We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant”
Review of Mamounia

Mamounia
Ranked #366 of 1,701 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $51
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Hollande
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We almost overlooked this restaurant along a long street of bars and cafes and were so pleased we found it. As you go in it opens up into a little visit to Morocco. It was almost full (unlike most of the restaurants we had passed) and very warm, welcoming and colourful and with interesting decor. The food was excellent, and the house wine good. It is moderately expensive if you are a visitor, but if you want an enjoyable evening and good food this is a little oasis in a staid and grey city.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank moatpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    8
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect tagine!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent dinner at Mamounia with a friend on Saturay night. The tagines (lamb for my friend and chicken for me) were delicious and really good portion sizes.
This was a very authentic Moroccan dinner.
The restaurant was completely full, which show it has a great reputation, but the service was very friendly and timely, which really impressed us.
We will definitely go back to Mamounia next time we are in Geneva!

Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
328 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“One of the few places for a couscous in Geneva”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Simple restaurant for simple Moroccan food. The decoration is basic and they should put less lighting in this small place to make it look a bit bigger. Prices are correct too for Geneva.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LuneLune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Swiss Trip”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've dined here many times but not recently , I took my friends here as they wanted to try a tagine
great food but the restaurant seems to have shrunk ? I remember there were 3 seperate dining areas , shame the belly dancers seem to have gone too !
Great North African cooking , we all enjoyed it immensly, recommended !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GordonD172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gem of place on an otherwise empty Sunday in Geneva”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Geneva seems to entirely shut down on a Sunday and looking for a warm meal with 5 friends we found a place that was open. Waiting for the usual shock of Swiss menu prices the lady serving us told us about a menu complet which was only CHF28 (I was just about getting used to paying in the region of CHF50 per meal) so it seemed pretty good for what she mentioned as "couscous, veg and meats". Since mains hovered at the CHF25 area we all went for the set menu.
To start was a nice meaty broth followed by a never-ending stream of individual bowls of slow cooked lamb, marinated raisins, pumpkin, carrots, chicken thighs, herby sausages, little balls of beef. Dessert was a little meagre with sliced oranges sprinkled with cinnamon, I was expecting a sweet pastry delight.
Thankfully we weren't in a rush to get anywhere else as it took well over 3 hours from sitting down to paying as she was looking after about 6 other tables on her own.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamounia also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Carouge, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Mamounia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing