We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant in Old Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie de l'Hotel de Ville

Brasserie de l'Hotel de Ville
Ranked #140 of 1,668 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Cité
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Old Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is probably my favourite restaurant in Geneva. Set in the very heart of the old town, Hotel de Ville is exceptionally traditional and has a great Swiss menu! As many other reviews suggest, it is not cheap - well we are in Geneva after all where nothing is cheap! - but the food is very good, the service welcoming and a perfect spot for a warm sunny day or balmy evening to enjoy good food, wine and people watching. Take care though with your wine choice; good Swiss wines but be prepared to pay just that little too much over the odds! Watch the price list - go for the cheapest it is more than adequate. I visit Geneva very often and never miss a Fondue at this restaurant; it's probably the best in Geneva. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank X19SPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    148
    60
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
410 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Nice choice in the old quarter, but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were staying at Hotel Les Armures and this restaurant was just around the corner. Atmospheric bistro, with outdoor seating, offers a good selection of traditional Swiss food. Starter salads were quite good with a really flavorful dressing and the cheese fondue was very nicely done. Service was good, bustling bistro atmosphere, but you can carry on a conversation without shouting. My husband and I had a bottle of wine, split a dessert and had coffee. Pricey - 142 euros. I'm rating it 3 stars because of the price, otherwise the food was 4 stars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alwaysplanahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fondue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a very enjoyable traditional meal at this nice brasserie in the old town. My wife loved her rose-trimmed glass of Prosecco and scallop dish while I indulged in the very tasty cheese fondue. A good Swiss experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

An excellent welcome awaits in this small brasserie which is full of atmosphere. The walls are topped off with an excellent selection of hats. A very popular place with a lovely old style bar against the back wall. Very traditional – not luxury. Appetizers are very pricy but the food generally is good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“How to lose customers in one easy step”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The answer is: berate them. Had diner there a year ago, went in again for coffee, desert and after diner drinks. The place was half empty so expected a nice, quiet end to the evening. The waiter brought coffee, scolded me for not having chosen the desert, when I said I would be ready in two minutes, he rebuked me with 'I am not going to come back 10 times'. I'll skip my response and go straight to the point: I won't return. A pity, really. Place is in a nice location, has an old world look to it but such a shabby way of treating customers is inexcusable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie de l'Hotel de Ville also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Brasserie de l'Hotel de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing