathroom as a part of the room and not hide in a box. And the sliding door, which closes either toilet or shower I find funny and clever detail cause both must be closed in a double room ever.
Incidentally, each of our rooms has a beautiful view of the mountains.
Thanks again for your impressions see you soon, Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lovely hotel with a breathtaking view. The room decor was excellent, beds were comfortable and wash area spacious. Charmed by the board which accomodated mutiple switches type. Mt Titlis was just a walking distance away and good sovenir shops around. Staff was distant not very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Uma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sina F, Manager at Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Hello Uma
Thank you for your rating. We are delighted that our rooms and their equipment have met your taste. We are also happy and proud to work with such a good product can be. This comes the beautiful nature that surrounds our home and Engelberg. Unfortunately you have not convinced our staff, we apologize for that and will continue to try to improve it.
Thanks again for your praise as well as your criticism, with best regards
Sina Filliger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenclub
Hotel Alpenclub
#15 of 23 in Engelberg
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue-Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue-Terminus

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 10, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: $153 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellevue-Terminus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first major phase of renovations at the Hotel Bellevue-Terminus, which first opened in 1898, was completed between May and November 2011. The south wing was completely gutted and has been replaced with a contemporary interior. But it’s not just the interior design that’s a talking point – the look of the rooms is just a s eye-catching. In the Hotel ’s new rooms the Belle Epoque style has been combined with modern elements and in some cases entirely re-interpreted. We have attached a great deal of importance to the aesthetics of the materials, and our style might certainly be defined by the notion of “less is more”. We want our rooms to be the expression of a contem porary cosmopolitan lifestyle in a fin-de-siecle setting, something we like to call fusion. Since April 2017 the north wing is under construction. There will be 31 brand new rooms in October 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bellevue-Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue-Terminus Hotel Engelberg
Bellevue Terminus Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing