We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is absolutely fantastic. I went for lunch with my partner and got the 3 course meal of the day. Everything that came out was brilliant. First was a salmon salad, second was this beautiful mushroom with cream soup (it doesn't sound like much but it blew me away). Lastly was a thai chicken stir fry. Again this meal was cooked to perfection. Super tasty.

If you go there i strongly recommend the local Engelberg beer called Klosterbraü.

A must try if you are staying in Engelberg. The reviews do not lie!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Jack F,

Greetings from the mountains and your Spannort Team!

Thank you so much for taking your time reviewing your visit at the À la Carte Spannort Restaurant.

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that you got to try the local beer! :) Your review and comments are passed on to our Kitchen Team, thank you so much for taking your time writing us a review!

We are looking forward welcoming you to the Spannort another time soon!

Kindest Regards from your Spannort Team

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 175 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We came across this restaurant wondering if it was open (we came to Engelberg on a Wednesday and most things aren't open until Thursdays) and when we walked in we were treated by a very friendly waiter who seated us. We looked at the menu and had the waiter help us find out what the dishes were in English and ordered 3 courses for 33CHF which we found to be a decent price. My partner ordered the salad, soup and main, I ordered the salad, main and desert. All meals were A+ and extremely delicious, we cannot fault any of the dishes. They were very well presented. We also tried the Engelberger Klosterbrau which was an excellent beer (on recommendation from the waiter) all in all
Meals: 5 star
Service: 5 star
English speaking staff: 5 star
Beer: 5 star
Price: 5 star.
Would definitely return!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Natasha M,

Greetings to Down-under from Spannort and Engelberg!

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking your time to review the À la Carte Spannort Restaurant. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal, that the service was good and that you enjoyed the local beer. One of our favorites as well! :) We will pass on your kind words to our restaurant team! Thank you so much!

We hope to see you at Spannort soon again!

Warmest Regards from your whole Spannort Team

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at Spannort for three nights at the end of our two week honeymoon. We originally intended to spend our last three nights in Paris, but fell in love with the town of Engelberg on a day trip from Lucerne. The Spannort was everything we could have hoped for and more. The family that runs the hotel is warm and welcoming. The hotel has been impeccably remodeled. The rooms have gorgeous woodwork and the details everywhere are a perfect mix of quaint and modern.

We were upgraded from a standard room to the next level. The room was not large but had a nice balcony and the interior space is used very well. Our room had a table and benches built in and many options for storage. The shower was wonderfully hot and had great water pressure. Breakfast in the morning is included and wi-fi is free. The internet speed was quite good. Breakfast is continental style and consists of coffee, tea, yogurt, pastries, some sliced meat and cheese and fruit. It is simple but fresh and good.

We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and it was amazing! We had their Chateaubriand, and even by big city steakhouse standards it was truly outstanding. The vegetables and salad were fresh and delicious. The wine list had a wide selection of Swiss wines and some other European wines as well.

I hate to offer any criticisms of such a beautiful place, but as an honest tripadvisor reviewer I always try to find somewhere where room for improvement might be had. Here, it would be the bed. Although it was a king size bed, it seems typical in swiss hotels to put two twin beds together, and also to use two small comforters instead of one big one. I am sure there are good practical reasons for doing this, but being on my honeymoon and all I would have preferred a bed more conducive to snuggling. The mattress was not a traditional thick mattress but something more thin (maybe four or five inches). I was so tired from skiing most days I slept quite well, but I can see how I would get irritated with the mattress if it was an extended stay.

The owners have an adorable honor bar system in the lobby. You can serve yourself coffee, tea, liquor or even take a bottle of wine or a snack. You are on your honor to record what you have taken. I thought this was quite a nice convenience and a welcome departure from the high tech mini-bars that record what you have taken the moment it is lifted out of its place.

One more comment... the hotel is about a three block walk from the train station. We found this manageable even with luggage, but we are young and healthy and it was not snowing the day we arrived.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jabentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Jabentley,

Warm greetings from Spannort and Engelberg!
A big thank you for your lovely review and for taking your time to write it.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel as well as the food in the restaurant. Our Chief is a very creative guy and his steaks are dangerously good. We promise to pass on your compliments to him and his team!

We would also like to adress our appreciation for your feedback regarding the mattresses. It is important feedback that we need to be able to improve our hotel. We have taken notice of your feedback and will see what we could do to improve this in the future. Thank you very much!

Thank you once again for your review and valuable feedback!

We are looking forward seeing you soon again in Engelberg and Spannort!

Have a great summer!

Kind Regards from your whole Spannort Team

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at the lovely Spannort Hotel in Engelberg. It was our second trip there and it proved to be as comfortable and friendly as we remembered. The hotel is spotless and the service is exceptional. We would not hesitate to go again and had a great time in this fantastic resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Sam M,

Greeting from Engelberg and your Spannort Team!

Thank you so much for taking your time to review your stay @ Spannort.
We are so glad to see/read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found everything comfortable and good. I will pass on your comments about the spotless-cleaning to our housekeeping staff! Thank you!

We hope that you had a great winter and maybe even got to enjoy some more skiing!

Once again, thank you for taking your time to write us an review! We are already looking forward welcoming you back to Spannort and Engelberg soon again.

Warm Regards from your whole Spannort Team

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Spannort suite for 3 nights. It's a family run business and people are very friendly and offered help whenever needed. Since it was no skiing season yet, there was no public transport. The own actually took me to the base station for skiing. The room was cozy and spaceous. The breakfast is more than adequate. Coffee was great. The restaurant also serves very good food. This is the best place I ever stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Paul L,

Greetings from Engelberg!

A warm and big thank you for taking your time and reviewing your stay at Spannort.

We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service during the pre-season. We are all very enthusiastic about the skiing and always want to make sure that our guests can enjoy it too even though the public busses yet not run. :-)

Thank you once again for taking your time reviewing your stay. We are very much looking forward seeing you in the future again! Take good care and see you soon!

Kind Regards from the whole Spannort Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay at the Spannort was comfortable and enjoyable. When we arrived we were greeted by Stefan who was very kind and even upgraded our room without our asking. The room was pleasant and had the atmosphere of a cabin with natural wood on the walls, floor and ceiling. It was impeccably clean and we felt that we had our own private getaway in the Swiss Alps. At night we were able to leave our windows open and it was very quiet. The next morning we had breakfast in the cozy dinning area and the selection was plentiful. The young lady who serviced the dining room was pleasant and helpful. Overall our stay at the Spannort exceeded our expectations and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SLCUTTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear SLCUTTRAVELER,

Thank you very much for taking your time writing a review about your recent stay with us!
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, our service and that we could even exceed your expectations. Thank you so much for all your kind words!

We really hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey!


It would be a real pleasure welcoming you back to Engelberg and Spannort soon again!


Kind Regards from your Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is a real find. Not only wonderful design, a first class restaurant, and a great location, but also impeccable service. Stefan the manager immediately made us feel comfortable and welcome, providing a phone charger, mailing letters and finally researching and printing our fairly complicated travel arrangements for the next day. It was like being in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markyoungberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Markyoungberlin,

Thank you very very much for your kind and nice review about your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that our service was to your full satisfaction.

We really hope that you enjoyed the rest of your journey and that you finally got home well!

It would be us a real pleasure to welcome you back to Engelberg and Spannort soon again!

Wish you a great start of the winter and take good care both of you!

Kind Regards from your Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
284 reviews
0 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alpenclub
Hotel Alpenclub
#14 of 23 in Engelberg
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#3 Green Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: $287 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spannort Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant in Engelberg: a traditional Swiss hotel (20 rooms, 35 beds) and restaurant with a warm atmosphere located right in the centre of the village close to the train station and with its own parking area. The hotel has got high standard rooms with own balcony and alp-inspired interiors which will offer you a good rest after a long day out in the mountains. The restaurant offers a traditional Swiss kitchen with all its culinary thrills served to you in a warm environment. To fulfill the experience we present a broad wine list including a great choice of wines from Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spannort Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spannort Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing