We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Splendid views, helpful staff, great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Terrace
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Splendid views, helpful staff, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2006

We arrived by car on Christmas eve, and the friendly multilingual staff were extremely helpful in explaining the items included in our all inclusive plan. The Hotel is on a hill, with a splendid view of the town of Engleberg below, and of the Alps, a great view from all main windows. The rooms are compact, but very clean, modern, and simple. The tram is a few steps away,at the top of a steep hill, and allows quick access to the town, and the shuttle to the mountain by a 4 min bus ride (free). The main rooms are grand, with high celings, and a slightly faded glory, but still elegant with a view that can't be beat. The all inclusive plan had a buffet breakfast, with superb breads, croissants, rolls, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, lunch vouchers for the self serve restaurants at the ski mountain, afternoon snack, and a large buffet dinner, including at least three main course choice and a cheese buffet each evening, with a salad bar, and great desserts. Meals were always very tasty, and choices varied.House wine, beer, water and soda included. This is a terrific value, when you see the outrageously high prices in the local restaurants, and even in the 2 grocery stores in town. There is a Wellness center, with a sauna with room for only 10, and a steam room, great after a long day on the slopes. After dinner there is usually a show, in German. If this is not to your taste, bring along your own entertainment (cards, board games), or play Fussball, pool, or darts in the bar. Very "kid Friendly". Beds are very comfy, with soft down pillows, down comforters, and crisp cotton sheets.
The staff is always very helpful. Good value for money, especially with regards to the food, which is superb! The hotel shows its age, the furniture may be simple, but the staff, views, and value for Switzerland are appreciated.

  • Liked — Great dining options, view of the Alps, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Costly internet, limited evening entertainment for non-German speakers
  • Tips/Secrets — Get the all inclusive-it's bargain, if you compare the other options
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ski.Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    150
    49
    22
    19
See reviews for
142
98
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2006

We were able to stay in Engelberg for four nights. I was there with a girlfriend and we enjoyed our stay very much.
The view from our large room was stunning and the breakfast quite nice. In the evening it was offered a great buffet with excellent food.
Hotel Terrace is only a short walk away from the city center set up on the hill over the town. There is a nice cablecar a minute from the front door to take you down the hill to town.
The hotel is above average for a three-star-hotel. You will feel very well!

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reiselustig123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
165 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

The hotel has an impressive fassade on distant pictures and must have been beautiful some seventy years ago, now it needs major investments to reach the faded splendor again. The parking beside the Hotel was strictly for employees only, the guests had to park 300yds further down.The washbasin was in the room, due to the small bathroom (toilet and shower). The room was small, the railings of the balkony were rusty and did not look safe. The common rooms were equipped with cheap furniture, the ashtrays cleaned on demand. Breakfast was simple. The view of the hotel is outstanding and with a lot of money the hotel can be as well. The free self-driving funiculare is unique and a very comfortable way to go downtown Engelberg.
The surrounding scenery is wonderful and worth a couple of days.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rather run down
  • Tips/Secrets — Great with children, they cannot destroy much
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans-Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

In all fairness, this is a nice hotel (clean rooms, friendly staff, great views). However (and it's a BIG however) if you are expecting to soak up Swiss culture and use the German you've been studying, this is defintely NOT the place, at least not in September. You would be better off studying Japanese or Indian before you arrive, because the clientele is overwhelmingly from those countries. Don't get me wrong. India and Japan are two great countries and their people are good people. But when a hotel is completely taken over by huge tours of one or two ethnic groups, individual tourists from other countries tend to get lost in the shuffle. A great part of traveling is the people you meet. The tour people, however, are very involved with each other and do very little mingling with outsiders. (Few, if any, speak German or English.) They eat together, socialize together and, yes, sing together into the night. My wife and I and a German family were the only ones at the hotel who were not part of these tours and we all felt kind of isolated. The restaurant, the bar, the sitting area, the outdoor chlldren's area were all taken over by the hundreds of people (yes hundreds) from the tours. Even the funicular which takes hotel clients up and down the hill to the village below was over-run with tour people, sometimes causing long waits to get up or down. We were told that these tours are booked only during the spring and fall swing seasons, when occupany would otherwise be low. My suggestion would be to contact the hotel before booking to see if these tours will be coming in. If so, do yourself a favor and stay away.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — overwhelmed by tour groups
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away during swing seasons
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank nymayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2006

We stayed at the Terrace as part of a middle-school tour. The view from the hotel is just magnificent. This is an older hotel, but the rooms are in pretty nice shape and very comfortable. It was definitely one of the nicer hotels that we stayed at. The only things that could have been better was the food (just kind of average) and for the internet access to be a bit cheaper (it was something like 4 francs / 15 minutes). Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinaherps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

Wow! 54 music students and parents traveling Europe, tired and cranky from sweltering London and crowded, dirty Paris got a true taste of heaven in this beautiful hotel. The view is outstanding, the breeze through the windows refreshing. This hotel may be older than some but has great charm and clean, comfortable rooms. The food was great, the staff ever pleasant. The big chess set on the front lawn, the furnicular to the hotel, the lovely garden and charming village made this the suprise jewel in our 14 day tour. The hotel was not expensive, or elaborate, but the view of the Alps is worth a fortune. WiFi from the lobby was great. Laundry service (35 euros) was a lifesaver. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2006

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Terrace while traveling with a large group. We were originally supposed to stay around Lake Lucerne, but had to change in order to get all the group together. What a fortunate turn of events. This hotel is so beautiful and the views offered by Mt. Titlus across the way are awe inspiring. Traveling with our group of mostly native Floridians, the snow capped peaks outside our windows were enough to keep us happy. In addition to the view, the food offered was good and filling. The staff couldn't have been more accomodating. However, the bar could have stayed open a little later since there isn't much to offer in Engleberg in the summer. I gather winter is the happening time. The rooms of the main hotel, which was built in the early 1900's, were very large by American standards so you know they were impressive by European ones. Even the newer rooms in the annex were well appointed and easy to move around in. The beds were comfortable. Even the bathrooms had room enough in which to turn around. The small tram to transport you to the bottom of the hill was also a plus for our group. You can't go wrong staying here. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IwantoliveinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#14 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace

Property: Hotel Terrace
Address: Terracestrasse 33, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#7 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Terrace is situated on a south-facing slope in Engelberg and is surrounded by majestic mountains. The hotel is just a short lift ride from the village centre and the bus stop for the free ski shuttle to the cable car station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Terrace Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing