We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable well placed but rooms need a bit of care” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Eastwest Hotel to your Saves list
Eastwest Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland (Mont-Blanc)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #13 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Comfortable well placed but rooms need a bit of care”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This Hotel is nicely placed for easy access from the train station and the centre of town. The staff were efficient and very polite. The rooms are nicely sized and clean but they are showing signs of wear and tear (peeling varnish, worn wood etc.) also room smelt of smoke despite being non smoking ( I suspect previous occupant using the balcony)
The area as a whole though is in some danger of getting very seedy, I stayed in this locality 2 years ago and the decline is evident. The red-light district is only one street away with open soliciting all day, I'm no prude but I suspect others might find it a little unnerving

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc-Antoine N, Directeur général at Eastwest Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that from a service point of view we met your expectations, and that you found your room nice and clean. We sincerely regret that there was an unpleasant smell of smoke despite the room being non smoking.

Your point about the wood showing signs of wear and tear is valid and we would like you to know that our maintenance programme over the next few months includes polishing, varnishing or replacing the wood surfaces in all the rooms where needed.

With regard to location, Geneva is a very small city, so whilst we are only one street away from the red-light district, we are also only steps away from the beautiful lake.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Marc-Antoine Nissille
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Wuhan Hubei China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This has been a very nice surprise. Hotel room is excellent, beds are soft, well proportioned bathroom. This hotel is well placed in Geneva for walking, many restaurants are nearby. We will watch fireworks from the roof tonight during the Geneva Festival. A great stay, thank you East West Hotel Staff and Manager.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FleetDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This hotel is excellent. The hotel interior and room details are really nicely designed. At the end of a long day of meetings, it is a very pleasant and peaceful place to return. The rooms are comfortable. My bed was very comfortable. They have really nice amenities. They leave cookies in the room every day. The staff are uniformly excellent, as is the food in the hotel dining room and on the room service menu. I would certainly return here on future visits to Geneva. The hotel Wifi is free and also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

A nice, comfortable, with good decorative environment, excellent, remarkable staff service - people who really hosts a guest with nice posture, guidance and answering positively to all needs. We needed an extra bed for our daughter, who arrived from another trip and had a smal period - just one overnight - to stay with us and even with the hotel fully booked, everything was well prepared and she was hosted as we were. Our trip to the airport, at 3:00 AM was very well arranged, prepared and helped by the staff. The bedroom was really comfortable, beautiful and well served. The hotel is not far from the nice train station and is close to the Lake, providing good walks in the end of the night.

Room Tip: As the hotel is close to the Bus terminal and to the train station, I recommend to book it for at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gljamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 1 night on 23 July. Hotel interior is really well thought out. Attractive boutique decorations and furniture. Beautiful hidden courtyard, which provides a great place to relax after a busy day. Staff are professional. Food is excellent. I will be staying again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank ExplorerLog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at hotel beginning of July for one night.
1. Rooms- amazing! Very comfy bed, great amenities, with small perks such as a complimentary bottle of water and a cookie..
2. Staff - very courteous and helpful. When leaving the hotel gave us a complimentary bottle of water, on our way to the airport.
3. Hotel - great location, 2 minutes walk from lake. Everything spot on, great condition.

Would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Location is great. geneva is a small place and , this hotel is a few minutes walking distance from main train station and similarly close to everything of interest. The free public transport pass provided makes it even easier..
You can quickly tell if the staff cares and here they certainly do. Everybody from reception to housekeeping helps with a friendly smile. Sign of a terrific hotel. Rooms are comfortable ,especially on the hot day it was with great AC.
This is the place to stay if your travel plans lead to geneva..

Room Tip: Back of hotel. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchmen0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#10 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tiffany Hotel
Tiffany Hotel
#21 of 108 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Cour des Augustins - Boutique Gallery Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: Rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#13 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Eastwest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing