We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hell freezes over!!”
Review of Mount Titlis

Mount Titlis
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$96.49*
and up
Mount Titlis Cable Car Ticket in Engelberg
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: TITLIS is the jewel in Central Switzerland's crown and the only publicly accessible glacier in the area. You will feel on top of the world as you take in the spectacular panoramic views of snow-covered mountains and unspoilt Alpine landscapes.The TITLIS ski area is home to more than 80 kilometres of pistes, with slopes to suit every ability. The season lasts from October until May. And in the summer, the mountain is a mecca for hikers and outdoor enthusiasts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hell freezes over!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

It doesn't just freeze....it takes you to three levels and freezes you at the summit of the mountain!! You will feel like a chicken being stashed away into the freezer and coming down is like and entire thawing process. No matter how many layers you have on your layer of natural skin, it just manages to find a way to penetrate through!!
However, please do not get discouraged by the opinion above, this is just the way to how you get to the top and the view and experience are worth this ordeal!! Three cablecars and the last one is the main one called the ROTAIR!! It has the welcome message in many languages, including Hindi....yes Hindi!!
On the top, you have a whole lot of activites vizz the Ice Flyer which is a gondola and cable car all rolled into one, sno nuts which is basically a float which you sit on and literally hold onto and toboggan down the slope, skiing, just making snow men and blasting each other with snowballs!!
However, you can get into their warm restaurant and order some Swiss specialities and good ol' hot chocolate complete with marshmallows in it. You can also have some....and I kid you not, Movenpick icecream and also have an opportunity to get yourself clicked in traditional Swiss attire.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank thegothicgoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,648
    445
    84
    31
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a Fantastic day”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We went by coach tour from Lucernce we had beautiful weather even the drive there was great passing the lovely towns, to the mountain resort town of Engelberg where the breath taking journey skywards began, the Alps and their unmatched views from such great heights, were fantastic you could hear the bells on the cattle it sounded like a movie, we Boarded the rotating cable car for panoramic views of alpine glaciers and ice boulders as you ascend about 10,000 feet to the summit, and we had a ride on the ice flyer, the cold was a bit of a shock and it was strange a first getting used to a total white out but then the glaceirs and boulders came in view and the cravats we beautifull. on the top we used the snow tubes to slid sown the bottom and thankfully there is a escalator to take you back to the top, on the way back we check out the ice grotto is was lovely just a great day.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank belinda1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Panoramic… worth every bit of it.”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Didn’t have much time, so booked a tour, to make things easy. I reckon mine was about 150 CHF or so…
The tour to Titlis includes, going to Lucerne, Engelberg and finally Titlis. The journey through the Swiss country side is quite a sight.
It takes three different cable cars to get to the top of Titlis, the last one (for about 5 mins or so) is the much evangelized rotating cable car.
The view throughout the cable car ride is spectacular. Especially, the transition from the picturesque green valley’s to the snow clad giants.
When you are on top, spend some time to soak the beauty of the Alps.
Make sure you take the Ice flyer! This is a seated, open air, cable car ride. Try the ice cave, it’s quite modest, but a good experience.
Going on a good day is almost a must to enjoy this place, so be certain to check the forecast.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jeromelloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Views - Great day trip from Luzern”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We caught the train to Engelberg and enjoyed the great scenery along the way. Once there, we made our way to Titlis Rotair - and enjoyed all 3 cable cars up the mountain.
At the top, breathtaking views of the area were afforded, and it was fun to plod around in the snow. Unfortunately their Summer season had just finished, so we couldn't try the Glacier Fun Park =( Lovely all the same, and we'd do it again for the views.
On the way down, we stopped at Trubsee, and did the walk around the lake. Its only supposed to take 40 minutes, but if you enjoy the peace and taking photos like we do - well, I think we spent close to 2 hours there. Really amazing - and we really loved it!
Quick Tip: Bring your own drinks up the mountain as they are quite pricey at the top!! There is a coop supermarket in Engelberg where you can get your drinks before heading up!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank leefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, incredible views!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I went with a group tour from Zurich, which was really great. The guide told us all about Switzerland on the way there, and helped us with the way up the mountain, which took about 45 mins because we had to take a small cable car, a large cable car and then a rotating cable car to get all the way to the top. The views from all stages of the journey were fantastic. If you want to experience the Swiss mountains in a day trip, I highly recommend Mt. Titlis; snow is guaranteed all year round, the views were just spectacular, there's an ice flyer that takes you over the glacier and back, and there is an entrance into the manmade glacier caves below which were definitely an interesting experience! The restaurants available were expensive, but so is everything in Switzerland, and they had good, filling, traditional foods in large servings. Highly recommended to bring sunglasses with you as well, as the snow is quite bright in the sun, and the sunglasses avaible in the store were very expensive.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank E D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Titlis also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden
 

Been to Mount Titlis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing