We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful place ever, perfect views, a hot tub in the snow, beautiful location, a paradise for winter!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Engelberg
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“The most beautiful place ever, perfect views, a hot tub in the snow, beautiful location, a paradise for winter!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a gorgeous hotel nothing we expected as part of a top deck accommodation but was absolutely wonderful! The most beautiful scenery I've ever seen, relaxing and absolutely stunning. The most perfect place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vallannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Well, "perfect" is an amazing word to hear in a review - thank you very much! :)

Cheers from the whole Ski Lodge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    56
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
34
60
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

In Engelberg we mostly stayed in rented apartments. Engelberg used to have a lot of alpine charm which has faded with the disappearance of wooden chalets. The Kloster gives the village its character. All cablecars and lifts to the tops have been supermodernized, superperforming, which again draws many visitors from nearby cities on w/e, filling all parkings and contributing to air pollution while hundreds of cars queue to get out of town. But swiss restaurants and hotels in Eng. have remained oldfashioned, very starchy and costly. Judging from the meals we had at Ski Lodge, it was a fresh, modern experience with good food and service. The ambiente was much more welcoming than in other places and I would take a room there if I were to return to Engelberg. Café Twiny at the Tourist Office has the most friendly owner/manager, a pity their coffee is undrinkable. Schweizerhaus is a beautifully renovated chalet in a great location, but the food is mediocre and overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snövit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us.

When we opened in 2008, we wanted to create something completely different in the village, inspired by smaller independent hotels we'd seen in other parts of the world. Good food and informal yet good service are integral parts of Ski Lodge and we're happy you noticed :)

We hope to see you many more times in Engelberg, as guests in the restaurant or the hotel.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here as part of a topdeck trip, this place was amazing- rooms are huge and very clean! Because of the jetlag i did have trouble sleeping but the beds are amazing and i slept all night. Had dinner outside in the BBQ area with a few beers (expensive but hey your on holiday), will never forget this wonderful place would love to come back in Winter.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frypan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricSpongberg, Owner at Ski Lodge Engelberg, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Great to hear that you liked our Lodge!

We've recently upgraded the beds in the hotel, and obviously the even work against jet lag :)

Cheers from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly, I recomend this Hotel if you are staying in this area, great for skiing, or just being a traveler, view are breathtaking. Even on a cloudy day it is impresive to look up to the mountains and not be impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benidorm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

What can we say,
great atmosphere, OK+ food and decent rooms made this an easter to remember.
Thank you Ski Lodge for making our stay such a pleasant one. Your hotel really eat, breathe and radiate passion for skiing with the comforts of a modern hotel.

One highlight was the Easter Dinner cooked by Klas Lindberg!

We will see you all soon.

Thank you,
Jacob and Lisa

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacobodqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We travelled to beautiful Engelberg and Ski Lodge together with family and friends. All people in our group (age between 15 and 50) enjoyed the stay at Ski Lodge. Staff is very friendly, helpful and service minded, food is honest and homemade, the bar is a great place to hang out at all times, and location is perfect. A great place to stay for skiers, we are coming back to Ski Lodge!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knut_Overnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Can´t say I am a skier, but I really can say that I am happy!
What a wonderful week, celebrating my 60:s anniversery together with my whole family.
It had been snow all winter until the day before we arrived. Thereafter it was bright sunshine, zero degrees temperature and excellent conditions in the slopes, for seven days.
Beeing somewhat different skilled and experienced in skiing, we found the perfect slopes for every taste either you were 3 year old or 60.
Staying at Ski Lodge was equally wonderful; Good service, perfect rooms for four familys, excellent dining, breakfast and bar-tours. Everywhere there were a smiling face and no problem was too big to handle.
Nina and all personel; Thank you for a wonderful week! We will come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spannort Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#6 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Engelberg
Hotel Engelberg
#8 of 21 in Engelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#5 of 21 in Engelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Lodge Engelberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Lodge Engelberg

Property: Ski Lodge Engelberg
Address: Erlenweg 36, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Engelberg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Engelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ski Lodge Engelberg 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Lodge Engelberg was crafted after the type of hotels that we enjoy staying at while on vacation. Hearty breakfasts, comfortable beds and personal and friendly service are things you can expect at Ski Lodge Engelberg. Forget the dated interior, bland food, and thin blankets of other hotels. The staff is ready to help you with all aspects of your stay from how to address those aching feet to finding the best snow conditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ski Lodge Engelberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ski Lodge Engelberg Hotel Engelberg
Ski Hotel Engelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing