We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great boutique hotel in the heart of Geneva” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great boutique hotel in the heart of Geneva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location, extremely friendly and helpful staff, modern guest room/bathroom. It is a block from the lake, in walking distance to Old Town, and is a 5-10 minute walk from Gare Cornavin. Also very reasonably priced (especially given how expensive hotels in Geneva can be).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenmck115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    188
    36
    5
    6
See reviews for
100
263
59
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great little hotel located in central Geneva. Close to all amentaties and requirements for a perfect stay in Geneva. Was able to walk anywhere in old Geneva or to the train station without any issues.
For meals, the hotel is in a perfect spot, nothing too far. Lake Geneva is right around the corner and if you dare, the Red Light District is a block away.
The rooms are perfectly designed, clean and feature all one would need/want in a room.
Only concern was the strong perfume smell in the main lobby, almost overbearing.

Room Tip: Had a room facing the inside court, was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times over a number of years. Standards have not changed - still first class service from all of the staff and faultless accommodation. Didn't eat in the hotel as it is too expensive. However the hotel accommodation is still excellent value for money for Geneva - room prices have remained constant for years. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Geneva. Red light district seems to have moved nearer to the hotel in the past year - but the district still seems very safe and not threatening at all.


Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ted56Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night on 07/03/13. Attentive staff, great location, spotlessly clean, comfortable room, wonderfully soft water, intimate bar, tasty breakfast. We would highly rate this hotel. Great location for exploring day and evening. We felt safe and could easily access the boat taxi, water spout, shops and the Old Town on foot.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Room very well appointed. Good price. Very welcoming.
Two minus point:
1)Noise from the street. Make sure you get a room NOT facing the street. It is facing the red light district and on a Friday night it can be noisy .... although windows have good insulation we could hear people talking on the street in the middle of the night.
2)This hotel is NOT entirely not smoking. The cigarette smoke from the room next door to us was infiltrating below our door. Not cool at all.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the courtyard - quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. It is a small hotel but the rooms are big and very convenient. It seems that the palce was renovated or decorated recently. The service was very good and polite. The hotel is not located in the old city but it is quite near - within . Breakfast seemed a bit expensive but since Geneva is very expensive in general, it might be the customary rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Resgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global Traveler
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

That's what we were looking for, and that's exactly what we got at the EastWest. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite under the eaves on the top floor, facing the courtyard. At that height we could glimpse the top of the Jet d'Eau fountain spraying into the sky - otherwise, it's rooftops and the neighbor's living rooms. Being at that height also cuts down on the noise, I'm sure.

We ordered room service for a snack and then dinner, as the dining room of the restaurant had not opened. The snacks were great, a house-smoked salmon and delicious soup with some crisp whites. Dinner was a little over-produced and I would have traded a bit of style and presentation for taste and proper serving temperature. The restaurant needs to alter their offering slightly for service in the room, rather than sur la table. Ordering had its challenges despite our fluency in English, French and German. Double confirm all your orders!

The bed and bath are highlights - and for a romantic weekend, well, that's a great thing.

The turn-down service brought by some chocolates and a little atomizer of spiced room spray. I quickly found my answer to the 'why the spray' question as the restaurant kicked into busy mode and the atmosphere was inundated with grille exhaust. If you like the smell of grilled meats - this is heaven for you. Opening the window didn't help...equally smoky.

The in-room ventilation system doesn't respond very well (as others have noted), so kitchen odors aside, being able to open the windows is a requirement to cool the room.This is a problem.

All in all we had friendly service in a stylish boutique hotel. I'd probably forgo room service and go to the restaurant directly. There are also a number of nice and varied restaurants very close by. Go for a high floor, facing the courtyard, not the street. And I think the deluxe room is probably just fine - we didn't end up using the sitting room part of the suite - but that's part of the joy of the romantic weekend, isn't it?

Room Tip: Higher floor - courtyard side. Maybe floors 4 and 5 don't have the kitchen exhaust problem that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice-Bear-Sailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel N'vY
#12 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Hotel Bristol
#8 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Tiffany Hotel
#17 of 108 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 108 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 stars 532 reviews
James-Fazy
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
ibis Styles Geneve Gare
#13 of 108 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Property: Eastwest Hotel
Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#5 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing