We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money and Great Location”
Review of Hotel Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Carmen
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Getting a room for 4 people is so difficult and expensive in Geneva and thanks to TripAdvisor we tried this hotel. Very central location with Trams just across the street. Basic but clean room, good breakfast, friendly staff, Free Wifi.What else can you ask for at the budget price? Street noise from near by Bars till late at night is a botheration if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SriGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 83 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have to travel very often to Geneva and I stayed in plenty hotels in that city. Still, I always try booking a room in Hotel Carmen, due to its excellent emplacement, friendly staff and very important, priced paid.
In general, for hotels less than 160 CHF/day you can have no pretention, almost all being very expensive and with rooms below those of hotels from other cities. This is pretty normal while Geneva is a quite small city but headquarters of many UN and other key international entities, also hosting major international events, request for hotels being very high and often hard to find free rooms.
Hotel Carmen, a budgt hotel is extremely well set, in Plainpalais, at walking distance to cathedral and old city, commercial street, Carrouge, university etc. Nevertheless, it is more useful to use the tram and bus stations which are at 1 minute distance. A great facility of all hotels in Geneva is providing a free public transport card for the entire period of stay in the hotel.
Obviously, Hotel Carmen gives this card, so in less than 10 minutes you can be by tram to Cornavin Railwaystation and in 15 minutes to UN Plaza.
Likewise, Hotel Carmen provides different types of rooms, with prices between 68 to 156 CHF, and during the years I have stayed in all those types. No matter the price paid, all are very clean and the towels are daily changed. In addition, some rooms have balconies, so there you can smoke, another option for smokers being the lounge located near reception.
With the 68 CHF room, Hotel Carmen is the cheapest I found in Geneva and certainly the priced paid is more than friendly, particularly being in mind its great emplacement. Even in neigbouring France is hard to find hotels at the same price and the draw-back of staying in France while visiting Geneva is the lack of the free transport card supplied by the hotels in Geneva.
If you plan a visit in Geneva and you look for a budget but clean and well located hotel, then Hotel Carmen is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Cristian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel many many times since 2008 and have seen the remarkable improvement in the facilities. The owners and staff are wonderful - friendly, polite and helpful. It has wifi connection for the last few years and the speed is good. The rooms are neat and clean. The breakfast is basic. The hotel is in a location that is well connected (but you could say that of most hotels and places in Geneva with its excellent public transport system).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms. Some rooms a small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SunitaNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Polite staff; good central location near the university and the old city. A 20-minute walk to the principal museums and the cathedral of the city, this hotel may suit the budget conscious. Breakfast is fine, but rooms cramped and antiseptic. In-room toilet more resembles a porta-potty than a real bathroom. No charm, but not pretentious. It is what it is!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Visitor_from_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

A little basic but got everything you need. Competent, courteous staff. I had a clean spacious room. Hair dryer provided and a good sized shower, although it was a little awkwardly build into the room. It's a bit of a walk to the city centre but good transport links with the trams. Breakfast is not a buffet but is perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bizzykrizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I travelled last May 2010 to geneva, and since i have i tight budget i looked for a budget hotel. I was first hesitant to book Hotel Carmen since it is my first time for me to travel in Europe alone. It turned out my stay was a success. I arrived at 7am in the morning but room is still full so i have to wait until the room becomes available. I stayed first at their small lounge where i fix my things and decided to go out to see the places nearby.I have asked the receptionist to take care of my belongings while im away and she is very helpful to lend me their umbrella since it was raining! There is a restaurant nearby so there should never be problem with your hungry stomach (local resto just a minute away, mcdo and starbucks is just a five mins walk from the hotel)

I am actually too concern about my safety since a im a solo female traveller. Well...I feel very safe with this hotel! I enjoyed walking and was able to visit the major attractions by walking only. The hotel is providing a free transport card, you just need to request it from the reception which is only valid from the days of your stay and i guess can bring you until the airport. But since i am very lazy and came from 10 hrs flight from UAE, i took taxi from/to airport! :-)

The staff is very nice especially Ms. Jenny! I recommend this hotel for all travellers on a budget & first time traveller.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jhamaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The first night at the hotel Carmen was kind of difficult, due to the absence of any air conditioning and/or fan in the room, what is awful for the european summer. I understand that it is a small family-managed hotel, but other hotels at the same price range offer this. On the other hand, I must say that the staff is really friendly and they provided a table fan at my request what, if did not solved completely the problem, it did help a lot. The breakfast is good enough for this kind of hotel and the location is very good, being at walking distance from the Old Town. I would go back again, but in other time of the year, more precisely not during the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bncav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Geneva hotels
Hotel LePrince
#78 of 109 in Geneva
45 reviews
Hotel Des Horlogers
#1 of 1 in Plan Les Ouates
115 reviews
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#43 of 109 in Geneva
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James-Fazy
Hotel de Geneve
Hotel de Geneve
#61 of 109 in Geneva
234 reviews
Lake Geneva Hotel
#1 of 2 in Versoix
288 reviews
Geneve Cottage
#2 of 2 in Versoix
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen

Address: rue Dancet 5 | 1205 Geneve, Geneva 1205, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 109 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range: $126 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Carmen 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the neighbourhood of Plainpalais where are the principal Faculties of the University of Geneva, the Hospital, the Sport Center of Vernets and the Grand Theatre of Geneva. The hotel Carmen welcomes you and offers you rooms for any budget. Thanks to the proximity with the public transports and their free access for our guests, you will be able to reach the Leman Lake or the city center in 10 minutes and the international organizations in 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing