We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Ski Lodge Engelberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love Ski Lodge Engelberg”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a great stay at the lodge in feb 2014. We all loved it - very friendly service, familiar and unpretentious. The three course dinner included in the price was great. Breakfast very good too - We do love to go abroad but a lot of the times you get served a croissant and some jam for breakfast. Not the case here - a good Scandinavian breakfast, the perfect way to start the day before you hit the slopes. Will definitely come back next time we hit Engelberg.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Ägare at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Adam!

As skiers ourselves, we know the difference between a full ski day with a croissant in your stomach, or a full day with a real hearty breakfast. We work hard to make our food worth talking about, so really happy you noticed.

Even though it's full-on summer here, we're planning for another great winter at Ski Lodge. Last week, we got a 14 meter long wooden sofa delivered to our patio, and we have more surprises both in the rooms and the terrace to come.

We hope to see you back when the snow starts falling :-)

The whole team at Ski Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    56
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
60
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for a snowboarding week.

Building is nice and in a great location, a short stroll to the train station and the easiest way to get to Zurich (airport).

Checkin was simple and our room was ready. But no help with bags.

Our room was OK, not very big but everything you need for a week in the snow. Bathroom however is incredibly small.

The meals at night are a good standard and would recommend doing this as the place is so expensive, but so is all of Switzerland. The dinner staff are lovely and friendly.

Bar, the bar is comfortable and nicely set up. Bar staff are pleasant and cheerful.

You can buy your lift pass at reception, which was easily done. We found the reception staff to be not the happiest people to deal with.

Not sure if I would stay there again, possibly take a look at other options in the village.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PetaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Ägare at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Petamy,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we're always looking for ways to improve our Ski Lodge.

The restaurant is our real darling, and we're happy you noticed that we've put a lot of effort into it. Regarding the price level, that has to do with our core beliefs. We use no shortcuts in our kitchen, meaning quality ingredients, sourced locally when possible, and cooking everything from scratch. All of which ends up few francs more, but also a whole lot better in our opinion.

I hope to welcome you back again soon! Cheers from the sun!

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Perfect for a group, rent a few rooms and enjoy dinners in the hotel restaurant which is quite good. Very nice staff, friendly atmosphere and great alternative. Nothing special but everything you need on a ski trip. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
A big thank you from all of us at Ski Lodge for reviewing us and for the kind words. We work hard with our service and staff, and I'm glad it shined through :-)

Cheers from a sunny Engelberg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Overall a very nice "boutique" hotel. The bedrooms are a decent size and reasonably furnished - major bugbear was the shower which was completely useless - it was a hand held with no wall bracket to allow you to stand under it. No bath either which is a shame as its great to soak ofter a day on the slopes. Nice bar with good atmosphere. Restaurant was good with a set meal option for half board - although the food was a bit too "fussy" for skiers / kids and they seemed phased when we asked for somethingelse for the kids and didn't have anything to offer - so not child orientated! Good breakfast buffet.
There is a hottub and sauna in the garden - but the staff forgot to turn them on!! - we're more interested in being on the slopes than attending to the needs of guests it seemed

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and giving us a couple of hints on where to improve.

We have rooms with showers and baths, and we try to accommodate everyone's needs as far as possible. About the restaurant, we don't have a kids menu - but if we get a little notice, we can serve up any special requests you might have.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Cheers from a sunny Angel's Mountain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I do not recommend this hotel to anyone again. Rooms are okay, decoration and location is great. But we felt a bit misplaced, service is very unfriendly and not service minded at all. The waitress prefered to chat with the swedish guests than to have a look what is missing from the table or the rest of the hotel guests.
Sadly.. never again and i will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Price / quality is just not appropriate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank funkysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I'm terribly sorry to read your review about us.

When we founded this hotel 6 years ago, we wanted to create a memorable service experience that went beyond the formalities of traditional hospitality. Meaning that a member of the staff should be knowledgable not only about food, wine or the check-in process - but the overall experience the guest is looking for. Similar to visiting a friend in another country, he/she should be able instantly guide you to the best cafés, beaches and secret spots. Or a foot massage!

Sadly, we've failed here and made you feel unwelcome - and I'd like to find out more about your stay to be able to improve. If you email me at eric@skilodgeengelberg.com I'd be very interested to hear more and also invite you back to give us a second chance.

Cheers from a sunny Engelberg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a great place to stay in Engelberg! The nice staff and great restaurant and bar is a big plus! Our bathroom was a bit cold, but that's just a detail! I will definitely go back! The location could not be better with walking distance to the cabin and city center, very convenient! A perfect place to enjoy Engelberg.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnusheden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for the review, it means a lot to us.

Your timing couldn't have been better with you stay, Engelberg was (again!) on of the few lucky resorts with chest deep powder snow in November :-)

Good note about the bathroom, expect some improvements during the summer months.

Welcome back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerum, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Centrally located and with a breathtaking view from the Hotel entrance it is the place to stay at in Engelberg. That is if you want to meet with people who take skiing serious and are happy to share tips and ideas about skiing in general and skiing in Engeberg in particular. Add laid back after ski and excellent dining and you have little else to wish for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 514Hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure having you here for the season opening!

Cheers from the snow :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Engelberg Trail Hotel
Engelberg Trail Hotel
#8 of 21 in Engelberg
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#7 of 21 in Engelberg
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpenclub
Hotel Alpenclub
#15 of 21 in Engelberg
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Property: Ski Lodge Engelberg
Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing