We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skiing with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Centrally located and with a breathtaking view from the Hotel entrance it is the place to stay at in Engelberg. That is if you want to meet with people who take skiing serious and are happy to share tips and ideas about skiing in general and skiing in Engeberg in particular. Add laid back after ski and excellent dining and you have little else to wish for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 514Hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure having you here for the season opening!

Cheers from the snow :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I lodged here for 2 nights in Sept 2013 as part of a Topdeck trip. Ski Lodge Engelberg is cozy and the staff and crew are warm, welcoming and friendly. We had 2 included dinners and the food was simple yet delicious home-made fare. I got to spend my birthday in Switzerland and Ski Lodge Engelberg and it was a terrific experience.

The town itself is pretty small but all the major points of interest are well located. We could walk from Ski Lodge Engelberg to the cable car station to go up Mt Titlis, and the main train station to Luzern is only a stone's throw away. I highly recommend taking a day trip to Luzern, approx. 1hr by train from Engelberg. Otherwise, you can rent a bike and pedal around town or for the more adventurous folks, there are some pretty challenging bike trails around the mountains.

We had the good fortune of being allocated a spacious room on the 2nd floor with a massive balcony that had breathtaking views of the mountains and hills around. The room also overlooks the alfresco drinking area and an outdoor hottub! WiFi was free and the connection was good.

It was a shame that we were only there for 2 nights, would've loved to spent more time there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl_SG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us Cheryl, always highly appreciated.

We hope to see you another time soon, you should see this place in winter too!

Cheers,

Eric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a topdeck tour in sept 2013. The rooms were average European size, not all that big but still fit our suitcases at the end/beside the bed. Room and bathroom were both very clean. Had a traditional Swiss dinner outside in their gorgeous outdoor setting, the lady serving the food was so kind and accommodating. Such a central spot, would be ideal in ski season. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shopuntilidrop_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is run by a lovely Swedish couple who provided fantastic service. It is all within 15 mins walking distance to the Coop supermarket, train station and cable car to Mt Titlis.

Rooms are very clean and a good size. Free wifi was also available. The views are spectacular and enjoyed the dinners downstairs at the restaurant. The bar is also a great place for a drink and you can sit outside to enjoy the views of the snowy mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were with a tour and stayed at the Ski Lodge and were very well looked after with great food.
The position in town is in walking distance to the cable cars to Mt Titlis
The rooms were also quite large and well themed to the Snowy Swiss Alps.
Would definitely like to stay here again some day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prongzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've just noticed that someone else had the very same feeling and gave a similar title :). The receptionist (Julia) and everyone else whom I met from the staff was genuinely kind and helpful. I stayed in a simple room downstairs. I was afraid that it would be noisy, but not at all. The bed was comfortable, the room had everything I needed. The price was average for the category. I was very much surprised how much they cared about special requests: I told them that I was vegan, and they prepared a fantastic fruit salad for me in the morning! There was a big selection of fresh, quality food for non-vegans at breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suitcaseowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour in June 2013. The hotel was great - rooms spacious and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the hotel staff nice. The bar is a great place to have a few drinks with friends. The views from the rooms were amazing and I can highly recommend this hotel for any time of the year.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Hi Courtney,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We just renovated the whole bar area last November, so glad you like the place :)

Hope to see you here soon again!

Cheers from the whole crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldegg
Hotel Waldegg
#6 of 23 in Engelberg
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
Hotel Bellevue-Terminus
#9 of 23 in Engelberg
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range: $156 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing