We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting and good ambience”

Cafe Restaurant du Parc des Bastions
Ranked #414 of 1,701 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $20 - $58
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cairo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice setting and good ambience”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location is in a park in a peaceful and green setting , outdoor and indoor seating is available , food menu is a good selection of chicken , beef and seafood dishes yet the portions as in most French cuisine restaurants are relatively small so it is hard to fill up your tummy in this restaurant , the prices are on the high side

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khaledismail72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    49
    16
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Buckingham Palace wannabe”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Slow service that appears not have evolved since the 18th century. A one hour lunch appears to be impossible and CHF12 for a desert at lunchtime is really exhaggerated, especially when I saw the size of the fondant au chocolaté. The norm for a similar desert is CHF8 in similar restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fshah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Many yummy courses”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We ate here as part of a special dinner for program participants. First, there were some nice Swiss wines, and they poured small amounts of fruit liqueur, (Kir, Williams, others) which added to the taste and color. Then there was a nice taste treat with a small cup of cold soup with a piece of toast with salmon. Then there was salad. Then there was this really tasty fish appetizer with a salsa-like blend of vegetables and herbs. So big, we thought it was the entree, but looking at the forks, we knew there was more. Finally, the entree was delicious roast chicken.

All in all, a great meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samlikestoeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch in Café Restaurant du Parc des Bastions”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Finding a restaurant open on Sunday lunchtime in Geneva is tricky so this is a treasure. The architecture and situation is lovely. From our table we could watch the ice skaters and chess players outside having whetted our appetite with a stroll around Geneva Old Town.
Sunday Brunch is a delicious buffet including: breakfast cereals and pastries, salads, fish, cold meat and cheese, hot breakfast and lunch dishes, desserts and soft drinks. The service is minimal but we eventually flagged down a waitress to ask how were supposed to proceed. Some buffet items were replenished (the whole salmon) but others were not and we had to wait a while when the attendant at the crepe station took a break.
It is not cheap (48 CHF adults, 39 CHF seniors, 24 CHF 6-12 year olds, free for under 6 year olds) but we were not rushed along so you could probably spend half of Sunday there grazing.
The only complaint from our party was that there was no light option (such as fruit) amongst the desserts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AzureAkela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My worst restaurant experience in Geneva”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We ate here in a group of 10 people, had made a reservation but they had put it down on the wrong day so scrambled together three tables asking us: 1. to order only between two dishes in the whole menu and 2. to write down our order ourselves.
Staff was rude, inattentive, openly hostile for reasons we did not understand and, to top it all, the food overpriced. I will never go back, not even if this was the only restaurant in town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Silkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Restaurant du Parc des Bastions also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant du Parc des Bastions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing