We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read before you book!!”
Review of Hotel Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Terrace
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Read before you book!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We went in a group for a skiing trip and stayed @ this hotel for 3nights. After a journey lasting 18 hours with no sleep or food we arrived @ 5pm great location wonderful scenary and breath-veiws of mount titlis and surroundings. We booked half-board and chicken was served that night for dinner, only being able to eat halal/vegetarian some of us could not eat and therefore went hungry! We informed reception who simply stated you did not tell us and assumed we would all eat what was prepared, and no alternative was offered, the next night we had boiled veg? And next night we specifically asked for fish which was completley inedible. We felt completley humiliated and could simply just head into the village to find all the shops closed @ 6:30? I did not eat properly at all. I did not feel staff were approachable and had second thoughts about ringing the reception bell. The hotel room was fine with great veiws, definatley a room with a veiw excellent. Food wise a 1/10 all 13 of us that went would say the same. Smuggle a burgerking or macdonalds sorted!! Gordon Ramsey were the hell are u?

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shill_doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    155
    50
    22
    20
See reviews for
149
100
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The absolute worst hotel o have ever stayed in my life! Was supposed to be buffet breakfast but got reheated scarmbelled eggs for 4 days straight the receptionist wanted a deposit for everything from an iron to the cues for the pool table. As a vegetarian I was shocked to learn my evening meal was chicken when I asked for a veg option I was told it was chicken or nothing.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wijji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We booked the standard room for 3 days and left after one night in disgust. don’t be fooled by the photos. Worst hotel we have we ever stayed at.
When we walked into the room was faced with possibly the most depressing miserable room we had ever had to stay in. the standard room is extremely tiny , tired , dingy and old. Nothing has been done to these rooms for decades . The bathroom has standing room for one person . In stark contrast to the once grand public reception area. We had a standard room but when we looked at the superior was as bad with the sink outside the bathroom.
There were basically no amenities . Not even a kettle or bar fridge. The wardrobe is just a cavity with an old curtain. There was only 2 single beds pushed together and a small uncomfortable chair. Very little walking room around the beds. .
We were a couple but were not told that it was communal dinning at tables for 8 or more people. Very deceiving as the images the hotel posts show a couple having an intimate dinner on their own. We were told it was impossible to dine at our own table. Its basically a family hotel and more like a holiday style camp for families . Kids running around wild in the foyer , up and down corridors and lifts. When we complained were told that they knew of the problem but could locate the parents.
We decided to leave after breakfast next morning and booked into the Ramada down the road. From the moment we left we felt good about the decision even though they still charged us over 400 CHF for one night and lift passes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

Brilliant location! Very quite and amazing surrounding. Excellent views of the town from the room.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevRadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We arrived with a train and nice thing was a short and pleasant walk till hotel. We had a family room for 3 adults and one 3 years old child. Hotel is nice, old ( need renovation immediately), with outstanding kitchen, friendly staff. We will be back to this hotel if they will change their beds - they are too narrow. Internet works just in lobby. And i was disappointing, that in sauna MUST go in naked ( I am shy person and think that its free choice). But steam bath was very very good ! It was a bit complicated, that safety box is near at reception.
Wonderful kids room - they even aloud us to take games upstairs. Great entertainment. Shows wile you have dinner - outstanding!
Hanging out on terrace , getting tan and whiting for another skiing persons - best thing what I had this spring!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I had a ski weekend in Engelberg with my friends and we had very good time to terrace hotel. The breakfast and the service was very good. It is very convinient since it is close to the train station. Finaly, the view is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanValjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2010

Just spent a long ski weekend in the Terrace Hotel, Engelberg. It must have been a beautiful hotel in its heydey - it's situated above the village, connected to it by lifts and tunnels and is lit up at night in a way that's reminiscent of Harrods (!). The main building has Art Nouveau touches, is stuffed full of antiques (all for sale!) and could be lovely but it all looks really tired. There is a tiny bar adjacent to the huge entrance lobby but the only other bar is in the disco. The main restaurant is like a canteen, packed full of mosly German holidaymakers on all-inclusive deals. There was a real sense of Them and Us between those on the deal and the rest of us who were on B&B and were seated in a quieter side room overlooking the mountain. The buffet dinners are expensive (39SF) and very average but the breakfasts are good. Avoid rooms in the annex - they are tiny and only have showers (and especially the ones nearest the lift, which are very noisy) but do ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazzagear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#10 of 21 in Engelberg
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Engelberg Trail Hotel
Engelberg Trail Hotel
#7 of 21 in Engelberg
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#13 of 21 in Engelberg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace

Property: Hotel Terrace
Address: Terracestrasse 33, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#7 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Terrace is situated on a south-facing slope in Engelberg and is surrounded by majestic mountains. The hotel is just a short lift ride from the village centre and the bus stop for the free ski shuttle to the cable car station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Terrace Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing