We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geneva leisure beach! Must see”

La buvette des Bains des Paquis
Ranked #29 of 1,678 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $89
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Geneva leisure beach! Must see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Meeting old friends in Geneva, we had been adviced to go there
I thought this would be a proper restaurant.. But no, it's a canteen!! But an amazing one!
You pay 2CHF the entrance if the beach, and after you need to find a table, then queue to pick up some food then enjoy the afternoon..
Food is really good for the price and it is a real pleasure to be in such a place where you see people bath sunning (lot of topless women..) children playing, old people playing cards..
Not the best food ever, but a really nice experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    215
    58
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Food is not too bad but far too expensive for what it is; always crowded AND you have to pay an etnry fee to the restaurant, this is a world première !
Apparently this fee is not used to renovate any of the buildings that might never been upgraded since 1860.

Far better places to visit in Geneva !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pse1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Exotic adventure in the heart of Geneva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The Bains de Paquis offers beaches, sauna, massage and a restaurant. I love the atmosphere and the food is good. Great healthy drinks like carrot juice with freshly squeezed ginger. Service is very relaxed but correct. The overall experience is just wonderful like being an a far away exotic island. One is really in the middle of the lake. Just relax and enjoy. I come here for business lunches and privately. And if you have time take a swim or sunbath. There is a private section for women. Good start of the season! Enjoy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chambesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This is a fonDO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Excellent fondue with reasonable pricing, unlike much of Geneva. My Swiss host took my travelling companion and I for dinner here one night and we had a blast. The fondue was delicious (don't forget to have them scrape the pot for you!), as was the accompanying wine. Note to non-residents: white wine is going to be your only option with fondue. It's basically a scandal to drink anything else (my host was thoroughly embarrassed when I tried by turns to order beer, then water, then red wine)!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious cheese fondue - very simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

After a big fail the night before we used trip advisor to find a decent place with Swiss food. We decided to give this a try and even though you have to order and get your food (except for the fondue) from the counter and all is very simple... tables, chairs etc not like your regular restaurant at all.... yet the cheese fondue was sooo delicious. It's like in the middle of the lake and you have a nice view at night when all the buildings on both sides of the lake are lit up as well as the lighthouse. Can only recommend if you want to eat fondue. Lots of young folks as pricing was decent too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lausmadel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La buvette des Bains des Paquis also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to La buvette des Bains des Paquis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing