We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, Dirty, Extremely poor service!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Tse Yang

Tse Yang
Reserve with
Tse Yang is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #469 of 1,675 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $86 - $129
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced, Dirty, Extremely poor service!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Upon arriving, no one cared bothered to greet and welcome us. The cutlery and glasses were dirty. They seem they have been used over and over for a very long time. As the price was high, my expectation was high. Yet, the food certainly disappointed me. It tasted like the same as the other Chinese restaurants in Geneva, but for much cheaper price. There were not enough space among the tables and chairs, which I could not have a romantic dinner. The wines were overpriced and the waiter even spilled my wine a few times when serving. The service was extremely poor for such expensive and hotel restaurant. I saw a waiter sneezing (accidentally i guess) into the food while bringing to another table. To take the order, it took me several times to ask and as well as for the bill. We also waited a long time to get out food. The only good thing was the location and the view of the restaurant as it is right next to the lake. Yet, that is the only positive and the negatives outweigh that one good thing by far.

My recommendation is avoid this restaurant at all cost and try to find another one to go out to eat.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob_hong_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane E, Manager at Tse Yang, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We thank you for your review. We regret you had a bad experience. It seems we did several mistakes and we apologies for it. We would be more than happy to welcome you again and to leave you with a better opinion about the Tse Yang. Best regards. Stéphane Ensini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    37
    25
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
400 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Chinese inside, Swiss outside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Tse Yang has been a restaurant of fine repute ever since I came to Geneva 30 years ago, but I had not been there after the hotel in which it is based changed from Hilton to Kempinski. Our visit showed it is as good as ever. The unbeatable view has not changed. The interior remains warmly Chinese. And the service has actually further improved: personable, friendly and highly professional. We were there the first night of the International Watch Convention, so the restaurant was full of mainly men showing of their wrist appliances in a "mine is bigger than yours" state of mind. Not impressed, we focused on what arrived at the table: the peking duck, in three episodes, (skin, meat and soup) and the second episode in three servings: crunchy, spicy and aromatic. It was a culinary delight, accompanied by excellent Swiss wine, and finished with a bill that stayed under CHF400 for the three of us. We will return soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane E, Manager at Tse Yang, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write this detailed review. We are very pleased and proud you enjoy the Tse Yang for many years. We look forward to welcoming you at the restaurant soon. Best regards. Stéphane Ensini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We enjoyed our anniversary dinner here. Went for the 6 course menu. Portions are not enormous but at the end of the meal we were pleasantly full. I felt they could make a bit more effort with their food presentation, at a restaurant like this I was expecting more aesthetically pleasing food. But again, it tasted wonderful and the atmosphere is chique, but not stiflingly so. We'll probably go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spoiltbrat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane E, Manager at Tse Yang, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your dinner. Your consideration on the food presentation is very valuable and we will work on that. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best regards. Stéphane Ensini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
“The best chinese Restaurant I've tried...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This is certainly the best Chinese restaurant I have ever tried, although the prices are really expensive it is worth to try it at least once!!! The atmosphere is really intimate and the place is cosy. Staff is really welcoming and will give you the right attention without being annoying. Very good the pechinese duck and the spicy shrimps. Soups are also really nice. Be careful with champagne as it is really expensive ;) for a "normal" dinner with two courses, a bottle of wine and a dessert you should be paying around 300 Swiss francs (250€) but as I said it's worth trying it!!

Helpful?
Thank Girtenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane E, Manager at Tse Yang, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We thank you very much for your review. We are always very pleased and proud to have satisfied guests. We hope to welcome you again soon. All the best. Stéphane Ensini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's not the price that makes this place bad choice, it's the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Tse Yang is definitely one of the best located restaurants in Geneva. View from inside is really nice.
When it comes to the food, well, it is not really good chinese. It's very far from being average.
We selected 2 types of tasting menus, something which should contain the best dishes the restaurant has to offer.
Dumplings - very thick and definitely not freshly made. Waiter brought mustard sauce as apparently it's really good for prawn and pork dumpling. A joke, luckily they have also black vinegar, if you ask...
Hot and sour soup was just sour. Very very average.
Dory fish with black bean, something initially look very average too became highlight of the dinner.
Black pepper beef missing the seasoning, sweet and sour pork - terrible in taste, very very sour.
I could continue describing the other items in the menu but again, it was very average.

Staff - trying to be helpful and attending but with little knowledge of the asian cuisine.

Price - 645 franks for 6 in Geneva is not that bad if the food is decent. Sadly, it was not the case.

Final recommendation: Avoid at all cost.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakub D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane E, Manager at Tse Yang, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We thank you for your comment. We feel really sorry you didn't enjoy the food. In that respect, please allow us to mention that the chef is the same since the restaurant opened in 1984. A large number of loyal customers value our kitchen for 30 years. It seems that we missed some of the dishes of your meal and we apologies for it. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Tse Yang. Best regards. Stéphane Ensini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tse Yang also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Tse Yang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing