We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Views”
Review of Hotel Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Terrace
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Ambala Cantt, Haryana, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent Views”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I went to this little village by the name "Engelberg" in Swiss and stayed at Hotel Terrace. Its just a walk away from railway station. Believe me, this place (Engelberg) is close to heaven. Every nook n corner is picture perfect. The Cable Cars to Mt. Titlis runs from here. The best way to see the village is by foot or cycle ride. This place is adventurers paradise.
Also, the said hotel is perfect to stay with. Beautiful views from balcony and very well thought rooms. Food is sumptuous and staff is warm. Kudos to all.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukhdeepPanesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    156
    51
    22
    20
See reviews for
151
101
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 3 days in Aug 2013........surrounded by the majestic Mt.Titlis, the hotel boasts fantastic views.......the entrance to the hotel is through a tunnel and from there you have to take a lift to reach the hotel. There is only a single lift which was a problem as there are many using it in the mornings......Free wifi is available to all guests......the hotel was once a palace.....we had two indian dj nites.......well which can be termed as average......

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the alps........and better if there is a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhanya_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel to stay in Engelberg. Lovely view of the Swiss Alps from the room. It is a lovely property with great heritage. The way to the hotel is through a tunnel. We had some delicious breakfast and good Indian food. It also has a discotheque which is very lively on Fridays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhartha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Here i Stayed for 3 Days..
Superb Hotel with best location in Engelberg...
Helpfull Staff
Best Indian Food Available Here..
Must Stay Hotel for All Indian..
Even Indian DJ is superb.. specially when you are in switz...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harshil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoued our 3 nights stay in Aug 2013. A very scenic place overlooking Mt.Titlis. Entrance to the hotel is through a tunnel. WiFi is free. Locker facility is useful. Children enjoyed playing in the foreground. You can enjoy tasty Idli, Powa, Upma prepared by Europeans. Truly a delight for travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a very good time in this hotel. Unfortunately we stayed only one night. Some reviews say full of Indians. May be yes. We had a Indian food for dinner which was not bad as I am a Sri lankan. I stayed with my family and my kids were very happy with the hotel. Walking distance to supermarkets. Very good view from our room. Very friendly staff. Warm tea at the reception was like Icene on the cake. Thank you very much to the staff and the management.

Room Tip: Room no 301 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSANTHA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meerut, India
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel is on a Hill
Old heritage building but well maintained
Spacious rooms with a lovely scenic overlooking Snow covered Mount Titlis
Truly a delight for Indian Guest u can Indian Tea,Gala Dinner servings Biryani,Shahi Paneer,Pulses etc & Breakfast everything like in India but served by the Europeans thats makes the unique combination of the two West with East
A Disco-Theque is Bonus even play Indian Tracks
Frequent approach to the Hotel Rooms may be tiresome becoz huge size & long tunnel entrance to the hotel but outside is Swiss Delights everywhere really a Paradise Location in Engelberg with snow covered mountains & Lush Green Highlands
Highly skilled & Polite Staff & Reception
Overall a memorable Stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talib J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#7 of 23 in Engelberg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#11 of 23 in Engelberg
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angels Lodge
The Angels Lodge
#15 of 23 in Engelberg
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#16 of 23 in Engelberg
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace

Property: Hotel Terrace
Address: Terracestrasse 33, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#7 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Terrace is situated on a south-facing slope in Engelberg and is surrounded by majestic mountains. The hotel is just a short lift ride from the village centre and the bus stop for the free ski shuttle to the cable car station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Terrace Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing