We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Schweizerhof(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cathrin(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
$159
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Engelberg Trail Hotel(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belmont(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garni Hostatt(Engelberg)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Waldegg(Engelberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Terrace(Engelberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveler rating
146
27
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
27
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslounge areahonesty barrestaurant downstairsdelightful stafflate arrivalnice saunahotel guestsski rentalski roombreakfast roomhot chocolatetrain stationnice breakfastvery nice hotelstefanskiinggear
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 178 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent one night in Engelberg at this hotel. The Inn keepers are lovely people. The hotel is very well situated, and easy to find as you drive in. Our room had a view over the street side, and a small terrace, from which we watched the snow drift down all night. The sauna is quite nice. The breakfast was terrific. There were lots of interesting cheeses and meats on the buffet. We enjoyed staying here. Had we been staying longer, this might have been even better. Engelberg looks like a great ski location, and I would like to go back in the summer to hike and really see the mountains.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back may be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LA12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, General Manager at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear LA12345,

Thank you so much for taking some time and writing a review about your stay at Spannort.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit!

You should definitely come back in the summer and enjoy some of the great and beautiful hiking!

Take care and we are looking forward seeing you soon again!

Best Regards from the whole Spannort Team,

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Rooms- cosy, clean and comfortable.
Bathrooms-good strong hot shower. Generous size room.
Beautiful decor and lighting.
Nice informal lounge area.
A great breakfast spread with decent coffee.
Ski room- well thought out.
Delightful and helpful staff.

Room Tip: The suites are nice but the tv (in the suite I had) was awkward to view from the bed.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silkroadworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Silkroadworker,

Thank you for your review!

We are more than delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Spannort!

We are already working on how to fit the TV in another way to make it more comfortable to lay in the bed and watch! Thank you for the feedback!

Wish all the best from a snowy and cold Engelberg

Hope to see you soon again!

Best Regards

Stefan Brunqvist and the Spannort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Spotlessly clean, excellent staff, great breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear GWH71

Thank you for your review and for your words about us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Looking forward welcoming you back in the future again!

All the best!

Best Regards

Stefan Brunqvist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Probably one of our favourite hotels we have ever stayed in. Although originally looking for a cheaper option, we were so glad we paid the extra as the hotel was even more impressive that we had hoped it would be based on the other positive reviews. Everything was perfect, the service from the family that run it was amazing, Stefan in particular was fantastic and dropped us to the station after I hurt my back (although the station is only 5 min walk). The rooms were stunning, finished with pine and beatiful floorboards and recently and tastefully renovated. The breakfast was excellent, we actually looked forward to it every morning! Location - dead centre of the town, near the station and between the two main chair lifts. So the owners deserve all the success the get!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are probably brighter, especially facing the road. Also the junior suite was absolutely gorgeous, well worth the slight extra cost.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Our dear friends from U.K/ Australia/NZ....

Was a pleasure to get to know you when you visited Engelberg and Spannort, pity we didnt have time to ski together, but there will be other times! :)

I hope your back is doing better now and that you guys got home well!

Looking forward to meet again and welcome you back to Engelberg and Spannort!

All the best to you both!

Best Regards

Stefan

and of course my team at Spannort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

If you are in Engelberg this is certainly a superb place to stay.
The rooms, food and facilities are exactly right but the differentiating feature is certainly the attitude of all the staff; helpful, friendly , informative. They create a lovely relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan B, Owner at Spannort Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Carolyn W,

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Engelberg!

We are looking forward to welcome you back another time soon again!

Take good care and thank you so much for your review!

Best

Stefan Brunqvist and the Spannort team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews