We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and skier centric atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Great service and best food in Engelberg!

"The" place to stay in Engelberg for passionate skiers - you'll find friends!

Very accomodating staff - they even picked us up way up in the valley with the hotel shuttle when we skied down the backside of the mountain :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gnargnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholmian, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2010

So I guess you skied down Galtiberg then? We enjoyed having you here, and thank you for reviewing us - much aprreciated. I'll pass on your words to the chefs & service.

We are actually still skiing powder here at the moment (May 6!) Have a nice summer, and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Ski Lodge Engelberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 230 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2010

Me and a friend stayed at this hotel for 7 nights during easter. Our main goals for the trip was skiing, food & drink. For simplicity we booked the Skier's Dinner in the hotel restaurant for all our meals this week.

The staff is simply excellent! The bartenders, waiters at the restaurant are all very professional and helpful. Special thanks to Robert for skiing tips and friendliness!

The food in the restaurant is simply amazing in taste, lots of kudos for the chefs! Though, me and others I spoke to, would like to see bigger portions. The breakfasts served are not up to expectations. Any less to choose from and I would not regard it a proper breakfast, and it does not deserve the special mentioning on the hotel website. Sorry guys :)

The rooms are clean and tidy, nicely furnished, new and not worn at all, but a little on the small side. The beds are super comfy, and there is no noise to mention.

The bar/reception area and the outside is very nice, a good place to hang out after a day of skiing. We had many great afternoons here, just relaxing outside in the sun, having a beer and maybe even a burger from the grill. On mondays, the bar fills up for Mad Village
and turns into a place for partying.

All in all a very good experience, but I have to point out that at this price level compared to other hotels in Engelberg, I definitively expected more. I'd also like to note that this hotel seems entirely booked with scandinavians, so if you desire a more international crowd this might not be your number one choice.

Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholmian, Eric Spongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

Hi Valemon,

and thank you for the praise, feedback and hints on where to improve!

It seems like you really enjoyed your stay, and I have forwarded your words to Robert in the bar, Rukas and his team in the kitchen and all the other staff.

About the breakfast, we're up for the challenge to make it even better! We have tried hard (we thought!) with 5 different homemade jams, organic eggs, different kinds of bread & croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice, local cheeses from the valley, homemade müsli, porridge and many other items - what else would you like to see? Send me an email straight to eric@skilodgeengelberg.com and we're on the case.

About dinners, we are glad you liked them so much! The size of the Skier's Dinner usually suits most of our guests, and we are very happy to make larger portions at request. At no extra cost of course.

About the price level, I'm sorry to hear that we didn't live up to your expectations. The easter week is one of the most popular weeks of the year, and hence one of the more expensive too. And staying in single grand-lit rooms (I think you did?) is the priciest option as well.

We hope to see you here at the Lodge again soon!

//Eric & the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Group of us stayed for a long weekend. Great hotel. Great Food. Great staff. Resort perfect for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysoverwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholmian, Eric Spongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to meet you again next year then, or this summer! Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were very well looked after from prompt replies to our email enquiry through getting an extra bed put into the room and great service such as getting lift passes from the hotel, getting great advice about the slopes and always friendly staff on hand.

The hotel is a cool and quirky mix of grand flock wall paper and antique chairs mixed with wall mounted fat powder skis and stunning free ride photographs- very inspiring as you head to the hills.

We only managed to eat in once- the food was superb, not only high class but hearty portions for skiers' appetites, alas other nights we failed to book and didn't get in, but there are plenty of nice places to eat in town and we enjoyed exploring them.

The bar is very cool, big bean bags, nice music, young free riders wearing their woolly hats indoors but a little too trendy for us old farts on a Monday night; 'Monday Madness' with excellent drinks promotions but with loud music keeping us tired skiers awake until the early hours, next time we'll ask for a room in the next door building if that event still runs.

Breakfast is the best I've had on a ski trip, the help yourself buffet means you can grab a quick bite on a powder day or indulge yourself with endless coffees when you aren't in a rush.

Boot and ski room in the basement means your boot are dry in the morning, altough we used the lockers at the bottom on the lift to save the walk with boots and skis meaning we could avoid the ski bus and stroll to the lift in the morning in 5 minutes in trainers not lugging the kit.

We didn't manage to use the sauna and hot tub- the run down the garden in front of the main bar didn't appeal to us coy Brits!

We'll be back- its a great ski area for a few days skiing or when the powder is in condition, not ideal for a full week of piste bashing, but we'll certainly stay here again. Follow them on Twitter to get the later news @skilodge_eberg

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheffieldpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholmian, Eric Spongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

Hi Paul! Glad you liked our place, and Engelberg too - and too bad we couldn't fit you into the restaurant more times during your stay here - busy February...

Regarding the comment on the mondays in our bar, we are very sorry for the disturbance and we are taking measures right now to prevent it from happening again.

I'll make sure the whole staff & chef team hears your words, and thanks for reviewing. See you on Twitter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed att the Skilodge Engelberg for 3 nights and 4 days of skiing. Also stayed there last season for 3 nights. I can highly recommend this place. If you like skiing and good food and a good nightsleep this is it. The staff is really passionate about what they do and that means you dont have to bother about anything, just check in and have a really nice time. We choosed to eat at the hotel and the food is super!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masenfalun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholmian, Eric Spongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

Great to hear such words from a returning guest! We have some surprises (from July 1) that might make your stay even better, so we hope to welcome you a third time. Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I learnt about the Ski Lodge from a colleague of mine. I was looking for a place to go for a long weekend, he told me that it was a great hotel in a great location, we weren't disappointed!

We arrived late and turned in after a couple of well-earned beers! My room was on the first floor of the main house with a balcony and ensuite bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very spacious and well appointed. Breakfast is very relaxed and the variety of food is good. We were able to buy our lift passes at reception, which was a nice touch, before heading off to the slopes. The hotel has a popular happy hour between 4 and 5pm (it seems that most other bars in town don't open until 7pm). The restaurant is definitely worth trying, though booking is advisable since it is popular. There is much reference to the fine dining on the website and I can honestly say that it lives up to its reputation, thanks for sorting it Johan!

There is no doubt that this is a gem of a hotel, it is well run and well located. I have to be honest, I hadn't heard of Engelberg's off piste pedigree before, but I have now and I will be back, just so long as I get to watch the rugby!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singnbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholmian, Johan Edin, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2010

Thanks for the review! I guess one of the downsides about travelling to a Swiss mountain village is the lack of TV channels showing rugby - but I'll see what we can do about it for next year. I've passed your words on to the rest of the staff as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

A visit to the fantastic “Angel Mountains” and Skilodge Engelberg is highly recommended. The Alps combined with powder snow, fat skis, great food and excellent service at Skilodge Engelberg is a ridiculously successful combo!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockholmToffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholmian, Eric Spongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2010

"One of the best in the alps" - thank you so much! It seems that our recommendations on everything from fatskis to South African wines worked well for you :) We look forward to having you back at the Lodge, Chef Rukas just changed the menu again with some gooood news. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angels Lodge
The Angels Lodge
#13 of 23 in Engelberg
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#10 of 23 in Engelberg
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: $163 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing