We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply stunning!”
other travelers have booked this property
Apartment A  Private Covered HOT TUB with stunning views of the 'Titllis' Mountain (3200m)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment A  Private Covered HOT TUB with stunning views of the 'Titllis' Mountain (3200m)
Apartment A  Living Area with Breathtaking Panoramic Views through Floor to Ceiling Windows ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking. Apartment A is on the Middle Floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Apartment A  Private Covered HOT TUB with stunning views of the 'Titllis' Mountain (3200m)
Apartment A  Living Area with Breathtaking Panoramic Views through Floor to Ceiling Windows
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking. Apartment A is on the Middle Floor
Apartment A  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment A  Living Area  180- degree View
ALPHAVEN  featuring Apartment A's Terrace and Private Covered HOT TUB
Apartment A  Living Area featuring Office Space & Reading Area
Apartment A   Fully equipped Kitchen and Dining area
Apartment A  Office Area
Apartment A  Master Bedroom with Stunning Morning Views and Sunshine
Apartment A  Very Spacious Terrace with gorgeous Views across Engelberg to 'Mount Titlis' (3200m)
Apartment A  Very spacious Luxury Bathroom
ALPHAVEN Winter
Apartment A  Reading Area
Apartment A   Living Area and  Front Balcony
View from Apartment A  Engelberg at Dusk
Apartment A  Office Space & Reading Area
Apartment A  Sitting Area with Log Burning Fireplace
Apartment A  Master Bedroom with Stunning Panoramic Views and Morning Sunshine
ALPHAVEN   Front view of the house (Apartment A is on the middle floor)
Apartment A  Sitting Area with wonderful views surrounding you
View from Apartment A  The Hahnen Mountain (originally named Engelberg or Angel Mountain)
Apartment A   Sitting Area   WINTER
View from Apartment A  the mighty Titlis Mountain (3200 meters) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Apartment A  Private HOT TUB with Breathtaking Views   WINTER
View from Apartment A  Top of Church spire in low mist
View from Apartment A   WINTER  Tree in front of the house
Apartment A  Stunning View from the Sofa!!
ALPHAVEN  Winter Morning (Alphaven is on the left)
Apartment A  Living Area featuring Log Burning Fire
Apartment A  Sitting Area with absolutely Breathtaking Panoramic Views ... the best in Switzerland
View form Apartment A   ENGELBERG
ALPHAVEN    Summer
View from Apartment A   The mighty Titlis Mountain (3200 metres)
View from Apartment A   The Benedictine Monastery Church at dusk
View from Apartment A   Daybreak
View from Apartment A   The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marcats
Torpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Alphaven apartment A in mid November and had the most amazing time!

The apartment overlooks the village of Engelberg and the view is simply stunning – any pictures you see on-line don’t quite do it justice! The apartment itself is an absolute gem, everything you need is there and it is beautiful, stylish, and very, very cosy with the log fire glowing inside and the snow falling outside! We generally eat out a lot when on holiday but managed it only once during our stay due to the stunning views and comfort of the apartment. I celebrated my birthday whilst there and had one of the most memorable ever by taking the cable cars up to Mount Titlis (10,000 feet up) in the morning (well worth the cost and the effort), soaking in the private hot tub on our verandah in the afternoon with a glass of bubbly with snow all around, and a delicious meal at the Alpen Club in the evening (only a 15 minute walk from the apartment). The bar and restaurant were very cosy and welcoming and the food was delicious and the service excellent.

We experienced so many different views from the apartment during our stay due to the changing weather patterns, it really was spectacular. There was a lot of snow on our arrival and we were lucky enough to have several snow showers during our stay adding to the magical feel of the place. The village is quaint, simple and very friendly and there is an excellent co-op supermarket which sells everything you could need.

We also visited and stayed in Gruyeres on our trip to Switzerland and if you are a fan of Alien then this is a must as the H R Giger bar and museum are really amazing and well worth an overnight stay in the lovely medieval village.

We could go on forever as somewhere like this is a rarity indeed. If you’re thinking of going, don’t think anymore - just book it. I spotted this apartment on-line several years ago and wish we hadn’t waited so long to make the trip! We are already talking about returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxury-li...
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great apartment - spacious and modern with perfect views”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks in late August - had a great time hiking the local mountains as well as near by Mt Pilatus. The apartment is huge - great for 2 people with excellent outdoor areas and of course spectacular views.

Keep in mind it's at least a 10-15 minute walk into the center of town using the shortcut walking track which is only suitable for daylight walking (i.e. a bit rough and not lighted) - you can walk on the road which is a bit longer. A taxi back to the apartment costs either 15 or 20 EUR (we were charged different rates on the 2 times we took a taxi home after having dinner in town). Of course you could walk home or drive into town for dinner but it seemed like a pretty long up hill slog at 9:30pm on a very cool evening after an excellent dinner (at Spannort) and a couple glass of wine (why did not just drive into town).

The onsite managers were extremely friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning apartment and views
Liked least: Cost of taxis from town back to apartment
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire...
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

It is difficult to add any more superlatives to what already has been written. We stayed for 2 nights with our two teenage daughters. Whilst there is only one bedroom they slept in temporary beds in the lounge. Everything about the apartment is pure luxury and if there is a better view in the Alps I'd like to know about it. The one slight downside is the prices in Engelberg, a fondue for 4 persons cost us over £150. Despite this I would love to return in the Ski season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote control bed and the view from it!
Liked least: The price of meals in Engelberg
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samer972
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Marvellous View”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We came to Alphaven and stayed at apartment C on August this year, I came with my wife and two boys kids. First, I would say that the view of the engelberg town with the maountains from the Balcony was stunning, It was even changing several times during the day according to the weather. The apartment was very clean, anything you need was there. John the owner was very organized, and he explained every thing you need in a booklet inside the house. I strongly recommend to come and see the area and stayed in Alphaven apartments and I hope we can visit this place again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee...
knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Incredible Vacation Rental”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Alphaven is beyond description....the pictures cannot capture the true beauty of Engelberg and the quality of this home. Nestled high on a mountain looking down on the quaint village of Engelberg, this home offers spectacular views with floor to ceiling glass doors that open to a wonderful deck. It is truly a luxurious vacation home with wonderful furnishings, well equipped kitchen, and free WIFI. We loved every minute of our stay. The owner, John O'Brien, was VERY helpful offering lots of suggestions for the area. He quickly responded to all of my inquires and there was a wonderful couple on site to help with any concerns. One thing to keep in mind, the home is on three levels so there are quite a few steps which might be an issue for older renters. Thank you John for sharing your gorgeous home with us...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hene L
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing views from the apartment”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We only had a short stay in Alphaven as a small getaway from a different part of Switzerland but it was a nice experience. The views are truly spectacular from every window of the apartment A. The drive up to the place is fairly steep and very narrow so I would not want to meet somebody coming up or down on the way or do it in winter :) But the views are really worth it. Apartment itself was very comfortable and lovely in every aspect. It is a small apartment block, so you will hear and see people above and under you. Engelberg itself is a lovely little village and cablecars to both Titlis and Brunni are just there so plenty to do around. To be recommended for a truly Swiss experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill W
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Stunning location & amazing views!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in Alphaven for 5 nights in June & were bowled over with the wonderful views from every room & window (of which there were plenty)! There was everything in the apartment that we could have wanted to make our stay just perfect. The walk into town took approx 10 mins & a little longer coming back up as it is fairly steep & many steps but if you're reasonably fit then really no problem at all. The Co-op supermarket is large & well stocked & there's a lovely Deli (quite expensive but very good quality & definitely cheaper than eating out!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing