We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly, helpful hotel.”
Review of The Angels Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Angels Lodge
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found the Angels Lodge a friendly hotel with a very helpful proprietor and staff. When we asked about local restaurants or sites to visit they gave us so many selections including menus to look at that we couldn't visit all of them. We stayed five days at the hotel, which has been recently remodeled, and everything was exceptional. The location is only a short walk from the train station and the center of Engelberg. The free city bus stops right the entrance to the hotel so there is no problem getting around. If we visit Engelberg in the future we would definitely stay at the Angels Lodge if they have an opening. We didn't use the sauna and hot tub but it looked very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lowell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Angels Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is situated not far from the centre (3-5 mins walk from the station). I booked this hotel for a week-long extended-family trip. We used it as a base were to return after the day out. We really enjoyed our stay in this cosy hotel. The family running this hotel were always very helpful and very knowledgable of Switzerland. The continental breakfast was plentiful and helps in giving a good start to the day. The only minus elderly persons (50+) in the group found, was that they would have enjoyed some tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Apart from that there's really nothing to complain about. The hotel also has a very good parking area.

Room Tip: We had third floor rooms with very good mountain views. The lift only arrives to the 2nd floor. We d...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreus0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I took my mum and brother for a weekend to show them the beauty of Engelberg and found this hotel online. The reviews were pretty good so I booked it and we were not at all disappointed. We walked with our bags in just a few minutes to the hotel from the train station. Jean and his daughter were so welcoming and helpful from the time we checked-in. They have great local knowledge (as you would hope and expect) and can help with where to go, how to get around and where you might like to eat. The hotel was beautifully but simply decorated and we all really loved the breakfast room and bar especially. The rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and every one has a balcony with a view - either towards Brunni or Titlis. Breakfast was an excellent start to the day - they even had a decent choice of tea bags! Thank you, The Angels Lodge. Living in Switzerland, I will definitely book to stay here for snowboarding in winter, hiking in the summer and recommend you to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were using Engelberg as a stopover point enroute to other destinations but convenient enough to allow time in the day to visit Lucerne. Being off season there were not many other guests in the hotel but that did not affect quality of services which was excellent. Our room was clean and comfortable with a view towards Mt Titlis. All rooms have a balcony. It was a short walk to the town centre and restaurants and cable car to Mt Titlis. A comfy bar/lounge is available till late and a good breakfast was provided.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HILARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel was so cool - and such a great find. The lobby and bar area is very modern and new. The continental breakfast was great and included a lot of options. The breakfast area to eat at was also very beautiful. The Jacuzzi and sauna are only available during certain hours-so we didn't get a chance to use. The rooms have flat screen tv's and free wi-fi available. There was a ski room available on the bottom floor with boot heaters and racks. This location is about a 5-10 minute walk from the train. We walked to the hotel with all our bags with no problem. The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating! This hotel was also across the street from the bus stop that takes you to the ski resort lifts. If you miss the bus it is about a 5-10 minute easy walk. When we return to Engelberg, we will be staying here again!

Room Tip: We asked for a corner room and we were treated to amazing views.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had such a lovely time at the Angel's Lodge. The staff were so welcoming and extremely helpful with any inquiries. A lasting memory I have of our stay there was when the three of us (my husband,our little girl and I) were sat outside in the jacuzzi sipping on our drinks looking at the winter wonderland around us. The breakfast was excellent. Our room was also very comfortable and clean. We were in walking distance of the restaurants in the town and the ski lifts. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Spend just one night for 2 day ski trip with 2 friends. Good booking and reservation info. Also nice to park the rental car in a garage when it was freeezzing outside -15 c. The extra bed for the 3rd person could be more comfortable but it was ok for 1 night. The room ok. Excellent to have the Jacuzzi and sauna, with beer served, outside in the evening when it was almost -20c. What an experience! the breakfast was ok but I miss Fresh orange juice! That is always a good way to please and impress me as a hotel guest. All in all, friendly service with good suggestions that makes the stay memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Engelberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Edelweiss Engelberg
Edelweiss Engelberg
#1 of 23 in Engelberg
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
H+ Hotel & SPA Engelberg
#3 of 23 in Engelberg
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ski Lodge Engelberg
Ski Lodge Engelberg
#2 of 23 in Engelberg
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Terrace
Hotel Terrace
#5 of 23 in Engelberg
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
H+ Hotel Sonnwendhof Engelberg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cathrin
Hotel Cathrin
#22 of 23 in Engelberg
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angels Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angels Lodge

Address: Alpenstrasse 1, Engelberg 6390, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Sunnmatt)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Obwalden > Engelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Engelberg
Price Range: $159 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angels Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Angels Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing