We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent mountain view hotel but with minimum services”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Terrace
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Indore, India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent mountain view hotel but with minimum services”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

checked in on 6th june. We were informed how to reach to the hotel. As the hotel is situated on a hill, they have created innovative way to reach to the reception.
Hotel is very old but renovated with latest luxuries. However, the room locks are still with regular keys, which now is very uncommon.

Loved the outside views from the room .......... Mount Titlis can be seen if you have a binocular with you.

Big clean rooms, big hotel...
Pankaj

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PankajIndore_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    151
    49
    22
    19
See reviews for
143
98
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel Terrace is location in Engelberg quite near to the entrance of the Mt Titlis rope way.

The hotel has a a system of tunnels and elevators (2+2) to reach the lobby. The lobby itself is modest and with a few sofa's and a reception.

The rooms are moderately sized with a double bed, and two chairs. A small CRT tv is present in the room. The room does not offer anything more. If you book the rooms facing the mountains, then you will be greeted by fabulous views in the morning.

The bathroom in the hotel is as miniscule as an aircraft toilet. However, a steady flow of hot and cold water is maintained. Cleanliness wise, this is not the cleanest hotel (by european standards). However, Indian budget travellers will find the hotel clean enough.

Hotel Terrace is home to a horde of Indian tourists and it shows in the breakfast/dinner buffet menu. Indian dishes are served here (There is a separate area for europeans with internation cuisine).

The hotel runs an Indian disco twice a week with a below average DJ.

Overall this is a budget hotel and feels so (If you expect 5 star treatment you are in for a surprise). The staff is as polite as anywhere else in Europe.

We had a nice quiet stay there.

Remember that not all rooms have a balcony. Choose one that does.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing Mt Titlis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhishek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We recently stayed with our 2 year old baby. The hotel has a nice view but the staff's behaviors takes always all d beauty. They are rude and unhelpful especially the food staff.

We asked for ice as my baby got a bump, a helper asked to pay a franc for a glass, I said of course. She gave me 4 cubes in a big glass, when I asked her to fill it up she asked me get lost, and I am paying for d cleaning of the glass not for ice cubes. when I argued she took away the ice glass from my hand and didn't give me any.

Then they should advertise to carry our own cutlery and tableware.

And when I asked for the manager from the other staff she informed me very rudely she doesn't know anyone here, she is not the owner nor the manager nor the cook just a person to look after the food.

Really improved the beauty of the alps with their angry and sad faces while serving.

Room Tip: select the alps facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great view of the alps from the balcony. Located amidst the mountains, Hotel Terrace is a great place to stay for tourists as it's situated closer to Mt Titlis and is minutes away from Engelberg Railway station. Entrance to the hotel is through well-lit tunnels which come across as a nice feature. Good food and courteous staff make for a pleasant stay. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvr_0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wake up from your bed and you see the beatiful white caped mountains; it is not a dream, you are looking at Alphs in summer. It is prelude to your visit of mount Titlis.
The place for an Indian visiting Swiss, for some ski sports and adventure. Reaching the hotel itself is an adveture, walking through a cave and couple of lift rides. You are welcom with a hot Indian Chai, in the spacious reception area. Ensure that you take a room facing the Alphs. All rooms are well done and kept clean. This is not important, as you visit the place more to be outside than being inside the room.
All Indians will enjoy the Indian food served here; perhaps the best food in this part of the Swisseerland.

Room Tip: Again, choose a room facing the Alphs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Hotel staff is helpful , its one of the best hotels in this area, indian food is served in the dining hall, there is a disco available with indian jockey at the basement of the hotel
The lift is very cramped and so are the toilets, else everything else is great about this hotel
Free wifi available

Room Tip: the triple rooms doesnt have a direct view of the mountains, opt for a double room instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TilottamaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel terrace in Engelburg Switzerland is a heaven for those who want to visit Mt. Titlis this summer. The two tunnels and two lifts joins the hotel to road level, its amazing. The comfort of room amenities and window view of Mt. Titlis (along with the Gandola) makes it unique. The room temperature is quite comfortable as compared to the outside temperature of -4* Celsius. Food is quite ok. The hotel is situated at very beautiful location. Go.. enjoy the heaven if it is possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sureshv428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Engelberg
#9 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terrace

Property: Hotel Terrace
Address: Terracestrasse 33, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Engelberg
#7 Family Hotel in Engelberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Terrace is situated on a south-facing slope in Engelberg and is surrounded by majestic mountains. The hotel is just a short lift ride from the village centre and the bus stop for the free ski shuttle to the cable car station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Terrace Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing