We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking Spot in Engelberg”
other travelers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  View from the Front  (Apartment C is on the Upper Floor)
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The house in Winter with stunning views
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 showing Ladder Steps to Loft Area
ALPHAVEN  Bedroom 2  Loft Area (King Size Double Bed)
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
Stairs to Apartment C
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C  Living Area
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
Apartment C  Bedroom 2 with Loft Area above
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
Engelberg ALPHAVEN in Winter with stunning panoramic views
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views over Engelberg
Engelberg ALPHAVEN   Apartment C   Bedroom 2
Apartment C   Living Area & Kitchen   WINTER
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
dmuoser
Dobbs Ferry, New York
2 reviews
“Breathtaking Spot in Engelberg”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We have an amazing weekend (3 night spot in Engelberg) in Apartment B of Alphaven. The house really lives up to the name, as it has all the amenities, with an amazing location, and great atmosphere. The apartment is a walk or 3 minute drive to the town and ski slopes, but that is far from all. Amazing panoramic views accompany all bedrooms, as well as access to a great sauna. All of the furniture and appliances are new, and there is also access to extensive digital TV channels if you would like them. Overall an amazing place to stay in Engelberg, with a fantastic rate for what you receive.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denson83
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Picture perfect scenery for a white Xmas. The weather changes pretty quickly and it's like you are watching a documentary from your terrace. One hour it's all clear with the snow capped mountains and village and the next the whole village disappears amidst the fog leaving the snow capped mountains exposed. Its like you are floating amidst the clouds. All right in front of your eyes. If there's one thing I have to pick on then it's the pillows. Oh yes, one more thing. Try to put this as the last stop of your trip, otherwise the rest of the hotels will be disappointing in comparison.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Swiss Experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed for 3 nights in Alphaven Apartment C last October 2013. I am with my 2 brothers and parents who are both in their 60s. We were awestruck by this wonderful wonderful apartment in Engelberg. Just to give an idea on how enamored we are by this place: my mother has mobility problems and uses a wheelchair, understandably she got discouraged upon seeing the flight of stairs she needs to hurdle going up apartment C. She decided to go up and stay for one night. But upon reaching the apartment and after taking a good look at the place and the amazing view from the balcony of the snow capped mountains, she did not bat an eyelash to say that she decided to stay in the apartment for the whole 3 nights we are booked! She has endured the stairs because the ambience of the place and the hospitality of the owners John and Ursula were all worth it.
The apartment was well equipped and that's where we decided to celebrate the birthdays of my parents. We were able to buy a nice bday cake from the town for the event. We also cooked our own meals and it allowed us do some laundry since Switzerland is just the 3rd leg of our 5-country European holiday. Alphaven Apartment C was just perfect! We especially loved waking up to the view of the Swiss mountains Mt. Titlis and Brunni. As well as hearing the monastery bells ring every so often and the sheep bells ring from the hillside outside the room. They are music to our ears.
After returning home to Manila, Philippines, most of our friends were telling us that the best holiday pictures they saw in our facebook albums were those of Engelberg and Alphaven.

John and Ursula - thank you so much for sharing with us Alphaven C and allowing us to experience a great vacation in Switzerland. We will definitely recommend this place to our friends. We really really hope to come back again soon! God bless!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the apartment itself, view and location
Liked least: the stairs but only for persons with mobility requirements
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley T
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“Just what we needed.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Although the weather was cloudy and cold, the apartment was a perfect place to spend sometime relaxing together with family. Completely relaxing and peaceful. The owners were more than accommodating and made everything so effortless. We will most definitely be back! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrie220...
Alstonville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“brilliant!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I and two children stayed in this beautiful apartment for three nights. Not long enough! We had a car and when we found the property we were so amazed at the magnificent view and we hadn't even gone inside! The apartment is such a lovely place to stay in. Its very comfortable and clean. The view inside is something you would never get sick of. Its up on a hill so you can see all of Engelberg and you have Mt Titlis right there. This was a great day trip up to the mountain and even more special as my children had never seen or touched snow before. The town is small, quiet and friendly. Its also easy to catch a train to Lucern. John and Ursula are lovely and I had no problems with booking and they will answer any questions. They were there the day we arrived and John was very welcoming and gave us ideas of places to go. This place is a gem and I hope one day to return. I would definately recommend this to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great view
Liked least: Not staying long enough!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay in an amazing location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed in Apartment C with my new wife on our honeymoon for 5 nights. The apartment itself was perfect, everything we could have possibly wanted from a self-catering stay. The views from the balconies were stunning, looking over Engelberg, itself a very beautiful village. There are well-signposted walking trails right outside the building which we used on a fantastic walk further up into the hills. Candy who lives downstairs was really welcoming and helpful too.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay here in a beautiful part of the world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The walk backup from the village (although was good exercise!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver B
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Fantastic apartment in a stunning setting”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We visiting Engelberg with our 5 month old and chose Alphaven as a treat for the end of a 10 week European sabbatical. We were so glad we did! The view is simply unparalleled and we spent many afternoons gazing out over the town. The apartment was very well equipped and John and Ursula were very kind and responsive. Candy who lives downstairs was also super friendly and helped us with any requests. The town itself is beautiful and we loved walking down the mountain every day. We had a fantastic meal at the Alpen Club in town and enjoyed the swimming pool (indoors - the out door one is freezing!) and the Sports Centre as well as taking the gondola and plenty of beautiful walks. A day trip to Luzern was also very rewarding. We highly recommend both Engelberg and Alphaven if you are looking to enjoy some fresh air and family fun. Also a lovely place for a couple looking to enjoy time together in a beautiful, romantic setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing