We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool boutique and close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eastwest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastwest Hotel
Ranked #6 of 106 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very cool boutique and close to everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I generally stay in the Paquis area of Geneva as it is a lot more lively and provides much more options for dining versus the hotels near the airport. I have stayed at most of the Paquis area hotels during my frequent business trips. I have to say that Eastwest is my new favorite - to be honest, my favorite is the Kempinski but its generally too expensive. I like the Eastwest for its convenient location (close to the train station without hearing the noise) and just a short walk to old town Geneva.

The room and the hotel was very nicely decorated and was quite large for Geneva standards. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was nicely adorned with a nice tub/shower.

I didn't dine at the restaurant so I can't say anything good or bad.

Note: This hotel is at the end of the road where the 'red light district' meets Rue des Paquis but that is NOT a problem or concern as the people aren't pushy or even really visible.

Bottom line, I think I have found my new go-to hotel in Geneva.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    206
    38
    5
    6
See reviews for
110
291
65
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Last minute pick after a flight cancellation with limited expectations. I have travelled a lot for work and play and stayed in many hotels; this one was a very pleasant surprise. It's very stylish and quite "funky" but, unusually for such a hotel, in no way sacrifices on quality service and facilities. The staff were friendly, responsive and very helpful (lending me chargers for BB and iPhone with no issues). It's in a great location but slightly "colourful" neighborhood which actually just gives it more character on the otherwise quite bland Geneva canvas. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Eastwest Hotel for 3 nights in January; 2 nights on our way through Geneva and 1 night on return. We arrived early on a Saturday morning with 2 young children and 3 large suitcases. No one helped with the bags, so my husband had to bring them into the lobby himself. The lady at reception did not acknowledge us when we entered and after standing at the reception counter for a short while, I announced that we had a reservation and would like to check in. Her response was "Really? What name?". Not the sort of welcome that I expected. We had 2 twin rooms with one adult and one child in each. Both rooms were at the front of the hotel and were extremely noisy at night. We had to sleep with earplugs in to avoid being woken up continuously. You could hear people talking loudly on the street at all hours of the night and could even hear the click clack of people's shoes as they walked up the street. On our return journey, one of the rooms that we were given was at the rear of the building and was whisper quiet. I would highly recommend that you request a room at the back if you want to have a decent night's sleep. One of the rooms that we had, #47, was also very hot. The rooms are supposed to have individual temperature control, but it was still very hot even after turning the heating off completely. The rooms are compact, clean and functional, but not what I would describe as luxurious, though the bathrooms are very nice.

I found the service at the hotel to be a little too cool. While the staff were helpful when we made requests, they were not warm or particularly friendly. Early one morning when leaving my room the housekeeper asked (in French) if she could service my room now. I don't speak french but indicated that I did not want the room serviced now (I was going downstairs for a few minutes to collect one of my kids and would be back shortly). She persisted, so due to the language barrier, I simply put the "Do not disturb" sign on my door. She rolled her eyes, shook her head and huffed at me.

There wasn't a great deal on offer at the breakfast buffet, but the food was of good quality. If you want bacon for breakfast, be sure to get in early as they only cook about 8 rashes!

The location is very convenient. It is only about a 10 minute walk to the old town in one direction and to the train station in the other. There are several cafes and restaurants in the area and the bakery across the road from the hotel has good pastries and coffee. We ate there one morning because we had to make an early start and the hotel breakfast doesn't start until 7am (a little late in my opinion).

I probably wouldn't stay at Eastwest again due to the noise and the impersonal service.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel. The rooms at the front are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCzaiBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in Geneva.
Attentive staff. Clean, well appointed rooms. Great bathroom.
Lovely attentions - the pillow spray and cookies they leave when doing the room is simply wonderful. Breakfast is perfect. Gym (fitness) is small but not crowed and well equipped.
Would recommend to anyone and everyone - business, couple or solo.

Room Tip: Solo rooms are small but charming with the dormers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisafromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Eastwest Hotel in early August for 3 nights on my way home from a 6 week holiday through France.
It was a very nice hotel, and I do prefer smaller properties which Eastwest is. Location wise, it was very convenient to walk from the hotel over the quai into the city centre. It is a very easy walk, and as a solo female traveller I did not have any issue with doing this, even at night. Across the road is a small convenience store if you wish to purchase any snacks or drinks.
I had the solo room which was large enough for me, although the ceiling at one point had a downward slant and I did clumsily knock my head!
The room has a Nespresso machine for those who enjoy a coffee. I ordered room service on my final night and it was a very good meal.
Overall, I had a pleasant stay at the Eastwest and would stay again. A very good standard of hotel for the price, and I would only stay elsewhere if I wanted a hotel along the quai, otherwise, Eastwest would be sufficient for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happymeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed 6 nights at this intimate hotel tucked away in a neighborhood far enough away from the city hustle & bustle but close enough to walk to (5 minutes from center of town). The unique east/west design.... think elegant dark woods, eastern decorations, and one of a kind furniture has a relaxed but hip style. Breakfast is standard with excellent croissants. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful with any questions including translations from English to French! Bedroom has beautifully modern design in keeping with rest of hotel. Nespresso coffee/hot water maker, very good toiletries and wonderful rain shower. I thought the "sos toiletries" list provided was excellent idea! Every time I called house-keeping or room service it was very prompt. All in all everyone was very accommodating and professional. Oh and fitness room was great... small but sufficient. Will definitely return....... thanks to one and all and happy new year!

Room Tip: i was on the 2nd floor and some nights it was noisy but thats because some customers staying adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I spent one night with my wife and I have to say that I will go back there! Nice people, good service, wonderful rooms and a perfect location. The hotle has a car parking which is useful if you know it before getting there...
The breakfast is nice and next time I will try the restaurant. it looks really nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel N'vY
Hotel N'vY
#13 of 106 in Geneva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel d'Angleterre
Hotel d'Angleterre
#2 of 106 in Geneva
5.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rotary Geneva - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kipling - Manotel Geneva
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Paix Geneva, a Ritz-Carlton Partner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastwest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastwest Hotel

Property: Eastwest Hotel
Address: rue des Paquis 6, Geneva 1201, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Mont-Blanc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Geneva
#3 Romantic Hotel in Geneva
#3 Family Hotel in Geneva
#6 Luxury Hotel in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eastwest Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the lake, close to the business and shopping areas, Eastwest Hotel is the ideal home away from home to make the most of your stay in Geneva. The old town and the international organizations are a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastwest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastwest Hotel Geneva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing