We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“brilliant!”
other travelers have booked this property
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony Ideal for Alfresco Dining.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony Ideal for Alfresco Dining.
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Apartment C  Covered Front Balcony Ideal for Alfresco Dining.
ALPHAVEN  Front of House featuring Garage Parking.  Apartment C is on the Upper Floor
Apartment C  Living Area featuring beautifully hand crafted Timbered Roof
Apartment C  Bedroom 1 featuring Side Balcony
Apartment C  Stunning Views from the Dining Area
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Engelberg ALPHAVEN    Apartment C   Kitchen Area
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
Stairs to Apartment C
Apartment C  Bedroom 2
View from Apartment C  WINTER  Engelberg at Dusk
View from Apartment C   The Titlis Mountain (3200 metres) with rainbow Cloud
ALPHAVEN  Summer
View from Apartment C  The Hahnen Mountain (formerly 'Engelberg' or Angel Mountain)
Apartment C Covered Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views of Engelberg and Mountains
Apartment C  Front Balcony with Breathtaking Panoramic Views
View form Apartment C  The top of the Monastery Church in low mist
View from Apartment C SUMMER
Apartment C  View of the Hahnen Mountain (Engelberg) form the Dining Area
View from Apartment C  WINTER
Apartment C - Living Area & Kitchen
Engelberg ALPHAVEN The House in Summer with panoramic views across Engelberg
View from Apartment C   Daybreak
View from Apartment C  The Spannort Mountain at Dusk
View from Apartment C  WINTER  The mighty Titlis Mountain
Engelberg ALPHAVEN  The Monastery viewed from Apartment C at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Engelberg, Canton of Obwalden

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
kerrie220...
Alstonville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“brilliant!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I and two children stayed in this beautiful apartment for three nights. Not long enough! We had a car and when we found the property we were so amazed at the magnificent view and we hadn't even gone inside! The apartment is such a lovely place to stay in. Its very comfortable and clean. The view inside is something you would never get sick of. Its up on a hill so you can see all of Engelberg and you have Mt Titlis right there. This was a great day trip up to the mountain and even more special as my children had never seen or touched snow before. The town is small, quiet and friendly. Its also easy to catch a train to Lucern. John and Ursula are lovely and I had no problems with booking and they will answer any questions. They were there the day we arrived and John was very welcoming and gave us ideas of places to go. This place is a gem and I hope one day to return. I would definately recommend this to anyone.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great view
Liked least: Not staying long enough!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel C
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic stay in an amazing location”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed in Apartment C with my new wife on our honeymoon for 5 nights. The apartment itself was perfect, everything we could have possibly wanted from a self-catering stay. The views from the balconies were stunning, looking over Engelberg, itself a very beautiful village. There are well-signposted walking trails right outside the building which we used on a fantastic walk further up into the hills. Candy who lives downstairs was really welcoming and helpful too.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay here in a beautiful part of the world.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The walk backup from the village (although was good exercise!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver B
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Fantastic apartment in a stunning setting”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We visiting Engelberg with our 5 month old and chose Alphaven as a treat for the end of a 10 week European sabbatical. We were so glad we did! The view is simply unparalleled and we spent many afternoons gazing out over the town. The apartment was very well equipped and John and Ursula were very kind and responsive. Candy who lives downstairs was also super friendly and helped us with any requests. The town itself is beautiful and we loved walking down the mountain every day. We had a fantastic meal at the Alpen Club in town and enjoyed the swimming pool (indoors - the out door one is freezing!) and the Sports Centre as well as taking the gondola and plenty of beautiful walks. A day trip to Luzern was also very rewarding. We highly recommend both Engelberg and Alphaven if you are looking to enjoy some fresh air and family fun. Also a lovely place for a couple looking to enjoy time together in a beautiful, romantic setting.

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing view
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OGBLaw
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! (And the VIEWS!!)”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in May 2012

If you are reading the review, I assume you have already reviewed the pictures of the vacation owner's website. The pictures give this place NO JUSTICE. These apartments are immensely more breathtaking--no, jaw-dropping--in person, primarily because of the views.

Ofcourse, the apartment (Apartment B) was clean, spacious, decorated with modern comfortable decor. The owners have thought of everything imaginable that you may want/need for a perfect, comfy vacation.

But the views! Wow! I cannot say enough about the views. The apartments sit high above the town of Engelburg nestled in the Swiss Alps. The floor to ceiling doors from every single room provide an uninterrupted, heavenly view of the entire Engelburg town and the Swiss Alps.

I hope to visit Switzerland again soon for no reason other than to stay in John and Ursela's wonderful property.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylifemyg...
south hadley
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING! Would come back again to this piece of paradise”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our family of four stayed in apartment B for one week in May 2013. The pictures did not do the experience of the view or the cleanliness and ease of the apartment justice. The simplicity and design of this apartment was a perfect getaway to escape to after a long day of travelling throughout Switzerland. The beds were super comfortable, the kitchen well equipped with everything needed for preparing dinner or simply having a wonderful fondue and a bottle of wine. The bells from the monastery were beautiful and added to the ambiance and the beauty of this paradise. Although the weather was not cooperating the week we were there we still enjoyed our stay immensely and the view from the apartment of the village below was breathtaking with a light snowfall. Candy was wonderful assisting us with suggestions and ideas for travelling and the train depot was close by and the train was our mode of transportation during the week. The people living in the village of Engelberg could not have been nicer and made us feel welcomed into their small community of 4,000. We would absolutely rent this beautiful apartment again from John and Ursula. They were really great to work with to make this rental happen and communicated quickly and openly. Thank you both for sharing your beautiful home with our very lucky family of four!

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything - the view, amenities, ease of living, comfort of beds/bedding, privacy
Liked least: the drive up to the house was a little hairy at first but eventually got used to it. :-)
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd D
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great way to end a vacation!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at two other aparments during our trip to Europe and Alphaven was, by far, the best overall. It was very relaxing and clean with beautiful views day and night. We would love to come back in the future to hike some more trails!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, cleanliness and hospitality of hosts
Liked least: One bathroom
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derivera
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed in Apartment B and were amazed with the view from the panorama windows overlooking the mountains and valley of Engelberg... The hosts were very friendly and did everything possible to make us enjoy our stay. The flat had everything we needed and there was also a shared sauna in the house for the guests to use. The house is a 3 min walk from the bus stop from which you can go to the Titlis main lift in under 10 minutes.
We would definitely recommend Alphaven to anyone!

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view!
Liked least: all was good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing