We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exquisite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed at the Spannort for three nights in July and this hotel was exquisite! The room appointments, the lobby, and the breakfast room (and the breakfast) were superb. The location of the hotel was very convenient to everything and the view from my balcony was outstanding. Additionally, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the sauna was pristine. There aren't enough superlatives to describe this place, and the price was so reasonable - if you are looking for a place to stay in Engelberg, this is it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyk60993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Nancyk60993,

Hello Cincinnati!

Thank you for your lovely words and for sharing your thoughts about your stay at Tripadvisor!

We are glad that you enjoyed it and Engelberg!

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to see you soon again!

Best Regards

Stefan Brunqvist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    25
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
65
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had such a great stay at this hotel. The setting was gorgeous, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was delicious! As an American traveler, it was well appointed to the type of accommodations we would see stateside. It is a 4 minute walk to the train station, and a gorgeous ride to Lucerne. I would absolutely recommend this hotel, and would certainly stay here again. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Stephanie R,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing a review of the Spannort on Tripadvisor!

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Engelberg!

Best Regards from a sunny Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here this week en route to Italy. We hoped to enjoy the Alps in the Summer but the weather had other ideas.

We arrived at the hotel safely, although our Sat Nav took us the wrong way down one street, so beware it's not obvious!!

The welcome from the receptionist could not have been friendlier and the decoration of the building was immaculate and very "right now". Even with guests waiting behind us to check in, the receptionist offered lots of advise on how to best enjoy our experience. We were very disappointed though to find out that the restaurant was closed. This was a surprise, as I had called the week before to reconfirm the booking and had checked they had a restaurant.

Anyhow, you should know that almost 70% of the restaurants seemed to be closed and it was a Monday night.

The room was great, bed very comfortable, great view of street and mountains and lovely little balcony, but our one worry had come to light - no Air Conditioning and the hotel room was very warm. Immaculately clean, great facilities, as in everything obvious was there, but ah...too warm. Too warm at 2am, 3am etc and we were told reception is not there after 9pm and "only for emergencies", which we presumed to be fire and theft!! When we opened the window and door to the balcony the morning traffic - odd car at 4am re-awoke us.

I imagine this is not a problem though during the ski season, with the amount of alcohol normally consumed!

But I would definitely go back! Lovely ambience and oh, yes, VERY GOOD BREAKFAST!!!!

Room Tip: The back rooms look over the car park and mountain, front is noisier but more (not much) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CillaChilds344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear CillaChilds344,

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing us a review and sharing your thoughts and important feedback.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and service from our team members.

I am very sorry to hear that we did not communicate the opening hours for the restaurant well enough with you.
The Spannort is a family owned hotel and therefor we do not have a 24/7 open reception yet unfortunately. I am sorry to hear that you could not sleep due to the warm weather and that you could not talk to someone during the night. I will check with my team and see if we can improve the telephone service after the reception closes at 9pm. Thank you for the feedback.

Spannort hotel is quiet an old house and it would not be possible to install AC in the existing rooms. I am very sorry that the weather was very warm just the night when you overnighted here because there are only a few warm nights during the summer season.

Myself, together with my family and the whole Spannort team sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope we may welcome you back to Spannort sometime soon again!

If you would have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me straight away!

Best Regards from Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist
Director/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Jooloos and I stayed at the Spannort for 3 nights in June as part of the Jooloos birthday week. probably the best stay of our trip. Hotel very central but with easy parking. Very nicely edecorated and appointed . Rooms felt very cosy and swiss - just what Jooloos was after

Best bit, though are the owners and staff who are exceptionally friendly and welcoming without being sugary and false. Breakfast very good also.

Downsides? views can be bettered in Engelberg but you would have to pay a price (ie a rotten hotel, of which there is a good selection). The hotel restaurant was closed for our stay which was a shame as we had a few poor experiences before finding a good-un.

Really enjoyed the stay. Engelberg is wonderful and the walks in the area cannot be bettered.

We will return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jooloosgoesnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Joolosgoesnorth,

Thank you for your review of Spannort Hotel & Restaurant.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Engelberg! Thank you for all the kind words of yours! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our personalised but yet professional and genuine service.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon again and until then, take care!

Best Regards and greetings from the whole Spannort team and Engelberg

Stefan Brunqvist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I cannot say enough about the Spannort Hotel. It is situated in beautiful Engelberg, right at the heart of the town, a couple of minute's walk from the train station. The decor is stunning right from the word go. Stefan was an exceptional host and we felt incredibly welcome. We were upgraded to the junior suite at no extra charge, and it was just such a wonderful room, though I imagine they are all equally as impressive. We had a view of the local architecture and the distant mountains from our balcony. The wifi signal was excellent, the TV had english channels, the room was spotlessly clean and very quiet. There was an enormous thunderstorm while we were there and we barely heard a thing. We were given a map of the local area with very good tips of things to do in the local area along with a discount card. The restaurant was not open as it was off-season but local restaurants are just a stone's throw away.
I would love to see Engelberg in the winter and this hotel alone has convinced us to return again. It thoroughly deserves its high ratings on trip advisor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Meruru,

THANK YOU for your lovely and kind words and for taking your time to review the Spannort.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that Engelberg, even though there was one of the strongest thunderstorms in a long time during your visit! :)

We are looking forward seeing you in Engelberg some time soon again!

All the best and greetings from the whole Spannort Team

Stefan Brunqvist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed in Spannort only one night but the experience was wonderful. The room is very clean and nicely decorated in mointain style. Bed is absolutely comfortable and big enough considering the fact I stayed in a single room. Sauna in the hotel is a very nice treat, it's wonderful to spend their sometime, and it's completely free. In a cozy lounge area you can have a tea and read a newspaper. Breakfast is pretty various including fresh fruit which is very important for me. Titlis is perfectly close, and also you can have delicious food in Spannort restaraunt, I enjoyed the dinner very much. Thank you again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabriso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Daria S,

Thank you for all your kind words and for taking your time to write a review about your stay at Spannort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotels facilities and your stay in Engelberg.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon again!

Best Regards

Stefan Brunqvist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Felt very welcome. Very much at home. Great Swedish hosts. Clean and functionable. Breakfast buffet nice too. If going back to Engelberg this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlowerPetalBlooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Flowerpetalblooming,

Thank you for your kind words about Spannort and for taking time to write a review about us.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon again!

Wish you a great summer and fall!

Best regards from the whole Spannort team

Stefan Brunqvist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#8 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Engelberg
#10 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spannort Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Dorfstrasse 28, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Green Hotel in Engelberg
#2 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#6 Family Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spannort Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spannort Hotel & Restaurant in Engelberg: a traditional Swiss hotel (20 rooms, 35 beds) and restaurant with a warm atmosphere located right in the centre of the village close to the train station and with its own parking area. The hotel has got high standard rooms with own balcony and alp-inspired interiors which will offer you a good rest after a long day out in the mountains. The restaurant offers a traditional Swiss kitchen with all its culinary thrills served to you in a warm environment. To fulfill the experience we present a broad wine list including a great choice of wines from Switzerland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spannort Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spannort Hotel And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing