We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It's just a brilliant scene :)”
other travelers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony Ideal for Alfresco Dining.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony Ideal for Alfresco Dining.
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony Ideal for Alfresco Dining.
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Stairs to Apartment C
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views of Engelberg and Mountains
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C - Living Area & Kitchen
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Janak T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's just a brilliant scene :)”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The location is heaven the placement of the occomodation is brilliant and the apartment is exactly how it's stated...brilliant place to be and would recommend fully. Did not want to leave !!

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana P
Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A spot of heaven”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Alphaven was the best part of our three week journey in Europe. We stayed in Paris, Switzerland, Munich, Salzburg, Prague, and hands down we all loved our stay in Engelberg the most. It is an adorable town surrounded by wild alps. It was so relaxing hiking and hanging out in the hot tub after a fun day in the mountains. Alp haven was such a welcoming place to stay. Thank you!

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike s
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Great views, and accommodations.”
Reviewed February 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We had an excellent time. There were 14 in our party and we all had plenty a room. The hike up and down to the town was a little rough on the older folks but we just got a taxi we needed. I would highly recommend this rental. We would all love to return here someday perhaps in the winter.

Date of stay: August 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markus W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scenic views guaranteed, a perfect dream”
Reviewed February 11, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were staying with our 2 children (8y/5y) over the turn of the year at this locations. Very nice furnished and equipped apartment with a perfect scenic view at any time, really wonderful. Especially as Engelberg became a winter wonder land with lots of snow exactly at our day of arrival. By the way snow chains for your car are really mandatory, 4x4 drive is clearly not enough. Our children could play everywhere around the house at the hillside in the snow. There are several trails next to the apartment which make even the walk up and down to the village an exciting winter adventure. We would be delighted to return to this apartment not matter if in winter or summer.

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vickigold...
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Alps!”
Reviewed January 23, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Alphaven for Christmas and had a wonderful time- Our adult 22, 24 yo girls and my husband stayed for a week in Apt B- ( we were in B i believe - it is the lowest level at bottom) and we should have booked more days! I made mistake of going to Lugano for last 3 days of trip, thinking we would get tired of a small town like Engelberg. Instead we would have loved more time here and still never did all we wanted to! We met some locals and loved the skiing/snowboarding, walking, eating and running and just staring out at the majestic view from the Apt The views literally brings tears to your eyes. Loves ALPSCHMAUS cafe for greast crepes and sandwiches and less pricey meal, hot chocolate with real chocolate and milk etc.
We made fondue one night with their fondue pot for dinner! Ate out the rest of time ( it is very expensive for meals - double USA's costs but delicious!!) So you can cook in kitchen To Owner John- could you please add an attachment for your coffee grinder plug as it won't fit the outlet in wall; may have been lost? But coffee maker work etc. works!
We had no snow in valley first days which was pretty and green and then it snowed on Christmas! Magical. Got best of both worlds. I definitely suggest having a car to go up to apt and down as its a twisty, steep walk up and down to do if more then 1 time a day. Except for those of you who love hiking and walking up hill a lot! You can take stairs down part of way and then the Terrace Hotel below has an elevator we used for the bottom 1/3 ( if that was allowed??)
DO get chains if there's snow though or you will slide on the steep, tight corners like we did Luckily no harm done. We had thought the Snow Tires put on our rental were enough but alas- no!
The view from up here is worth having a car and I wouldn't stay in town because of this exceptional view from above, lovely apt and cleanliness, nice furnishings... I felt like we were looking down at Who Ville (Grinch who Stole Christmas)! and all lit up at night was great too.
We loved driving in to Luzern to as so close and easy/ pretty drive!
The plus about Apt B ( bottom level ) is that its got no deck bars to "block" any views when seated, even though you are lower in this apt. as compared to A and the top apts above, so each apt may have its own advantage. And our apt has the toasty warm floors from heating below them Dried up our ski gloves well nightly! GO and ENJOY soon.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort, having a kitchen
Liked least: Hmmmm Maybe the art work? Would have loved pictures of Switzerland in various seasons.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar4...
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Panorama”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Alphaven looks over the Engelberg valley and has a 360 degree vista of the surrounding mountains. Apartment A boasts a hot tub which is perfect after a hard day's skiing or hiking.
The apartment is an easy walk from the village and ski lifts. A ski bus passes by.
The apartment fully equipped and is a home away from home.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View of the mountains
Liked least: Climb from village
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryantmon...
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Amazing view! Great location! Perfect for a family of 5! Owners are very helpful!”
Reviewed December 23, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My wife does most of the planning and came upon this property online. She said to me, "Look at this view! Do you think it's that good in person?!" Well, let me tell you... it's better. The view and location cannot be overstated. The drive up to the house could be a little treacherous if the weather is bad, but the journey up the hill (and up the stairs to the apartment) are worth it!

We had 3 teenagers with us, and the sleeping accomodations were perfect... the two boys in the 2 single beds and our daughter in the loft. The kitchenette is not really for big meals, but we just did breakfast in the room and we were out and about during lunch and dinner. It served as a great home base during our few days in Switzerland.

The owner's are very helpful, before and during the stay, and we felt like we had great instructions on how to get the place, where to get our key, etc. Overall, we could not have been happier!

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The stairs at the end of a long day
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing