We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a super place and such a simple concept”

Le Relais de l'Entrecote
Ranked #15 of 1,675 Restaurants in Geneva
Price range: $45 - $100
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Rues-Basses Longemalle
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
439 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“What a super place and such a simple concept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were told of this restaurant by the receptionist at our hotel, it was just opposite where the bus dropped us(just behind the Metrapole hotel.
There is no menu as they only do one meal, you get a green salad to start and then you get steak and chips, where you finish the first plate full you get another one, there is a choice of desserts about 4 or 5 my wife had the creme brûlée and she said it was one of the best she had had and I had the sorbet with vodka and it was a lot of vodka!
They cook the steak to your liking and the chips are thin French fries which we like.
It was busy when we arrived and was busy when we left and at one point there was a queue of about 20 people outside. We had a bottle of wine glass of wine and a beer total bill was 154chf which we felt was worth it as we had had a very long drive from Lake Garda. Enjoy

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    380
    143
    52
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great fries and steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is very nice and the food is excellent. I would recommend that you are waiting outside before 7 as that is when it opens, it can get very busy. The food is not cheap but worth it in my opinion, it is the perfect restaurant to celebrate something at or have a special occasion meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob98765432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Frozen winter or baking summer it just never gets tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Its pointless asking my daughter which restaurant she wants to go to. Her answer will always be Relais d'Entrecote. It was like an oven last night (no air conditioning. Gladly we came late in the evening and got a table outside. I agree that for the occassional visitor or uninitiated, it is very disappointing to be seated only to find out there is only one item on the menu. But I guess that's part of the cachet. If you love good meat, this is a must stop. If you are a vegetarian or looking for variety, this is not the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Steak and Fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had a nice dinner, with two large portion of cafe de paris steak. There is only one type of meal, being served with french fries. You can only choose your drink or desert.
Good atmosphere to have long and nice chat with friends.
If you come to geneva, you may come and check.
The waitress are ok, but some of them may behave rudely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“French "Fast Food" Steak and Frites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is French "fast food" done very well. They only serve steak (entrecote) and frites with a nice salad to start. They have only a couple of wines available, but the Bordeaux and the house red are both more than acceptable. They are definitely fast. No reservations, so you need to either get there when they open at 7 PM or come around 9 PM when the first wave of diners is leaving. Very reasonable for Geneva and one of the better steaks you can get in Geneva, especially at the price. This is like Cafe de Paris but WAY better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jezuzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais de l'Entrecote also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Le Relais de l'Entrecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing