We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Italian in Geneva, unparalleled atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Auberge d'Onex

Auberge d'Onex
Ranked #118 of 1,678 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“best Italian in Geneva, unparalleled atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Have been coming to eat at Valentino's restaurant for the last 12 years. It is always pure fun, fantastic food and unique atmosphere. A bit more expensive than many other Italian, but 100% worth it. You are not only coming to eat, but to enjoy the ambience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sputnik77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    37
    10
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We came here with a group of 10 - it was for business and I didnt pay so I cant comment on the cost. The evening was fab - we were sitting outside in the pretty garden, spoiled by the wonderful extras the lovely waiters kept bringing for us (ok - you might want to check if/ what you pay for those). Before we even ordered, bowls of super fresh radishes and tomatoes landed on the table, together with large chunks of cheese and lovely bread. From the various starters i enjoyed the burrata most (and was slightly disappointed by the dry grilled vegetables). Pasta main courses are over CHF 30 and my Tagliata was CHF 52 - so cheap it aint, but the whole experience and the quality of the food was really enjoyable. I didnt even manage to sample from the desert trolley, although they did bring us lots of other sweets. Maybe best to come here if someone else is paying! ;-))

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beautytravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredibly poor value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Having heard this was on a par with a Michelin star I had big expectations for a wedding anniversary meal. The only part that met these expectations which was the price about 220 chf for 2 with a small bottle of wine. The food was poorly presented and of average taste. I would strongly recommend against visiting this restaurant, for those living in geneva it is actually cheaper to visit Milan by train stay overnight in a central hotel and eat real Italian food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissdavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced and two speeded service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Just back from this restaurant where I have had some lovely meals in the past. You need to expect a pricey experience but this is normally compensated by the friendly welcome and little extras like fresh fruit with coffee etc.
Tonight it was obvious that if you are very wealthy or a very regular customer you still get the good service but unfortunately if not, you pay the same price as the others for very poor service, and even after asking for the little extras we were still badly done by.
Prices totally over the top even for Geneva! We definitely won't be going back for a while.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Way too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Nice restaurant with but very expensive. Be sure to ask for the price when they put anything on the table

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge d'Onex also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Onex, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Onex, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Auberge d'Onex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing