We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, elegant, but no Michelin star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Chat-Botte

Le Chat-Botte
Reserve with
Le Chat-Botte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,675 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Mont-Blanc
Description: Le Chat Botté restaurant, one of the finest gastronomic venues in the city, will charm its guests with its Mediterranean colours and atmosphere. Within the solid walls of the Beau-Rivage Cellar, there are treasures accumulated over many years. Wine enthusiasts will relish the suggestions of the Sommelier Vincent Debergé. French and contemporary cuisine is skilfully orchestrated by Chef Dominique Gauthier, one Michelin star and 18/20 in Gault et Millau.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful, elegant, but no Michelin star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Seated on a flowery first-floor terrace overlooking Lac Leman, we were well disposed to be wowed by Le Chat Botté. In its favor are numerous delectable amuses-bouches and beautifully presented dishes. A tiny glass of cold cucumber and mint soup, mushroom mousse with truffles, and cherries with balsamic vinegar and sorbet stood out in particular. The charming sommelier offered good advice on local wines to match our food.
But our pleasure was somewhat marred by a lapse in service that was inexcusable at the prices charged. We had to ask three times for a second glass of wine, which finally appeared as my husband was finishing his main course.
Most of what we ordered was beautiful and delicious. A couple of items, though well prepared, missed the mark (squash blossom with artichoke-stuffed pasta was more odd than appealing).
All in all, we were a bit disappointed in our splurge on a Michelin-starred restaurant that fell below the standards we expect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    64
    21
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delightful vegetable dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best we've been to. The food is delightfully light and inventive, with many surprising vegetable dishes. The staff are friendly and discreet, the maitre d' is charming and elegant. When asked for advice on wine they don't immediately find you the moste expensive they can pull off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Geneva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is my favorite "big occasions" restaurant in Geneva. I always come for my bday and some other special occasions and it is always perfect.
The quality of the food is amazing, service is perfect and they always give you so many amuses bouche, entremets and other things that they bring by surprise.
You always leave full and super happy.
Had the chance to eat on the terrace for lunch, it's just perfect as well. Bravo!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grazcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly amazing food for refined pallets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had dinner on the restaurant's lovely terrace overlooking the lake. We hadn't booked but managed to get a table although the restaurant was full thanks to the very kind host.

Service was excellent and quite formal as you'd expect in a Michelin-starred restaurant. Beautiful large table with real, heavy silverware.

Everything from beginning to end was just exquisite. Worth noting in particular was the tomato salad (who would believe?!) which was divine - accompanied by 3 delicious scoops of different tomato sorbets, this was just so refined, we couldn't stop praising it. Worth noting as well was the veal rib, which was extremely tender and truly delicious. All that with one of the best Rose wine we've ever tasted.

Needless to say, dinner was very expensive - $300 for two, but worth every cent.

A delightful restaurant, well worth its Michelin star.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I chose Le Chat-Botte at the Hotel Beau Rivage in Geneva to "celebrate" or, more appropriately, "observe," our last night in Geneva and the start of our trip home. The meal could not have been more delightful. And the service could not have been better. We both agreed that this was, by far, the best meal we had during our three-week stay in Europe. I had the set menu that started with lobster and ended with a raspberry and chocolate parfait-like dessert. My husband had the lobster, veal and a fruit and coconut ice cream dessert called a minestrone. Both of us had a cheese plate before the dessert with a selection of cheeses from an unbelievably beautiful cheese cart. The dinner was very expensive, like most restaurants in Geneva but if you are looking for a celebratory evening, this is an excellent choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat-Botte also viewed

Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
Geneva, Canton of Geneva
 

Been to Le Chat-Botte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing