We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting”
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We have stayed at Eastwest twice in a year now and we would probably always go back when visiting Geneva.
It's a small boutique hotel in an area that is in walking distance from the train station, the major shopping area and old Geneva.
It has an interesting decor that is warm and inviting . The bed is comfortable and the bathroom is great because there is plenty of space of all my makeup and cosmetics which many hotels don't make room for. Bath and separate shower.
The staff are always friendly and the breakfasts are fantastic .
The bar area is nice to just sit and relax in.
I have only visited in winter. The decor could be a bit dark in the summer but it is themed on an exotic Asian feel I think. It's not usually my style at all but this place has grown on me and won me over definitely.
After wandering into Geneva's grand hotels for drinks now and then, I know I definitely prefer the cosy and friendly appeal of Eastwest but it still is very professional in their dealings with you when you need things done or questions answered.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 750 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

I spend a lovely weekend at the west east hotel. The rooms are specious and very nicely decorated, breakfast is nice and the hotel ambiance is cozy and pleasant. The hotel is located in a perfect spot nearby the lake and the old city. But the best thing in this nice boutique hotel is the friendly and helpful staff that is always willing to make an extra effort for the gussets. I enjoyed my stay. Well done west east hotel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very small hotel with limited staff. Only 3 manned the front desk and only one person could deal with any problems with reservations, who only comes in during the day. They promoted themselves as East meets West but messed up reservations with 2 different surnames (CHENG & CHEN). Insisted that I have reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights. Even when I presented my booking confirmation upon check in, person took my booking confirmation paper for references, but obviously did not even care to look into it. Certainly an eye opener for me, amazed at how their fount desk woman refused to acknowledge their own mistake on 2 confrontations, and just dodged their mistake. Why bother checking in with your passports if your full name isn't the same with the reservations?

Further more, some higher authority person later, (after my return) emailed me to say: we have as a commercial gesture cancel without any fee the reservation . (all of my reservation numbers started with 7. Booked through SLH)
Either very bad hotel in house staff communications or just slack.
Limited services, no much interest in guests service, only excellent parking help.
Will not book this hotel again.
Not recommended for travellers with kids, or Chinese common surname.
If you are driving there, there is no place to stop. Its front doors are right in the middle of busy traffic, which makes travelling with kids and lots of luggage quite chaotic.
They gave me a room with one window and facing a wall.
I could understand if I booked the room last minute and I get this room. But i made the reservations 1 month ago, and for 2 nights.
Big disappointment to my last day in Geneva. Will never book this hotel again.
Have stayed in many boutique hotels with more narrow streets and busier countries, this one should not make it to the list of Small Luxury Hotels of the World at all.

Room Tip: If you must book this hotel, make sure you ask for rooms with WINDOWS FACING OPEN AREAs, must tell t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rocket4rocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January 2014. This was advertised as a family hotel. It's a pleasant boutique hotel, but it is NOT a good family hotel. They have no kids menu, limited flexibility for dealing with children, and limited interest in doing so. The service was average, not poor but not great, food was ok, but the menu was limited. I wouldn't recommend it for the price (we were in the executive suite and were woken up by load guests outside of our room). There are better options in Geneva in our view.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Goodtaste73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is the ideal place for a short stay in Geneva. The decor is minimalist with an oriental theme. The staff and friendly and the rooms simple but cleverly designed, modest in size but not cramped. The free wifi works well in the rooms as well as common areas. The configuration of the restaurant area is a little disappointing (it feels more like a bar/snack area) but it is more than compensated for this by the quality of the food and the wine list. I enjoyed foie gras, lentil and truffle soup followed by seared scallops with sweet potato blinis. Both absolutely delicious with a half a bottle of Condrieu. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights (extended one as we liked it). Room comfortable, bathroom and amenities good, in room coffee maker was particularly good! Our package included breakfast, which was ample and delicious; hot items such as eggs as well as the normal full European cold meat, yogurt, selection of breads, etc. Location easy walk from train station and the #1 bus runs outside the front door, connecting to several tourist places of interest. All in all a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BombayLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed one night, three of us (including a 7 year old).

Adequate boutique hotel, would not say it is luxurious. Room was swiss-standard size (smallish compared to average international sizes).

Location is double-edged. On one hand it is near to the river (10-15 min leisurely walk across the bridge to the Old Town). On the other hand, it is near to a/the red-light district. We walked from the railway station to the hotel around 8 pm, and walked past a sex salon (Amsterdam style), and there were seedy characters hanging around the street corners. Maybe it was due to my lack of prior, thorough research (if you google rue de paquis or neighbouring streets, and streetwalkers, you get some hits). To be fair, not within the immediate environment of the hotel, and we did not feel endangered.

If you have young ones, you would have to plan your neighbourhood walks a bit more than I did.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Utd_till_I_die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 106 in Geneva
1,005 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#14 of 106 in Geneva
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
658 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#15 of 106 in Geneva
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range: $203 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing