We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent, well-located boutique hotel in central Geneva” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #7 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent, well-located boutique hotel in central Geneva”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was really impressed with the Eastwest. It's not a big hotel, but very well-formed. Good-quality free wi-fi, nice rooms, small gym with Technogym kit. Reasonable prices for central Geneva. The restaurant is also very good, with excellent service. I was there overnight for business and spent a lot of time loitering around the lobby. The staff couldn't have been kinder or more attentive. Location is about a 5-minute walk from both the train station and the lake (and the RLD for that matter!). Great find-- definite keeper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    191
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
100
266
59
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Booked 2 nights deluxe double room accomodation and breakfast at Eastwest for my wife and i via booking.com.

The hotel is situated probably 10 minutes from the main train station, the walk from the train station takes you through Geneva's red light district (of which Eastwest is on the edge of) which can be quite off putting.

Upon check in the receptionist advised that our booking was room only and did not include breakfast, after a short discussion i was required to produce the paper work from booking.com to resolve the matter. We were shown to our room by a very friendly, attentive and welcoming porter.

The bathroom of our room was a lovely size, nicely decorated and well appointed (with the exception of one of the hand basin's which did not drain), the room itself was ok and furnished with a flat screen tv and a nespresso coffee machine (which did not work coincidentally). The room was clean and tidy.

Quality of food at breakfast was very good, however it is served from the bar top and on both mornings there were several items of the breakfast offering missing therefore you were often put in a position were your partners food would go cold whilst you wait for a rasher or two of bacon.

The chamber maid came to clean our room on Saturday evening! As my wife was in the bathroom preparing to get ready for dinner. Due to the time of the maids visit i asked her to change our towels only as we didnt want to be disturbed as we got ready.

I went down to the bar whilst i waited for my wife, i ordered a vodka and tonic and enjoyed the soft back ground music. The drink was served with some bread sticks and olives, a nice touch. I never asked the price of the drink i just booked it to the room bill (I expected it to be around Euro 15 from historic hotel visits). On check out i was quite surprised that my pre dinner drink was CHF 39!!! or circa £26!!! Eastwest can charge like a rhino. A guy once followed a muck cart, he thought it was wedding!!! (so my own fault)

This is the first time i have ever wrote a report on any kind on a review site, i booked this hotel purely because of the reviews i read on here and the fact that it was rated 3rd best hotel in Geneva via trip advisor. We had a great time, none of the aforementioned problems spolied our stay but the standards arent what i would expect from such a high rated 4* hotel, if Eastwest is truely the 3rd best hotel in Geneva there must be some awful hotels around. From my experience i would say its a top end 3* / bottom end 4*.

In conclusion a nice break in an average at best 4* hotel that has had a fare amount of smoke blown up its ar5e.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 73jh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Eastwest is a boutique hotel situated close to Gare Geneve (train station) and close to shopping and restaurants area. Rooms are very well decorated, spacious and clean. Amenities include Wi-Fi, coffe service in your room, first class toileteries and a very friendly and attentive staff.

Room Tip: the hotel is located close to a red district zone. Just avoid it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chamukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently with my wife. The room was great - good size, comfy bed, nice big shower. Even with a room fronting onto the main road it was only ever quiet and calm. The staff on the front desk were always very friendly and helpful. Good location for reaching lots of restaurants and bars and all the main sights if Geneva.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLesserMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Had a 2 night stay here on business. It's a great hotel, not cheap but it's an expensive city

Ok the location may be a bit fruity if your sensitive. The Red light is a stones throw away so there are some colourful characters outside. It didn't bother me at all and it felt perfectly safe to walk about.

The rooms are excellent. I had a superior and it was first class with a really cool open plan configured bathroom. I had a 1st floor street facing room and thought it may be noisy with the goings on outside. Slept like a log and never woke me.

Wifi free and fast and fast. I'd definey stay here again when in Geneva.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bax52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed for 24 hours in Geneva, after the long trip from Australia and before traveling on to my next destination. Eastwest was great. Very calming, clean, week organized, with elegant modern design style interiors. The restaurant, lobby, lounge and outdoor courtyard are very impressive spaces. I arrived before check in time and was offered a choice of waiting for my assigned room or taking an available room, which I accepted. the single room was not large but very well designed and ideal for me with nice opening windows ( double glazed, how Swiss) on to the street. The hotel is located a block back from the lake and a 10 minute walk to the station, but the surrounding streets can be a little seedy (I got propositioned) although not threatening. The main shopping streets can be accessed by a 15 minute walk, or even better by catching the little ferries from right near the hotel. Overall I was very impressed in this boutique hotel. I selected it from Trip Advisor and it lived up to or surpassed my expectations. TIP the Molten Chocolate Cake served in the restaurant is to die for, one of the best chocolate fondants I have ever eaten.

Room Tip: I had a first floor room overlooking the quiet street and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed one night at the Eastwest Hotel and found it very comfortable. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to the the main attractions of the city. I found the hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. The hotel room was large and spacious and very clean. The bed was comfortable and I slept like a baby! There's a restaurant in the hotel but unfortunately, I didn't get a chance to try it - next time! I have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone who visits Geneva!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Hotel N'vY
#10 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#15 of 108 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 540 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#13 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Property: Eastwest Hotel
Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#7 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing